# Are Dis-Chem and Clicks house-brand vitamins as good as big brands?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/do-clicks-and-dis-chem-vitamins-differ-in-quality-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> We found no evidence that Dis-Chem Gold or Clicks house-brand vitamins are worse than big brands, but also no published testing that shows they are equal. Compare label doses and cost per day instead. As of October 2026, Dis-Chem Gold is the cheapest or near-cheapest option for multivitamins and iron, but not for vitamin D or omega-3.

Key facts:
- We found no published third-party testing data on Dis-Chem Gold or Clicks vitamins, or on big-brand equivalents.
- As of October 2026, Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength costs R2.29 to R4.50 a day against R7.08 for Metagenics (both 24 mg iron).
- Dis-Chem Gold magnesium costs R0.47 to R0.73 more per 100 mg elemental than Tri-Mag or Flora Force.
- SAHPRA had registered no complementary medicines as of August 2026, so most supplements carry a not-evaluated disclaimer.

## Are pharmacy house brands as good as big brands?

Quality is not something we can rank without data. For vitamins, the useful comparisons are what is on the label and what it costs. We found no published third-party testing of Dis-Chem Gold or Clicks house-brand vitamins for content accuracy or contaminants, and none for the big brands either. Neither group publishes third-party sport certification on the pages we read. So "house brand" does not mean lower quality, and it does not mean higher quality.

What we can report is that Dis-Chem Gold appears to be Dis-Chem's own supplement line, priced as the entry-level option in most categories. Some of its pages say the product is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA, which is true of most supplements in South Africa, big brands included, because SAHPRA had registered no complementary medicines as of August 2026.

## How do label doses and prices compare?

Prices from Dis-Chem Living Fit and Faithful to Nature, October 2026:

| Category | Dis-Chem Gold | Other brands in our sample | What it shows |
|---|---|---|---|
| Multivitamin | R3.33 to R4.43 a day | Viridian R7.50, Solgar R16.63 | Cheaper, but lower in some nutrients (vitamin D 200 IU per softgel) |
| Vitamin D3, 1 000 IU | R2.67 a day | New Leaf R2.16, Now Foods R2.31 (special), BEET R2.50 | Mid-pack |
| Magnesium | R3.29 and R3.37 per 100 mg elemental | Tri-Mag R2.64, Flora Force R2.82 | R0.47 to R0.73 more per 100 mg |
| Omega-3 | Supreme R8.06, Salmon Oil+ R10.55 per gram EPA plus DHA | Biolife R7.22, Now Ultra R7.66 (special) | Supreme is competitive, Salmon Oil+ is not |
| Iron | R2.29 to R4.50 a day for 24 mg elemental | Metagenics R7.08 for 24 mg | Cheapest in our sample |
| Zinc | R2.67 for about 16.6 mg at two tablets | Solgar R2.49 for 22 mg | Comparable; different doses |

Our sample has Dis-Chem Gold as the cheaper option in iron and multivitamins, roughly equal in zinc and mid-pack in vitamin D, magnesium and omega-3. We did not capture Clicks' own vitamin range. Clicks house-brand products that did appear in our sports sample were BCAA, L-glutamine and pre-workout, which are not vitamins.

## What should you check on any vitamin label?

- **Dose per daily serving,** not per tablet.
- **Elemental amounts** for minerals (see [magnesium](/answers/best-magnesium-in-south-africa-2026/)).
- **Form,** for example D3 rather than D2, or EPA plus DHA stated separately.
- **Allergens and shell,** such as bovine gelatine or soy.
- **SAHPRA wording,** which is a disclaimer, not an approval.
- **Batch and expiry,** and storage in South African heat.

## What are the limits of this comparison?

It is based on one date, one or two retailers per product and the amounts the labels state; some pages hide nutrition tables in images. We did not test any product. A cheaper per-day price helps only if the dose is right for you. For drug-tested athletes, no product here is a substitute for batch-tested supplements.

For more, see [Dis-Chem vs Clicks vs Takealot](/answers/dis-chem-vs-clicks-vs-takealot-supplements-south-africa/), [how to read a supplement label](/answers/how-to-read-a-supplement-label-south-africa/), and our best-of pages for [multivitamins](/best/best-multivitamin-south-africa/), [magnesium](/best/best-magnesium-south-africa/) and [omega-3](/best/best-omega-3-south-africa/). Brand details are on [the Dis-Chem Gold page](/brands/dis-chem-gold/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin Supreme Active 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R200 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R3.33 | glycerol (132 mg sugar source per capsule) |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.67 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Magnesium Chelate 90 coated tablets | 90 tablets | R300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R5.00 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R290 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R9.67 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength value pack 120 coated tablets | 120 tablets | R275 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 120 | R2.29 | not stated |

## Sources

- [Spotlight (14 Aug 2026): Inside the Box with Dr Andy Gray, are complementary medicines effectively regulated in South Africa?](https://www.spotlightnsp.co.za/2026/08/14/inside-the-box-with-dr-andy-gray-are-complementary-medicines-effectively-regulated-in-south-africa/)
- [SAHPRA Guideline 7.02: Roadmap for complementary medicines (Dec 2021)](https://www.sahpra.org.za/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/7.02_Roadmap_for_CMs_Dec21_v2_3.pdf)
- [SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check](https://drugfreesport.org.za/faq/)