# Collagen powder vs capsules vs liquid: which is best?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/collagen-powder-vs-capsules-vs-liquid/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> For the dose and the price, powder is best: in South Africa it costs about R10 to R18 per 10 g of collagen as of October 2026, against roughly R34 to R69 for capsules and about R34 for liquid. Capsules often supply only 1.2 to 1.8 g a day. Choose capsules or liquid only if convenience matters more than cost.

Key facts:
- Powder costs about R10.44 to R17.68 per 10 g of collagen in South Africa (October 2026).
- Capsules at 400 mg each need 25 a day for 10 g; Dis-Chem Gold and Biogen label only 1.2 g a day.
- Collagen Cafe liquid gives 10 g per 20 ml at about R34.40 per 10 g (R859.99 per 500 ml, our calculation).
- Capsule collagen costs roughly R34 to R69 per 10 g, roughly three to seven times the cheapest powder.

## The core comparison

Trial doses of collagen are mostly 5 to 15 g a day, so the first question is how many grams you actually get. Prices are from October 2026 per 10 g of collagen.

| Format | Example | Collagen per day | R per 10 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| **Powder** | ATP Fitness 910 g, R950 (ATP shop) | 10 g per scoop | **R10.44** |
| Powder | The Harvest Table Bovine 800 g, R909 (Faithful to Nature) | 10 g | R11.36 |
| Powder | Mojome Pure Collagen 500 g, R884 | 10 g | R17.68 |
| Capsules | My Wellness 90 capsules, R185 (Faithful to Nature) | 1.8 g per 3 capsules | about R34 |
| Capsules | Biogen Platinum value pack 180, R440 (Dis-Chem via PriceCheck) | 1.2 g per 3 capsules | about R61 |
| Capsules | Dis-Chem Gold 90 capsules, R250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 1.2 g per 3 capsules | about R69 |
| Liquid | Collagen Cafe 500 ml, R859.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 10 g per 20 ml | about R34.40* |
| Ready-to-drink | Biogen Collagen Refreshed 300 ml, R36.99 to R41.99 | collagen grams not captured | not calculable |

*Our calculation: the page does not state servings, so we assume 25 servings of 20 ml.

## Why capsules disappoint

Capsules in our research hold 400 mg of collagen each. To reach 10 g you would need **25 capsules a day**. Label doses of 1.2 g (Dis-Chem Gold, Biogen) are about one-eighth of a 10 g scoop and below the doses used in most trials ([how much collagen per day](/answers/how-much-collagen-per-day/)). They suit people who will not take powder, but expect a small dose for a high price.

## When does liquid make sense?

Liquids such as Collagen Cafe deliver a trial-style 10 g in 20 ml and add vitamin C, magnesium and black-pepper extract. That is convenient for travel or the office, but it costs about three times as much per 10 g as the cheaper powders, and we could not verify its collagen source (bovine or marine) or any certification ([more on Collagen Cafe](/answers/is-collagen-cafe-a-good-brand-south-africa/)).

## When does powder win?

- You want the lowest cost per dose.
- You are happy to stir it into coffee, a smoothie or oats ([hot coffee](/answers/can-you-put-collagen-in-hot-coffee/)).
- You prefer a single-ingredient label.

[ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen](/brands/atp-fitness/) is the cheapest powder per dose we priced. Honest trade-offs: it is unflavoured, a young brand (2024), has no published third-party certificate, and the 910 g tub needs R950 upfront; the 450 g tub (R530) is R11.78 per 10 g. Biogen's Peptan range offers flavours and a named peptide at R12.81 to R14.64 per 10 g.

## What about marine or gummies?

Marine collagen is mainly sold as tablets or capsules (New Leaf 60 tablets, R399; Sfera 120 capsules) or one powder, Sir Francis, at roughly R20.50 per 10 g. For gummies see [are collagen gummies worth it](/answers/collagen-gummies-worth-it/).

## Bottom line

Powder first; liquid if you value convenience and accept the premium; capsules only if you accept a small dose. Our [best collagen in South Africa](/best/best-collagen-south-africa/) page ranks products by cost and label. Collagen is generally well tolerated, but pregnant or breastfeeding women, under-18s, people with kidney disease and anyone on regular medication should check with a doctor.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 10 g | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | 91 | R10.44 | — | None |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 50 | R11.36 | — | none |
| My Wellness Collagen Peptides 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R185 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 30 | — | R6.17 | none |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen value pack 180 capsules | 180 capsules | R440 (Dis-Chem (via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 60 | — | R7.33 | none listed |
| Dis-Chem Gold Hydrolysed Collagen 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | — | R8.33 | none listed (page says sugar free) |
| Collagen Cafe liquid collagen (500 ml bottle / 14- and 28-day sachet sets) | 500 ml bottle or sachet sets | not published (Dis-Chem Living Fit news (14 Nov 2025), 2026-10) | — | — | — | zero sugar (sweetener not stated) |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Dis-Chem Gold Hydrolysed Collagen 90 capsules](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/dischem-gold-hydrolysed-collagen-90-caps)
- [Biogen collagen bulk value pack package insert](https://biogen.co.za/wp-content/uploads/437101-collagen-bulk-value-package-insert.pdf)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Collagen Cafe Liquid Collagen Supplement 500 ml](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/collagen-cafe-liquid-collagen-supplement-500ml)
- [Faithful to Nature: collagen category (prices, October 2026)](https://www.faithful-to-nature.co.za/health/beauty-supplements/collagen)
- [ATP Fitness shop (shop.atpfit.co.za), prices checked October 2026](https://shop.atpfit.co.za)