# What supplements should a gym beginner buy first in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-supplements-for-beginners-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> A gym beginner in South Africa needs at most two: creatine monohydrate (3-5 g a day, about R67-R167 a month) and, only if food falls short, a whey or plant protein. Everything else, such as pre-workouts, BCAAs, fat burners and testosterone boosters, can wait. Spend first on food, training and sleep.

Key facts:
- Creatine monohydrate: 3-5 g a day (ISSN), costing about R67-R167 a month in South Africa (October 2026).
- A protein supplement is only worthwhile if food falls short of about 1.4-2.0 g/kg of protein a day.
- NPL Platinum Whey Plus costs about R23.52 per 30 g protein; USN BlueLab about R28 (October 2026).
- SAIDS recommends against performance supplements for under-18s.

## What should a beginner buy first?

Beginners gain muscle from training, enough protein and sleep. Supplements add a small edge on top. In order of value:

1. **Creatine monohydrate**, 3-5 g a day. Strongest evidence, cheapest, safest long-term record (ISSN).
2. **A protein powder**, only if you cannot reach 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day from food. One scoop gives 20-25 g.
3. **Vitamin D**, only if a blood test shows low levels or you get little sun.
4. **Caffeine**, a coffee 60 minutes before training, if you like it.

## What does it cost in South Africa?

As of October 2026:

| Item | Product and price | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Creatine | Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health) | R2.22 per 5 g, about R67 a month |
| Creatine | Nutritech 500 g, about R250 (Wellness Warehouse) | R2.50 per 5 g, about R75 a month |
| Creatine | ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g, R500 (ATP shop) | R4.17 per 5 g, about R125 a month |
| Whey blend | NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg, R490 (NPL shop) | About R23.52 per 30 g protein |
| Whey blend | USN BlueLab 1 kg, R689 (USN shop) | About R28 per 30 g protein |
| Vitamin D | Dis-Chem Gold D3 1 000 IU, 60 tablets, R160 | R2.67 a day |

ATP Fitness makes single-ingredient, unsweetened creatine, which suits beginners who dislike additives. The trade-offs: it costs about twice the cheapest option, and ATP does not publish third-party sport certification. Cheaper alternatives from Nutritech or Pure Natural Options are equally effective for most people.

## What should a beginner skip?

- **Pre-workouts with undisclosed stimulants.** A coffee costs less. See [is pre-workout safe](/answers/is-pre-workout-safe-south-africa/).
- **BCAAs.** If you eat enough protein they add nothing; see [do BCAAs work](/answers/do-bcaas-work-if-you-eat-enough-protein/).
- **Fat burners and "testosterone boosters".** Weak evidence, higher risk, contamination history.
- **Mass gainers**, unless you struggle to eat enough; a milk, oats and peanut-butter shake does the same.

## Do you need protein powder at all?

Not necessarily. Eggs, dairy, meat, fish, beans and biltong supply protein. Powder is a convenient top-up. Read [is protein powder necessary](/answers/is-protein-powder-necessary-south-africa/) and [how to choose one](/answers/how-to-choose-a-protein-powder-south-africa/).

## Special cases

- **Under 18:** food first. Creatine is acceptable for serious, supervised adolescent athletes, but speak to a sports doctor or dietitian first; SAIDS recommends against performance supplements for under-18s.
- **Women:** the same doses apply; see [is creatine safe for women](/answers/is-creatine-safe-for-women/).
- **Kidney or liver disease, pregnancy, medication:** check with a doctor first.

## Where next?

See [which supplements actually work](/answers/which-supplements-actually-work/), our [best creatine](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) and [best whey protein](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/) comparisons, and [a R500-a-month stack](/answers/supplement-stack-on-r500-a-month-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | — | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | — | — | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | — | None |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | — | R23.52 | R49.00 | — | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | — | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | — | — | — | R2.67 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider RB et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation. JISSN](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Maughan RJ et al. (2018) IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete. BJSM 52:439](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/7/439.abstract)
- [SAIDS Supplements Leaflet 2020](https://drugfreesport.org.za/wp-content/uploads/2020/06/Supplements-Leaflet-2020-web.pdf)
- [Endocrine Society (2024): healthy adults should take the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D](https://endocrine.org/news-and-advocacy/news-room/2024/endocrine-society-recommends-healthy-adults-take-the-recommended-daily-allowance-of-vitamin-d)