# What is the best EAA supplement in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-eaa-supplement-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Few South African products are plain EAA mixes, and most do not publish leucine or EAA grams in text, so we cannot rank by price per 10 g of EAA. By powder weight (October 2026), USN ALL9 Amino 330 g (R359.95–R362.99) is about R11 per 10 g and Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g (R399.99) R11.11. Whey is usually better value.

Key facts:
- About 10–15 g of EAAs with 2–3 g of leucine stimulates muscle protein synthesis, similar to roughly 20–25 g of whey.
- USN ALL9 Amino costs R10.91–R11.00 per 10 g of powder; Biogen Complete 9 Aminos R11.11 (October 2026).
- None of the EAA listings we read publishes leucine per serving in text.
- NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg costs R23.52 per 30 g of protein.

## What is the best EAA supplement in South Africa?

An EAA supplement supplies all nine essential amino acids. About 10–15 g of EAAs with 2–3 g of leucine stimulates muscle protein synthesis, equal to roughly 20–25 g of whey. So the question is whether your EAA product delivers that dose and whether it is cheaper than whey. We compared what is stated on seller pages in October 2026.

## How do South African EAA products compare?

| Product | Price (retailer) | R per 10 g powder | What the page states |
|---|---|---|---|
| USN ALL9 Amino 330 g | R359.95–R362.99 (USN shop) | R10.91–R11.00 | All nine EAAs incl. BCAAs; amounts not on page; tagged Halaal and Vegan by USN |
| Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g | R399.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R11.11 | Nine EAAs; amounts not read |
| NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g | R354.99 (Dis-Chem) | R11.83 | BCAA-led mix with EAAs; amounts not read |
| USN Amino Energy 300 g | R259–R324.99 (USN shop, Dis-Chem) | R8.63–R10.83 | EAAs plus caffeine and L-carnitine tartrate; caffeine mg unpublished |

The per 10 g figure is powder weight, not EAA content, so it overstates the value if a scoop contains flavouring and sweeteners. We could not verify leucine per serving for any of them.

## What should an EAA label show?

1. **Each essential amino acid in mg**, not a blend total.
2. **Leucine of about 2–3 g per serving**, the range the ISSN uses for a protein dose (700–3 000 mg).
3. **A serving of about 10–15 g of EAAs.** If a scoop holds 5 g, you need several.
4. **Stimulant disclosure.** Avoid Amino Energy-style products in the evening.
5. **Sweeteners.** USN ALL9's sweeteners are not stated on its shop page.

## Is whey a better deal?

Usually. NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490, NPL shop) costs R23.52 per 30 g of protein, and whey delivers all the essential amino acids plus extra benefits. EAAs earn their place mainly for plant-based eaters wanting a leucine boost, people who cannot take whole protein around training, or situations where protein is hard to eat. See [BCAA vs EAA in South Africa](/answers/bcaa-vs-eaa-south-africa/) and [best whey protein in South Africa](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/).

## Are there any cautions?

EAAs are safe at typical doses for healthy adults. Check with a doctor or dietitian if you have kidney or liver disease, are pregnant, or take medication. Drug-tested athletes should know that no EAA product above shows a verified third-party certificate. Related: [leucine supplement: do you need it](/answers/leucine-supplement-do-you-need-it/) and [how much BCAA and EAA cost](/answers/how-much-do-bcaa-and-eaa-supplements-cost-south-africa/).

Under-18s should meet protein needs from food rather than amino-acid or fat-loss powders.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN ALL9 Amino 330 g | 330 g | R359.95-R362.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g | 360 g | R400 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g | 300 g | R355 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | not stated |
| USN Amino Energy 300 g | 300 g | R259-R324.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | not stated |

## Sources

- [Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Wolfe RR (2017) Branched-chain amino acids and muscle protein synthesis in humans: myth or reality? JISSN](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5568273/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group C (not advocated)](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_c)