# What are the best ready-to-drink protein shakes in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-ready-to-drink-protein-shakes-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> On verified October 2026 prices, USN Super M (300 ml, 22 g protein, R24.99) is the cheapest ready-to-drink protein shake we found in South Africa at about R22.70 per 20 g of protein, followed by Primal (350 ml, 25 g, R36.99) at about R29.60. Barebells and Grenade shakes cost about R48–R50 per 20 g, while powder costs about R16–R19 per 20 g of protein.

Key facts:
- USN Super M RTD (300 ml, 22 g protein) is R24.99 at Dis-Chem Living Fit, about R22.72 per 20 g of protein (27 October 2026).
- Primal RTD 350 ml is R36.99 for 25 g protein and 170 kcal, about R29.59 per 20 g.
- Barebells and Grenade RTD shakes cost about R48–R50 per 20 g of protein.
- Powder is cheaper: about R15.70 per 20 g for NPL Platinum Whey Plus.

## What are the best ready-to-drink protein shakes in South Africa?

We verified four on Dis-Chem Living Fit on 27 October 2026. Rand per 20 g of protein is price divided by grams of protein in the bottle, multiplied by 20.

| Shake | Size | Price | Protein | R per 20 g protein | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN Super M Protein Shake | 300 ml | R24.99 | 22 g | R22.72 | sucralose and added colourants; cool, dry place until opened |
| Primal Protein Shake | 350 ml | R36.99 | 25 g (170 kcal) | R29.59 | sucralose and acesulfame K; unopened shelf life not stated |
| Grenade Protein Shake | 330 ml | R59.95 | up to 25 g (under 211 kcal) | R47.96 | sucralose; out of stock when checked |
| Barebells Protein Shake | 330 ml | R59.99 | 24 g | R49.99 | sweeteners not specified; best served chilled |

All four contain cow's milk. Calorie data was missing on some pages, so we do not rank on calories.

## How do shakes compare with powder and bars?

Per 20 g of protein in October 2026: powder is cheapest, at about R15.70 for NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg and about R18.70 for USN BlueLab 1 kg; the cheapest RTD is about R22.70; bars run R40–R64.

| Format | Example | R per 20 g protein |
|---|---|---|
| Powder | NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490) | about R15.70 |
| RTD shake | USN Super M 300 ml | R22.72 |
| Protein bar | NPL 21 Protein Bar 65 g (R41.99, 21 g) | R40.00 |
| Protein bar | Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Bar (R54.99, 22 g) | R50.00 |
| Protein bar | USN Trust Crunch 12 x 60 g (R600, 20 g) | R50.00 |
| Protein bar | Myprotein Layered Bar 60 g (R63.99, 20 g) | R63.99 |

A shake costs roughly 1.5 times the same protein as powder, a premium for convenience. For a bakkie, gym bag or road trip it can be worth it, but for daily use powder wins ([per 30 g protein comparison](/answers/whey-protein-per-30g-protein-comparison-south-africa/)).

## How do you pick a shelf-stable one?

Read the label for three things: whether it says "keep in a cool, dry place" (shelf-stable until opened) or "keep chilled"; how long it lasts after opening (these pages say 12 to 24 hours, so finish it the same day); and the best-before date, which R146 requires. Do not leave a bottle in a hot car: heat degrades taste and quality, and a swollen or leaking bottle should be discarded.

## What should you watch for?

- **Sweeteners and colourants:** the USN page lists added colourants; Primal uses two sweeteners while describing the product as "naturally sweetened", so read the ingredient list, not the front.
- **Protein accuracy:** South African testing found most sampled protein products differing from the label; shakes were not separately reported.
- **Daily limit:** Primal's page advises no more than two shakes a day.
- **Allergens and health:** milk allergy rules them out; check with a doctor or dietitian if you have kidney disease or are pregnant.

## Which one should you choose?

For price, USN Super M; for protein per bottle, Primal; for the cleanest-looking label, we cannot rank because Barebells does not specify its sweeteners. Compare with [protein bars](/answers/best-protein-bars-south-africa/), [how to choose a protein powder](/answers/how-to-choose-a-protein-powder-south-africa/) and the [best whey protein](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/) ranking.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| NPL 21 Protein Bar (65 g) | 65 g | R41.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | R59.99 | R64.60 | sucralose, sorbitol, maltitol and sugar (chocolate coating) |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium Crunch Protein Bar (65 g) | 65 g | R54.99 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | 1 | R74.99 | R84.60 | not stated |
| USN Trust Crunch Protein Bars (12 x 60 g) | 12 x 60 g | R600 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | 12 | R75.00 | R83.33 | not stated |
| Myprotein Layered Protein Bar (60 g) | 60 g | R63.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | R95.98 | R106.65 | maltitol (main), chicory fibre, oligofructose |

## Sources

- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: USN Super M Protein Shake Ready To Drink 300 ml](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/?p=774579)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Primal Protein Shake Ready To Drink 350 ml](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/primal-protein-shake-ready-to-drink-350ml)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Barebells Protein Shake Ready To Drink](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/?p=766022)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Grenade Protein Shake 330 ml](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/?p=8562)
- [ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa — what R146 actually requires](https://ascfoodsafetytraining.com/food-labelling-regulations-south-africa-r146-complete-guide/)