# BCAA vs EAA: which is better in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/bcaa-vs-eaa-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> EAAs are the better choice on the science, because building muscle protein needs all nine essential amino acids and BCAAs alone cannot sustain it. But whey protein does the same job for similar money. In South Africa, BCAA and EAA powders cost about R8–R14 per 10 g of powder (October 2026), and the AIS ranks BCAAs as a Group C supplement.

Key facts:
- About 10–15 g of EAAs with 2–3 g of leucine stimulates muscle protein synthesis, similar to roughly 20–25 g of whey.
- AIS classes BCAAs as Group C (not advocated for athletes).
- South African BCAA and EAA powders cost roughly R8.94–R11.83 per 10 g of powder at the five products we compared (October 2026).
- BCAAs alone cannot sustain a rise in muscle protein synthesis (Wolfe 2017).

## BCAA or EAA: which is better?

EAAs. The three branched-chain amino acids (leucine, isoleucine, valine) switch on muscle protein synthesis, but building new muscle protein also needs the other six essential amino acids. Wolfe's 2017 review in the *Journal of the ISSN* concluded that BCAAs alone cannot support a sustained rise in muscle protein synthesis. An EAA mix supplies all nine, and about 10–15 g of EAAs with 2–3 g of leucine stimulates muscle protein synthesis, similar to roughly 20–25 g of whey.

That also shows why neither is essential: if you already eat enough protein, you get both from food and whey. The AIS places BCAAs in Group C, meaning not advocated for athletes.

## What do they cost in South Africa?

Prices as of October 2026. Amino content per scoop is not published in the text of most listings, so we compare per 10 g of powder, which includes flavouring and any added ingredients.

| Product | Price (retailer) | R per 10 g powder |
|---|---|---|
| Evox BCAA 12:1:1 + Glutamine 330 g | R294.99 (Dis-Chem) | R8.94 |
| USN BCAA Super 12:1:1 315 g | R299–R314.99 (USN shop, Dis-Chem) | R9.49–R10.00 |
| USN ALL9 Amino 330 g | R359.95–R362.99 (USN shop) | R10.91–R11.00 |
| Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g | R399.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R11.11 |
| NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g | R354.99 (Dis-Chem) | R11.83 |

For comparison, NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490 at the NPL shop) works out at R23.52 per 30 g of protein.

## Who might still want an amino powder?

- **Plant-based eaters** who want a leucine top-up, though a complete plant blend is usually better value.
- **People who cannot tolerate whole protein** around training.
- **Fasted trainers** who prefer something light, accepting that the benefit is small.

For everyone else, put the money into protein. See [do BCAAs work if you already eat enough protein](/answers/do-bcaas-work-if-you-eat-enough-protein/) and [how to choose a protein powder](/answers/how-to-choose-a-protein-powder-south-africa/).

## What should you check on an amino label?

- **The ratio and the grams.** "12:1:1" describes the leucine:isoleucine:valine split, not the dose.
- **Free amino acids in a protein tub.** Cheap added aminos can inflate protein figures; see [what is amino spiking](/answers/what-is-amino-spiking-whey-south-africa/).
- **Stimulants.** USN Amino Energy adds caffeine and L-carnitine tartrate, with amounts unpublished on the shop page.
- **Certification.** USN tags ALL9 Amino as Halaal and Vegan on its own shop. We did not verify these against certifier registers.

## Is there a safety issue?

Amino powders are safe at typical doses for healthy adults. Maple syrup urine disease is a contraindication for BCAAs. If you have kidney or liver disease, are pregnant, or take medication, check with your doctor or dietitian first. For ranked picks, see [best EAA supplement in South Africa](/answers/best-eaa-supplement-south-africa/) and [best whey protein in South Africa](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/).

Under-18s should meet protein needs from food rather than amino-acid or fat-loss powders.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN ALL9 Amino 330 g | 330 g | R359.95-R362.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g | 360 g | R400 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| USN BCAA Super 12:1:1 315 g | 315 g | R299-R314.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | Not stated; page says zero sugar, zero sodium, stimulant-free |
| NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g | 300 g | R355 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| Evox BCAA 12:1:1 + Glutamine 330 g | 330 g | R295 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | not stated |

## Sources

- [Wolfe RR (2017) Branched-chain amino acids and muscle protein synthesis in humans: myth or reality? JISSN](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5568273/)
- [Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group C (not advocated)](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_c)