# How much beta-alanine should you take and does it work?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-beta-alanine-per-day/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Take 4–6 g of beta-alanine a day, split into doses of 2 g or less, for at least four weeks. It works by raising muscle carnosine, so timing around training does not matter. It helps efforts lasting about 1–4 minutes and does little for pure strength or steady endurance. In South Africa a month costs roughly R94–R234 (October 2026).

Key facts:
- ISSN: 4–6 g a day of beta-alanine, in doses of 2 g or less.
- Muscle carnosine rises about 20–30% after two weeks and 40–60% after four, and washes out over about 6–15 weeks.
- Paraesthesia (harmless tingling) is more likely above about 800 mg in one dose of standard powder.
- A month at 4–6 g a day costs about R94–R140 with the cheapest South African powders and R156–R234 with ATP Fitness (October 2026).

## How much beta-alanine should you take?

The ISSN position stand recommends **4–6 g a day**, in doses of 2 g or less (for example four doses of about 1.5 g). Trials commonly use 3.2–6.4 g a day. Taking it with meals may raise carnosine gains slightly.

## How long does it take to work?

Beta-alanine is a loading supplement. Carnosine in muscle rises about 20–30% after two weeks and 40–60% after four. When you stop, levels drift back over roughly 6–15 weeks. Timing around training does not matter; missing a dose matters little, but consistency does.

| Time on 4–6 g/day | Muscle carnosine change |
|---|---|
| 2 weeks | about +20–30% |
| 4 weeks | about +40–60% |
| After stopping | falls back over about 6–15 weeks |

## Does it work?

Evidence is **strong** for high-intensity efforts of about 1–4 minutes limited by acid build-up. The AIS lists it as Group A and the IOC 2018 consensus statement names it among the few with good evidence. It suits:

- 400–1 500 m runners, swimmers over 100–400 m, rowers and track cyclists
- combat sports and CrossFit
- repeated-sprint team sports such as rugby and hockey

It adds little for 1–5 rep maximal strength or steady endurance like Two Oceans or Comrades pacing.

## What are the side effects?

The main one is paraesthesia, a harmless tingling of the face, neck and hands. It is more likely above about 800 mg in a single dose of ordinary powder, and smaller split doses or sustained-release forms reduce it. Read [what beta-alanine tingling means](/answers/what-does-beta-alanine-tingling-mean/). No serious adverse effects are reported at recommended doses. Data in pregnancy and under-18s are limited, so avoid it unless a doctor advises otherwise. Check with a doctor if you have kidney disease or take regular medication.

## What does a month cost in South Africa?

As of October 2026, plain powder costs about R0.78 per gram at My Whey (250 g, R195, Takealot) and USN (205 g, R159.95), R0.88 at Biogen (250 g, R219.99, Dis-Chem Living Fit) and R1.30 at [ATP Fitness](/brands/atp-fitness/) (200 g, R260). At 4–6 g a day that is about R94–R140 a month at the cheapest and R156–R234 for ATP. ATP's advantage is a pure, unsweetened single ingredient; its trade-offs are the higher price, a young brand (est. 2024) and no published sport certification. A 200 g tub at 4 g a day lasts 50 days; at 6 g, 33 days.

Check labels: Biogen's page suggests about 1 g per serving and a 3 g daily limit, below the ISSN range, so follow the label or ask a sports dietitian. Compare options in [best beta-alanine in South Africa](/answers/best-beta-alanine-in-south-africa-2026/) and [best beta-alanine](/best/best-beta-alanine-south-africa/).

## Can you take it with creatine?

Yes, the two are commonly combined and both are Group A supplements. See [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/). Drug-tested athletes should use batch-tested products.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 3.2 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN Beta-Alanine 205 g | 205 g | R160 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | Not stated (flavoured variants Cola, Apple) |
| My Whey Pure Beta Alanine Powder 250 g | 250 g | R195 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| Biogen Beta Alanine Powder Unflavoured 250 g | 250 g | R220 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R2.82 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Beta-Alanine | 200 g | R260 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.16 | None |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Trexler ET et al. (2015) ISSN position stand: beta-alanine. JISSN](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4501114/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)
- [Maughan RJ et al. (2018) IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete. BJSM 52:439](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/7/439.abstract)