# Where is creatine cheapest: Dis-Chem, Clicks or Takealot?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/creatine-dis-chem-vs-clicks-vs-takealot-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Takealot is often cheapest for the same creatine tub, but not always, and no retailer wins every time. As of October 2026, NPL 500 g is R299 on Takealot versus R539.99 at Dis-Chem, while Nutritech 500 g is R399 at Clicks versus R249.95 at Wellness Warehouse. Compare R per 5 g across retailers before you buy.

Key facts:
- NPL Creatine 500 g: R539.99 at Dis-Chem versus R299 on Takealot, a 45% gap (October 2026).
- Nutritech Creatine 500 g: R399 at Clicks versus R249.95 at Wellness Warehouse.
- USN Pure Creatine 410 g ranges from R269 (Faithful to Nature) to R439.99 (Dis-Chem), a gap of more than 60%.
- Takealot prices were lowest in four of the same-tub comparisons we found; no retailer is cheapest every time.

## Which retailer is cheapest for creatine?

There is no single cheapest retailer. Prices for the same tub differ by 40-80% between sellers, and sales change weekly. Takealot has the lowest price in several of the cases we found, Dis-Chem is rarely the cheapest for the same tub, and Clicks sits in between. Prices below are October 2026.

| Product | Dis-Chem | Clicks | Takealot | Other |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| NPL Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | R539.99 | not found | R299 (was R399) | none |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | not found | R399 | not found | R249.95 (Wellness Warehouse) |
| USN Pure Creatine 200 g | R249.99 | not found | R219 | R219 (USN shop) |
| USN Pure Creatine 410 g | R439.99 | not found | not found | R419 (USN shop); R269 (Faithful to Nature) |
| Pro Nutrition Creatine 300 g | not found | not found | R199 (was R299) | R349.90 (Mopani Pharmacy) |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | R444.99 | not found | 2 x 500 g pack R599 (was R800) | none |
| Sport RX Creatine 500 g | not found | not found | R379 (was R425) | R389 (Faithful to Nature) |
| Myprotein Creatine 500 g | R554.99 | not found | not found | lowest offer R399, retailer not named |
| ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g | not found | not found | a listing titled "Micronised Creatine Monohydrate 600 G" under brand "ATP" at R379 (undated PriceCheck snapshot; unconfirmed it is ATP Fitness) | R500 (ATP shop) |

## What do the numbers show?

- **Takealot** was lowest in four of the comparisons it appears in (NPL, USN 200 g, Pro Nutrition, Sport RX), by margins of 3% to 45% (joint lowest on USN 200 g).
- **Dis-Chem** had the highest price on NPL, USN 200 g and Myprotein, and tends to carry the mainstream brands (Biogen, NPL, USN, Primal, Foundation).
- **Clicks** stocks Nutritech and USN; its Nutritech 500 g at R399 was 60% above the Wellness Warehouse price.
- **Brand shops and Faithful to Nature** can undercut both, for example USN 410 g at R269.

Take these as snapshots. Dis-Chem prices come from its Living Fit pages; Takealot and Clicks prices come from price-comparison listings that carry no date, so confirm the live price before you buy.

## How do you compare properly?

Divide the price by grams and multiply by 5. NPL's R299 for 500 g is R2.99 per 5 g; at Dis-Chem it is R5.40. Biogen's Takealot two-pack of 1 kg is R3.00 per 5 g, against R4.45 for its 500 g at Dis-Chem; that is a different pack, though. ATP Fitness 600 g at R500 is R4.17 per 5 g on the ATP shop. See [cheapest creatine per serving](/answers/cheapest-creatine-per-serving-south-africa/).

## What else should you consider?

- **Authenticity:** buy from the retailer itself or the brand's official storefront, not unnamed marketplace sellers; see [are Takealot supplements genuine](/answers/are-takealot-supplements-genuine-south-africa/).
- **Delivery and returns:** factor in delivery fees or free-delivery thresholds.
- **Batch date:** sales stock can be older; check the best-before date.
- **Testing claims:** if you are drug-tested, a batch-tested product matters more than R100 saved.

For ranked options see the [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) and, for broader shopping, [Dis-Chem vs Clicks vs Takealot for supplements](/answers/dis-chem-vs-clicks-vs-takealot-supplements-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NPL Creatine Monohydrate Powder 500 g | 500 g | R299-R539.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | None (unflavoured) |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 200 g | 200 g | R219-R249.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.47 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 410 g | 410 g | R269-R439.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.11 | not stated |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Pro Nutrition Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R199-R349.90 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R3.32 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)