# Fish oil vs krill oil vs algae oil: which is best?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/fish-oil-vs-krill-oil-vs-algae-oil/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Fish oil is the best-studied and cheapest source of EPA and DHA; krill oil and algae oil are alternatives rather than upgrades. Krill oil's higher absorption is disputed, and algae oil is the vegan option, usually giving 100 to 300 mg of DHA per serving. As of October 2026, budget fish oil in South Africa costs about R7 to R11 per gram of EPA plus DHA.

Key facts:
- A typical 1 000 mg fish oil capsule provides about 180 mg EPA and 120 mg DHA (NIH).
- Algae oil usually supplies about 100 to 300 mg of DHA per serving (NIH).
- Budget South African fish oils cost R7.22 to R10.55 per gram of EPA plus DHA as of October 2026.
- Studies disagree on whether krill oil is absorbed better than fish oil (NIH).

## How do the three oils compare?

| | Fish oil | Krill oil | Algae (algal) oil |
|---|---|---|---|
| Omega-3 form | EPA and DHA, usually triglycerides or ethyl esters | EPA and DHA bound mainly in phospholipids | Mostly DHA, sometimes with EPA, as triglycerides |
| Typical amount | A 1 000 mg capsule gives about 180 mg EPA and 120 mg DHA | Varies by product | About 100 to 300 mg DHA per serving |
| Evidence base | Largest | Smaller | Smaller; one small study found DHA absorption similar to cooked salmon |
| Vegan | No | No | Yes |
| South African price (October 2026) | R7.22 to R10.55 per gram EPA plus DHA for budget products | Not in our price sample | Not in our price sample |

The NIH notes that studies disagree on whether krill oil is better absorbed than fish oil. Triglyceride and free-fatty-acid fish oils are absorbed somewhat better than ethyl esters, but all of them raise blood EPA and DHA.

## What does fish oil cost in South Africa?

From Faithful to Nature and Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026:

- Biolife Fish Oil: R7.22 per gram of EPA plus DHA (300 mg per softgel).
- Now Ultra Omega 3: R7.66 on special, R10.21 at the regular R689 (750 mg per softgel).
- Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme: R8.06 (600 mg per softgel).
- Dis-Chem Gold Salmon Oil+: R10.55 (200 mg per softgel).

We did not find krill or algae oil listings with stated EPA and DHA amounts in the sources we checked, so we do not quote a price for them. If you buy either, work out the cost per gram of EPA plus DHA yourself from the label.

## Which is best for you?

- **You eat fish and want the cheapest evidence-backed option:** a concentrated fish oil. See [the best omega-3 fish oil in South Africa](/answers/best-omega-3-fish-oil-in-south-africa/).
- **You are vegan or vegetarian, or have fish allergy concerns:** algae oil is the practical answer, but check the label for DHA and EPA amounts and expect a lower dose per capsule. Read [vegan omega-3 and algae oil](/answers/best-vegan-omega-3-algae-oil-south-africa/).
- **You are curious about krill:** it is not proven superior, so judge any krill product by its stated EPA plus DHA per capsule and its price per gram.

Do not rely on plant ALA (flax, chia) as a replacement; the body converts only a small share to EPA and DHA.

## What about contaminants and quality?

According to the NIH, methylmercury has not been found in omega-3 supplements because processing removes it. The more common quality issue is oxidation. Keep capsules cool and sealed, and discard any that smell sharply rancid. We did not find verified IFOS-type testing for these brands.

## Who should check with a doctor first?

People on warfarin or other anticoagulants, with a fish or shellfish allergy, or facing surgery; high doses can prolong bleeding time. Intakes up to about 5 g a day of EPA plus DHA are regarded as safe by EFSA, but there is no reason for most people to approach that. For dose guidance, see [how much omega-3 you should take](/answers/how-much-omega-3-should-i-take/) and the [best omega-3 comparison](/best/best-omega-3-south-africa/). Evidence for omega-3 overall is moderate, and the AIS places fish oil in Group B.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R195 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 45 | R4.33 | not stated |
| Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R516.75-R689 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 90 | R5.74 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R290 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R9.67 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R190 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 36 | R5.28 | not stated |

## Sources

- [NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Omega-3 fatty acids, health professional fact sheet](https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Omega3FattyAcids-HealthProfessional/)
- [Jäger et al. 2025, ISSN Position Stand: long-chain omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids (JISSN 22:2441775)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11737053/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group B](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_b)