# What is the cheapest creatine per serving in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/cheapest-creatine-per-serving-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> The cheapest creatine per 5 g serving in South Africa is about R2.22 to R3 as of October 2026: Pure Natural Options 500 g (R2.22), Nutritech 500 g at Wellness Warehouse (R2.50) and NPL 500 g on a Takealot sale (R2.99). Mainstream shelf prices are R4.45 to R5.55. Bigger tubs and retailer choice matter more than brand.

Key facts:
- Lowest verified creatine price per 5 g: R2.22 (Pure Natural Options 500 g, single retailer, October 2026).
- NPL 500 g is R2.99 per 5 g on a Takealot sale versus R5.40 at Dis-Chem, a 45% gap for the same tub.
- ATP Fitness 600 g is R4.17 per 5 g; its 250 g tub is R5.40 per 5 g (October 2026).
- Mainstream shelf prices run R4.45 to R5.55 per 5 g (Biogen, USN, Myprotein).

## What is the cheapest creatine per serving?

A serving of creatine monohydrate is 5 g (the ISSN maintenance range is 3-5 g a day). As of October 2026, the lowest verified prices per 5 g for single-ingredient monohydrate are:

| Product | Pack | Price (source) | R per 5 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine 100% | 500 g | R221.88 (Knysna Health) | R2.22 |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g | R249.95 (Wellness Warehouse) | R2.50 |
| NPL Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g | R299 (Takealot sale, undated PriceCheck snapshot) | R2.99 |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate, 2 x 500 g pack | 1 kg | R599 (Takealot, undated PriceCheck snapshot) | R3.00 |
| Pro Nutrition Creatine Monohydrate | 300 g | R199 (Takealot sale, undated PriceCheck snapshot) | R3.32 |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure Creatine | 300 g | R229 (Faithful to Nature) | R3.82 |
| Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine | 500 g | R389 (Faithful to Nature) | R3.89 |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g | R399 (Clicks) | R3.99 |
| Phyto Pro Muscle Creatine | 500 g | R410 (Faithful to Nature) | R4.10 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine | 600 g | R500 (ATP shop) | R4.17 |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g | R444.99 (Dis-Chem) | R4.45 |
| USN Pure Creatine | 300 g | R279 to R299 | about R4.98 |

## Why do prices vary so much for the same product?

Retailer gaps of 40-80% for the same product are common. NPL's 500 g tub is R539.99 at Dis-Chem (R5.40 per 5 g) and R299 on Takealot (R2.99). Nutritech 500 g is R249.95 at Wellness Warehouse and R399 at Clicks. USN Pure Creatine 410 g ranges from R269 at Faithful to Nature to R439.99 at Dis-Chem. Takealot sale prices change often, so treat them as a snapshot. See [creatine at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot](/answers/creatine-dis-chem-vs-clicks-vs-takealot-south-africa/).

## Does tub size matter?

Yes. Smaller tubs cost more per dose: ATP's 250 g tub is R5.40 per 5 g versus R4.17 for the 600 g; Biogen 200 g is R6.00 versus R4.45 for 500 g; USN 200 g is R5.47 versus about R4.98 for 300 g. If you plan to use creatine daily, a 500 g or larger tub pays for itself within a few weeks.

## Is the cheapest the best?

Not necessarily. Check that the label shows one ingredient (creatine monohydrate) and no sugar or flavour system. Avoid comparing against carbohydrate-creatine mixes (for example Evox Creatine Overload, NPL Anabolic Creatine or Biogen Creatine Ultra Load), which look cheap per gram but contain mostly other ingredients. Premium Creapure and micronised-brand creatines cost more: Foundation Creapure 400 g is R6.25 per 5 g, while Thorne Micronized 450 g on Takealot is about R19.98.

If you are drug-tested, pay more attention to batch testing than to price; see the [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) and [how much creatine costs](/answers/how-much-does-creatine-cost-south-africa/). A product that is not third-party tested is not necessarily unsafe, but contamination is the main risk for athletes.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| NPL Creatine Monohydrate Powder 500 g | 500 g | R299-R539.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | None (unflavoured) |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)