# What is the best vitamin D3 supplement in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-vitamin-d3-in-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> For most adults the best vitamin D3 in South Africa is a plain 1 000 IU (25 µg) daily tablet, and price is the main difference between brands. As of October 2026, 1 000 IU products cost R2.16 to R3.98 a day, with Dis-Chem Gold D3 at R2.67 and Now Foods D3 and K2 at R2.31 on special. Added K2 is optional.

Key facts:
- As of October 2026, 1 000 IU vitamin D3 products in South Africa cost R2.16 to R3.98 a day (Viridian is R8.21).
- Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1 000 IU costs R2.67 a day; Now Foods D3 and K2 costs R2.31 on special.
- The EFSA upper level for adult vitamin D is 100 µg (4 000 IU) a day.
- The Endocrine Society 2024 guideline advises healthy adults under 75 against supplementing beyond the recommended intake.

## How do South African vitamin D3 supplements compare?

Every product below supplies 1 000 IU (25 µg) of D3 per daily tablet or capsule, so the price gap reflects brand, K2 content and format. Prices are from Faithful to Nature and Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026.

| Product | Pack and price | K2 per dose | Price per day |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Leaf D3 and K2 | 183 tablets, R395 | MK-7, amount not stated | R2.16 (out of stock when checked) |
| Now Foods D3 and K2 | 120 capsules, R276.75 special (R369 regular) | MK-4, 45 µg | R2.31 (R3.08 regular) |
| BEET Goodness D3 and K2 | 60 tablets, R150 | MK-7, 45 µg | R2.50 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 | 60 tablets, R160 | none | R2.67 |
| Neogenesis Pure D3 plus K2 | 60 capsules, R239 | MK-7, 100 µg | R3.98 |
| Viridian D3 and K2 | 90 capsules, R739 | MK-7, 45 µg | R8.21 |

## What dose should you pick?

The US recommended daily intake is 600 IU (15 µg) up to age 70 and 800 IU (20 µg) after that. The EFSA tolerable upper level for adults is 4 000 IU (100 µg) a day. A 1 000 IU product sits comfortably between the two. The Endocrine Society's 2024 guideline does not recommend extra vitamin D for healthy adults under 75 beyond the recommended intake, and does not recommend routine blood testing. Higher doses belong with a doctor and a diagnosed deficiency.

Take it daily with a meal that contains some fat. Check your other products first: a multivitamin may add 200 to 400 IU, and The Real Thing Tri-Mag magnesium adds 450 IU per capsule ([stacking is covered here](/answers/can-you-take-too-many-vitamins/)).

## Do you need the K2?

Probably not. Human evidence that K2 changes bone or artery outcomes alongside vitamin D is limited and inconsistent, and anyone on warfarin must not add it without medical advice. Because K2 combinations cost about the same as plain D3 in South Africa, taking one is a low-cost choice rather than a necessary one. Read the full explanation in [do you need vitamin K2 with vitamin D3?](/answers/vitamin-d3-with-k2-do-you-need-it/)

## What else should you check?

- **Form:** choose D3 (cholecalciferol), stated in IU or µg. Viridian lists µg only; we converted at 1 µg = 40 IU.
- **Source:** Now Foods D3 is lanolin-derived, so not vegan; Neogenesis lists soy as an allergen.
- **Excipients:** Dis-Chem Gold uses calcium carbonate in the tablet.
- **Certification:** none of these listings publishes third-party sport testing in the sources we read.

## Who is more likely to need one?

Indoor workers, people who cover up or use sunscreen daily, older adults, people with darker skin and anyone with a diagnosed deficiency. See [whether South Africans need vitamin D in summer](/answers/do-south-africans-need-vitamin-d-in-summer/) and [how much vitamin D to take](/answers/how-much-vitamin-d-should-i-take-south-africa/). If you have kidney disease, sarcoidosis or take thiazide diuretics, speak to your doctor first.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.67 | not stated |
| Now Foods Vitamin D3 and K2 120 vegicaps | 120 capsules | R276.75-R369 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 120 | R2.31 | not stated |
| BEET Goodness Vitamin D3 and K2 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R150 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.50 | not stated |
| Neogenesis Pure D3 + K2 (1000 IU + 100 mcg) 60 capsules | 60 capsules | R239 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R3.98 | not stated |
| New Leaf D3 and K2 1000 IU 183 tablets | 183 tablets | R395 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 183 | R2.16 | not stated |
| Viridian Vitamin D3 and K2 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R739 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 90 | R8.21 | not stated |

## Sources

- [NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Vitamin D, health professional fact sheet](https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminD-HealthProfessional/)
- [EFSA 2023, Scientific opinion on the tolerable upper intake level for vitamin D (EFSA Journal)](https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10407748/)
- [Endocrine Society 2024 guideline press release: healthy adults should take the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D](https://endocrine.org/news-and-advocacy/news-room/2024/endocrine-society-recommends-healthy-adults-take-the-recommended-daily-allowance-of-vitamin-d)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)