# What is the best creatine in South Africa in 2026?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-creatine-in-south-africa-2026/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> The best creatine in South Africa in 2026 is a plain creatine monohydrate, and the right pick depends on your priority. As of October 2026, among widely stocked brands Nutritech 500 g and Sport RX 500 g give the lowest cost per 5 g (about R2.50 to R3.99), Biogen states Informed Sport testing, and ATP Fitness 600 g offers micronised single-ingredient creatine at R4.17 per 5 g.

Key facts:
- Plain creatine monohydrate costs about R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g in South Africa (October 2026), apart from premium outliers at R14 to R20.
- ATP Fitness 600 g is R500, or R4.17 per 5 g; Biogen 500 g is R444.99 (R4.45); USN 300 g is about R4.98 (October 2026).
- Only Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport testing among the products we checked; it is a seller claim to verify on the register.
- ISSN maintenance dose: 3-5 g of creatine monohydrate a day.

## How did we rank creatine in South Africa?

We compared single-ingredient creatine monohydrate powders on three criteria: cost per 5 g dose, purity (one ingredient, no sweeteners or add-ons) and any stated third-party testing. Creatine monohydrate is an AIS Group A supplement and is the form behind the ISSN position stand, so we excluded creatine HCl, nitrate and carbohydrate mixes, which are not like-for-like. Rankings follow our published method; ATP Fitness is a featured partner of Healthnews24.

## Which creatine is best value?

| Product (October 2026) | Pack | Price | R per 5 g | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g | R249.95 (Wellness Warehouse) to R399 (Clicks) | R2.50 to R3.99 | retailers differ by 60% |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine | 300 g | R229 (Faithful to Nature) | R3.82 | micronised, no sweeteners |
| Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine | 500 g | R389 (Faithful to Nature) | R3.89 | halaal per listing |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine | 600 g | R500 (ATP shop) | R4.17 | 200-mesh, single ingredient |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g | R444.99 (Dis-Chem) | R4.45 | Informed Sport stated by seller |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate | 300 g | R279 to R299 | R4.98 | micronised, tagged vegan and halaal |
| Foundation Creapure Creatine | 400 g | R499.95 (Dis-Chem) | R6.25 | Creapure, German origin |

The cheapest named brand we found was Pure Natural Options 500 g at R221.88 (R2.22 per 5 g), a single-retailer listing. We did not find single-ingredient Optimum Nutrition or Evox creatine priced in our research; Evox's creatine in our data is a carbohydrate mix, which we do not compare per 5 g.

## Our picks

- **Best value:** Nutritech 500 g, bought at the lower-priced retailer.
- **Best for drug-tested athletes:** Biogen, whose Dis-Chem specification says Informed Sport. That is a seller claim; check the batch on the Informed Sport register before relying on it, and read [what Informed Sport means](/answers/what-is-informed-sport-certification-south-africa/).
- **Best for a Creapure source:** Foundation, at a premium of about 1.4 times mainstream pricing.
- **Best clean-label, micronised option:** ATP Fitness 600 g. It is not the cheapest per dose, but it undercuts Biogen, USN, NPL and Myprotein at Dis-Chem prices. Honest trade-offs: ATP is a young brand (established April 2024), it publishes no third-party sport certification, it is unflavoured, and the 250 g tub costs R5.40 per 5 g, about 30% more per dose.

## Does micronised creatine matter?

It dissolves more easily, but the muscle effect is the same as regular monohydrate; see [micronised vs regular creatine](/answers/micronised-vs-regular-creatine-south-africa/). Dose is 3-5 g a day (ISSN), and the cheapest per-dose prices usually come from 500 g to 1 kg tubs. Full price table: [cheapest creatine per serving](/answers/cheapest-creatine-per-serving-south-africa/) and the [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R379-R389 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R3.89 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g | 400 g | R500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R6.25 | None |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)
- [Informed Sport (LGC) FAQ](https://sport.wetestyoutrust.com/about/frequently-asked-questions)
- [Maughan et al. 2018, IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete (BJSM 52:439)](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/7/439.abstract)