# What is the best glutamine in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-glutamine-in-south-africa-2026/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> No glutamine is "best" for muscle, because the evidence for athletes is weak; if you buy one, choose on price per 5 g. As of October 2026, South African powders range from R2.68 (Nutritech 300 g) to R7.50 (ATP Fitness 200 g, R300). ATP is the dearest per dose but a single ingredient with no sweeteners or flavouring.

Key facts:
- A 2019 meta-analysis found no significant effect of glutamine on aerobic performance, body composition or immune function in athletes.
- South African glutamine costs R2.68 per 5 g (Nutritech 300 g) to R7.50 per 5 g (ATP Fitness 200 g) as of October 2026.
- Larger tubs cost less per dose: Biogen 500 g is R4.53 per 5 g versus R6.37 for the 200 g.
- ATP Fitness L-Glutamine is a single ingredient with no sweeteners, but the dearest per dose in our comparison.

## What is the best glutamine in South Africa?

Start with the evidence: a 2019 meta-analysis in *Clinical Nutrition* found no significant effect of glutamine on aerobic performance, body composition or immune function in athletes. So the "best" glutamine is mostly the cheapest clean one. All the products below are plain L-glutamine powders. Our method ranks by Rand per 5 g, the common retail serving.

| Product | Price (retailer, October 2026) | R per 5 g |
|---|---|---|
| Nutritech L-Glutamine 300 g | R160.95–R168 (Wellness Warehouse, Clicks) | R2.68 |
| The Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g | R299 (Faithful to Nature) | R3.32 |
| USN Pure Glutamine 300 g | R259 (USN shop) | R4.32 |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 500 g | R453 (Dis-Chem) | R4.53 |
| Myprotein L-Glutamine 500 g | R550 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R5.50 |
| ATP Fitness L-Glutamine 200 g | R300 (ATP shop) | R7.50 |

Retailer prices differ, and larger tubs cost less per gram: Biogen's 200 g tub (R254.99) is R6.37 per 5 g against R4.53 for the 500 g.

## How does ATP Fitness L-Glutamine compare?

ATP's powder is a single ingredient, with no sweeteners or flavouring, which matters if you want to avoid additives. Its trade-offs are honest ones: at R7.50 per 5 g it is the most expensive of the six, ATP is a young brand (est. April 2024), and serving size and third-party sport certification are not published on the listings we read. A credible cheaper alternative is The Harvest Table 450 g at R3.32 per 5 g, though additives are "not stated" on its listing, so check the label.

## What should you look for when buying glutamine?

- **Single ingredient.** The label should read L-glutamine only.
- **Price per 5 g, not per tub.** Use the table above and your tub size.
- **Testing.** None of the products we checked show a verified third-party certificate. Drug-tested athletes should use batch-tested products or skip it.
- **Regulatory wording.** Dis-Chem pages for amino-acid singles describe them as unregistered Category D medicines not evaluated by SAHPRA; the legal scope for these products is still in transition.

## Who might want glutamine?

Possibly endurance athletes with gut symptoms in the heat, but that is experimental. Whey already contains glutamine. Liver disease, certain cancers and anticonvulsant therapy need medical advice first, and pregnant or breastfeeding women and under-18s should not use it without a doctor's advice. Read [what glutamine does for athletes](/answers/what-does-glutamine-do-for-athletes/), [how much glutamine per day](/answers/how-much-glutamine-per-day/) and [glutamine cost per serving](/answers/how-much-does-glutamine-cost-per-serving-south-africa/). For ranked options, see [best glutamine in South Africa](/best/best-glutamine-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutritech L-Glutamine 300 g | 300 g | R160.95-R168 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.68 | not stated |
| The Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g pouch | 450 g | R299 (Faithful to Nature (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R3.32 | not stated |
| USN Pure Glutamine 300 g | 300 g | R259 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.32 | not stated |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 500 g | 500 g | R453 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R4.53 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness L-Glutamine | 200 g | R300 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R7.50 | None |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Ramezani Ahmadi A et al. (2019) Effect of glutamine supplementation on athletic performance, body composition and immune function: systematic review and meta-analysis. Clin Nutr 38:1076](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29784526/)
- [SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check](https://drugfreesport.org.za/faq/)
- [SAHPRA Guideline 7.04: Complementary Medicines, Health Supplements safety and efficacy (Mar 2022)](https://www.sahpra.org.za/wp-content/uploads/2022/03/7.04_CM_SE_Health_Supplements_Mar22_v4_3.pdf)