# What are the best protein bars in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-protein-bars-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> The best-value protein bar with published numbers in South Africa is the NPL 21 Protein Bar (65 g, R41.99, 21 g protein, about R20 per 10 g protein), but it uses sucralose and sugar alcohols. Bars cost roughly two to three times more per gram of protein than whey, which is about R9 per 10 g with USN BlueLab (October 2026).

Key facts:
- NPL 21 Protein Bar is R41.99 for 21 g protein, about R20 per 10 g protein (October 2026).
- Protein bars cost roughly two to three times more per gram of protein than USN BlueLab whey (about R9 per 10 g).
- Barebells and NPL bar pages carry laxative warnings for sugar alcohols such as maltitol.
- Dis-Chem Living Fit lists 31 protein bars in its online sports store.

## What are the best protein bars in South Africa?

Protein bars are convenient, not cheap protein. We compare what labels publish, mainly at Dis-Chem Living Fit and brand shops. Prices are October 2026.

## How do the bars compare?

| Bar | Price | Protein | R per 10 g protein | Sweeteners and notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NPL 21 Protein Bar, 65 g | R41.99 | 21 g | R20.00 | sucralose, sorbitol, maltitol and sugar; laxative warning |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Bar, 65 g | R54.99 | 22 g | R25.00 | sweeteners not listed in page text; Informed Choice stated |
| USN Trust Crunch Bar, 60 g (12-pack R600) | R50 per bar | 20 g | R25.00 | sweeteners not listed |
| Myprotein Layered Protein Bar, 60 g | R63.99 | 20 g | R32.00 | maltitol, chicory fibre, oligofructose; contains beef gelatin |
| Barebells Protein Bar, 55 g | R57.99 to R61.99 | not readable on the page | not computable | maltitol and sucralose; laxative warning |
| 32Gi Premium Whey Protein Bar, 65 g | R58.99 | not readable | not computable | sorbitol, erythritol |
| Tony Ferguson Munch Bar, 55 g | R27.99 to R34.99 | not readable | not computable | soy-based; maltitol, sorbitol |

Dis-Chem Living Fit lists 31 protein bars in its online sports store. We did not verify Clicks or Checkers ranges.

## How does that compare with whey?

USN BlueLab costs about R28 per 30 g protein, roughly R9 per 10 g. Bars are therefore about two to three times as expensive per gram of protein. A bar is paying for convenience, texture and coating.

## What should you look for?

1. **Protein per bar.** 20 g or more is typical for a "protein bar"; images-only labels are a minus.
2. **Sugar alcohols.** Maltitol, sorbitol and erythritol can cause gas and diarrhoea, and retailers print laxative warnings on some bars.
3. **Protein source.** Whey concentrate, soy isolate and collagen appear in some bars; collagen is incomplete protein and counts less toward muscle.
4. **Allergens.** Milk, soy, nuts and gelatin are common.
5. **Calories.** A bar is 200 to 300 kcal, so factor it into a cutting plan.

## What are cheaper alternatives?

Biltong, boiled eggs, a tub of cottage cheese or a whey shake all deliver protein for less per gram. An unsweetened whey such as ATP Fitness (concentrate R800 per kg) avoids polyols entirely, though ATP does not publish protein per serving or third-party certification, and USN is a documented alternative.

## Who should be careful?

People with irritable bowel syndrome or sugar-alcohol sensitivity, diabetes, kidney disease, milk or soy allergy, and under-18s should check with a doctor or dietitian before relying on bars.

## Where next?

See [how to read a supplement label](/answers/how-to-read-a-supplement-label-south-africa/), [best whey protein](/answers/best-whey-protein-in-south-africa/) and [high-protein snacks](/answers/high-protein-snacks-south-africa-biltong/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NPL 21 Protein Bar (65 g) | 65 g | R41.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | R59.99 | R64.60 | sucralose, sorbitol, maltitol and sugar (chocolate coating) |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Protein Bar (65 g) | 65 g | R54.99 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | 1 | R74.99 | R84.60 | not stated |
| USN Trust Crunch Protein Bars (12 x 60 g) | 12 x 60 g | R600 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | 12 | R75.00 | R83.33 | not stated |
| Myprotein Layered Protein Bar (60 g) | 60 g | R63.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | R95.98 | R106.65 | maltitol (main), chicory fibre, oligofructose |
| Barebells Protein Bar (55 g) | 55 g | R57.99-R61.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | — | R109.07 | maltitol and sucralose |
| 32Gi Premium Whey Protein Bar (65 g) | 65 g | R58.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | — | R90.75 | sorbitol, erythritol |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Whey protein category](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/product-category/protein/whey-protein/)
- [ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires](https://ascfoodsafetytraining.com/food-labelling-regulations-south-africa-r146-complete-guide/)
- [ISSN Position Stand: Protein and Exercise (Jäger et al., JISSN 2017)](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Biogen shop: protein powders](https://biogen.co.za/product-category/sports-nutrition/protein-powders/)