# What is the best whey protein in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-whey-protein-in-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> There is no single best whey in South Africa; it depends on what you value. On listed protein per scoop, USN BlueLab 100% Whey (R689 for 1 kg, about R28 per 30 g protein) is the best-value mainstream tub, imports such as Optimum Nutrition cost about R47 or more, and ATP Fitness wins on a clean ingredient list rather than price (October 2026).

Key facts:
- Best value among whey tubs with published protein: USN BlueLab 100% Whey, about R28 per 30 g protein (R689 per kg, USN shop, October 2026).
- Imported Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard costs R1 150 for 900 g at Dis-Chem Living Fit, about R47 per 30 g protein using the 29.4 g scoop on ON's UK site.
- University of Pretoria: 5 of 70 SA protein products held 42% to 80% less protein than labelled.
- ATP Fitness lists no sweeteners on its whey, from R800 per kg (concentrate) to R1 050 per 800 g (grass-fed isolate).

## What is the best whey protein in South Africa?

The honest answer is "best for what". Rankings here follow our published method: we compare declared protein per scoop, price per 30 g of protein, sweeteners and how much a brand actually publishes. All prices are from October 2026.

## Which whey is best value per 30 g of protein?

| Product | Price (retailer) | Protein per serving | R per 30 g protein |
|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey, 1 kg | R689 (USN shop) | 23.6 g per 32 g | about R28 |
| Evox 100% Whey Advanced, 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 23 g (scoop weight not stated) | not computable |
| NPL Platinum Whey, 908 g | R700 (NPL shop) | 22.5 g per 32 g | about R33 |
| Biogen Rage Impact Whey, 750 g | R525 (Biogen shop) | 27 g per 43 g | about R33 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey, 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 23 g per 30 g | about R51 |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard, 900 g | R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 24 g per 29.4 g scoop (ON UK site; SA label may differ) | about R47 |

Cheaper tubs exist (USN Hardcore Whey gH at R449 per kg, NPL Platinum Whey Plus at R490 per kg), but these are multi-source blends or have unusual label figures, so we do not rank them as "best whey". See [the cheapest whey per serving](/answers/cheapest-whey-protein-per-serving-south-africa/).

## Which whey is best for a clean label?

Most local wheys use sucralose (NPL, Primal, Biogen Complete Whey, Myprotein). ATP Fitness lists no sweeteners on any of its whey products: Unflavoured Concentrate is R800 per kg, Madagascan Vanilla Isolate R950 per 800 g, and Belgian Cocoa Isolate R950 per 800 g (shop.atpfit.co.za). The trade-offs are real: ATP does not publish protein per serving or any third-party certification, it launched in 2024, and flavour choice is narrow. A credible unsweetened alternative is Lifestyle Food Whey Concentrate Unflavoured (500 g, R500 at Dis-Chem Living Fit, 15.2 g protein per 20 g, about R39 per 30 g protein). More in [the cleanest whey without sweeteners](/answers/cleanest-whey-protein-without-sweeteners-south-africa/).

## Which whey is best for purity?

For isolate, USN Isozero (805 g, R899 to R909.99) states 20 g protein per 23 g scoop, roughly 87% protein by weight, at about R38.50 per 30 g protein. Compare isolates in [the best whey isolate](/answers/best-whey-isolate-in-south-africa/), and read the isolate versus concentrate trade-off in our dedicated answer.

## How reliable are SA protein labels?

Be a little sceptical of any tub that hides its nutrition table. A University of Pretoria study of 70 sports supplements found measured protein differed significantly from the label in 68.6%, and five products held 42% to 80% less protein than claimed. Brands were not named. USN and Biogen state Informed Choice certification on their product pages, but we have not checked the certifier register.

## Should you buy imported whey?

Imported Optimum Nutrition costs roughly 1.6 to 3.5 times the price of local 908 g to 1 kg tubs per kilogram and offer no protein advantage per rand. Buy from a trusted retailer and check batch codes ([how to spot fake whey](/answers/how-to-spot-fake-whey-protein-south-africa/)).

## Who should see a professional?

If you have kidney disease, a milk allergy, or are under 18, speak to a doctor or registered dietitian before using whey.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey (908 g) | 908 g | R700 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R32.89 | R77.09 | sucralose |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g) | 900 g | R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R127.78 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [ISSN Position Stand: Protein and Exercise (Jäger et al., JISSN 2017)](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)](https://repository.up.ac.za/handle/2263/74902)
- [University of Pretoria (Jul 2021): Muscle-building shakes don't always have as much protein as they claim](https://www.up.ac.za/research-matters/news/muscle-building-shakes-dont-always-have-much-protein-they-claim-0)
- [USN South Africa online shop](https://za.usn.global/collections/all)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Whey protein category](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/product-category/protein/whey-protein/)
- [Optimum Nutrition UK: Gold Standard 100% Whey product page (29.4 g rounded scoop, 24 g protein; UK listing)](https://www.optimumnutrition.com/en-gb/Products/Protein/Shakes-%26-Powders/Gold-Standard-100%25-Whey-Protein/p/gold-standard-100-whey-protein)