# Which supplements help women who lift weights in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-supplements-for-women-who-lift-weights-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> For women who lift weights in South Africa, the supplements with strong evidence are protein (to reach 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg a day) and creatine monohydrate (3 to 5 g a day). Caffeine at 3 to 6 mg/kg helps performance too. Vitamin D and iron help only if a blood test shows a shortfall. Skip BCAAs, fat burners and 'women's' pre-workouts.

Key facts:
- Strong-evidence supplements for women who lift: protein to 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day, creatine 3 to 5 g/day and (optionally) caffeine 3 to 6 mg/kg.
- Vitamin D and iron should be taken only after a blood test shows a shortfall.
- BCAAs are AIS Group C (not advocated) and fat burners include Group D ingredients.
- October 2026: creatine costs R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g; ATP Micronised 600 g is R4.17 per 5 g.

## The evidence tiers

| Tier | Supplement | Evidence | Dose |
|---|---|---|---|
| **1: strong** | Protein (whey or other) | Strong | 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day total; 20 to 30 g per meal |
| **1: strong** | Creatine monohydrate | Strong | 3 to 5 g/day |
| **1: strong** | Caffeine (optional) | Strong | 3 to 6 mg/kg about 60 min before |
| **2: if tested low** | Vitamin D | Moderate | 600 to 800 IU intake target; treat deficiency under medical guidance |
| **2: if tested low** | Iron | Strong for deficiency only | Only after ferritin and haemoglobin tests |
| **3: skip** | BCAAs | Weak (AIS Group C) | No benefit if protein is adequate |
| **3: skip** | Fat burners, 'thermogenics' | Weak, higher risk | Stimulant and contamination risks (AIS Group D ingredients) |

Women are not a separate evidence category for protein, creatine or caffeine; doses scale with body weight.

## Protein

Food first, powder for convenience. For a 60 kg woman, 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg is 84 to 120 g a day ([how much protein women need](/answers/how-much-protein-do-women-need-south-africa/)). October 2026 powder prices per 100 g: Primal Whey Isolate R93.33, ATP Unflavoured Isolate R112.50, USN Isozero about R111.68 (see [best whey isolate](/best/best-whey-isolate-south-africa/)).

## Creatine

Women start with lower muscle creatine stores (roughly 70 to 80% lower than men, per Smith-Ryan 2021) and respond well to 3 to 5 g a day with training. It is not a steroid and does not make women bulky; expect 1 to 2 kg of water gain inside muscle in the first weeks. As of October 2026 per 5 g: Pure Natural Options R2.22, Nutritech R2.50, ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g R4.17 (R500, ATP shop), Foundation Creapure R6.25. See [best creatine for women](/answers/best-creatine-for-women-south-africa/) and [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/).

## Caffeine

A 60 kg woman using 3 mg/kg takes about 180 mg, roughly two mugs of filter coffee or one 200 mg capsule. Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules, R199 on Takealot via an undated PriceCheck snapshot) costs R3.32 a capsule. Avoid pure caffeine powder (measuring errors are dangerous), late-day doses, and caffeine in pregnancy beyond what your doctor advises. Multi-ingredient pre-workouts are not needed.

## Vitamin D and iron

Test before you spend. Low ferritin is common in women who menstruate heavily or run a lot ([iron guidance](/answers/do-women-need-iron-supplements-south-africa/)); vitamin D matters for bone ([vitamin D and calcium](/answers/vitamin-d-and-calcium-for-bone-health-in-women/)).

## Where does ATP Fitness fit?

[ATP Fitness](/brands/atp-fitness/) makes single-ingredient creatine (R500 for 600 g) and unflavoured isolate (R900 for 800 g) with no sweeteners. Honest trade-offs: cheaper creatine exists, protein per serving is not published, it is a young brand (2024), and no third-party sport certification is published, which matters if you are drug-tested.

## A simple monthly budget

Creatine (about R125 a month at R4.17 per 5 g), caffeine if you use it (about R100), and protein as needed. Total: under R500 a month before whey. 

## Safety

Under-18s should prioritise food and speak to a sports doctor. Pregnant or breastfeeding women, and anyone with kidney disease or on medication, should check first ([supplements to avoid in pregnancy](/answers/supplements-to-avoid-in-pregnancy-south-africa/)).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 100 g powder | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | None |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R112.50 | — | None |
| Primal Whey Isolate (750 g) | 750 g | R700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R93.33 | — | sucralose |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | not stated |
| Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules) | 60 capsules | R199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10) | 60 | — | — | R3.32 | Not published |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | — | — | R2.67 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Kreider RB et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation. JISSN](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Smith-Ryan AE et al. (2021) Creatine supplementation in women's health: a lifespan perspective. Nutrients](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC7998865)
- [Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)