# What is the best collagen powder without additives in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-collagen-powder-without-additives-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> The cleanest South African collagen powders are single-ingredient bovine peptides with no sweeteners, flavours or vitamin blends. As of October 2026, ATP Fitness 910 g (R950, R10.44 per 10 g), The Harvest Table Bovine 800 g (R909, R11.36) and Sally-Ann Creed 650 g (R796 special, R12.25) lead on price. Flavoured Biogen tubs use sucralose.

Key facts:
- Single-ingredient bovine collagen powders cost R10.44–R15.67 per 10 g at the six products we compared (October 2026).
- Biogen's flavoured collagen tubs use sucralose; Grape and Red Apple also contain polydextrose.
- We found no verified heavy-metal certificate for any collagen product sold in South Africa.
- SAIDS does not certify or endorse any supplement brand.

## What is the best collagen powder without additives?

Look for an ingredient list that says collagen and nothing else. "No additives" does not mean tested or contaminant-free, so we separate three things: what is added, what is claimed, and what is verified. Prices are as of October 2026.

## Which collagen powders are single ingredient?

| Product | Price (retailer) | R per 10 g | What the listing says |
|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness 910 g | R950 (ATP shop) | R10.44 | 100% hydrolysed bovine peptides, no sweeteners |
| The Harvest Table Bovine 800 g | R909 (Faithful to Nature) | R11.36 | Pure bovine collagen peptides, grass-fed; no sweetener |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure 650 g | R796 special, R995 regular | R12.25 | Hydrolysed bovine only; serving not stated |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, unflavoured 280 g | R410 (Biogen shop) | R14.64 | Peptan bovine type I, no sweetener or vitamin C |
| Amandean Premium Peptides 1 kg | R1 499 (Faithful to Nature) | R14.99 | Bovine peptides only |
| Be Bright Original 300 g | R470 sale, R520 regular (Partners Hair) | R15.67 | 100% hydrolysed bovine, types I and III |

## Which products contain extras?

- **Biogen flavoured tubs (320 g, R409.99–R419.99):** sucralose in all flavours, polydextrose in Grape and Red Apple.
- **Noa & Co Collagen Creamer (350 g, R749):** coconut milk powder, a fibre (Fibregum) and natural vanilla flavour.
- **Be Bright Luminate (500 g, R830):** adds hyaluronic acid, vitamin C and zinc, with amounts not stated.
- **Beauty Gen Naked Collagen Plus Creatine (450 g, R499):** adds 5 g creatine and chromium picolinate per serving.
- **Capsules:** Dis-Chem Gold and Biogen capsules use a bovine gelatine shell and 10 mg vitamin C, with only 1.2 g collagen a day at the label dose.

## How does ATP Fitness compare?

[ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen](/brands/atp-fitness/) is 100% hydrolysed bovine peptides at 10 g per scoop, unflavoured, with no sweeteners, flavours or fillers, and the lowest price per 10 g we priced. Trade-offs: no flavour, a young brand (est. April 2024), and no published third-party or heavy-metal certificate or halaal status on the listings we read. The Harvest Table is the credible alternative; it states Halaal and German origin on its listing.

## What "clean" does not tell you

- **Contaminants.** We found no verified heavy-metal certificate for any collagen product. Only New Leaf's marine tablets claim heavy-metal testing, and the scheme is not named. Ask for a certificate of analysis; see [collagen heavy metals and contamination](/answers/collagen-heavy-metals-and-contamination/).
- **Claims.** At least one collagen listing we saw advertises "FDA Approved" and "WADA certified"; neither is a normal or verified description for a supplement, and SAIDS endorses no brand.

## Do you need additives?

Not for collagen. Vitamin C matters for collagen synthesis, but you can get it from food; see [collagen with vitamin C](/answers/collagen-with-vitamin-c-do-you-need-it/). For ranked picks, see [best collagen powder](/answers/best-collagen-powder-in-south-africa/) and [best collagen in South Africa](/best/best-collagen-south-africa/).

If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 10 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | 91 | R10.44 | None |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 50 | R11.36 | none |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Hydrolysed Collagen 650 g | 650 g | R796-R995 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R12.25 | none |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, Unflavoured 280 g | 280 g | R410 (Biogen shop, 2026-10) | 28 | R14.64 | none (unflavoured) |
| Amandean Premium Collagen Peptides 1 kg | 1 kg | R1 499 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R14.99 | none |
| Be Bright Original Collagen Powder pouch 300 g | 300 g | R470-R520 (sale vs regular) (Partners Hair, 2026-10) | 30 | R15.67 | none listed |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Consumer Reports via OPB (Oct 2025): lead in popular protein powders](https://www.opb.org/article/2025/10/16/consumer-reports-finds-lead-in-popular-protein-powders/)
- [SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check](https://drugfreesport.org.za/faq/)
- [ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires](https://ascfoodsafetytraining.com/food-labelling-regulations-south-africa-r146-complete-guide/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group B (emerging evidence)](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_b)