# How much does whey protein cost in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-does-whey-protein-cost-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Whey protein in South Africa costs about R285 to R770 per kg for local whey blend tubs, R800 to R1 000 per kg for single-ingredient concentrate, R930 to R1 860 per kg for isolate, and R860 to R1 300 per kg for imports such as Optimum Nutrition, Myprotein and MuscleTech (October 2026). A single scoop typically costs R12 to R30 for local blends and about R38 to R39 for imports.

Key facts:
- Local whey blend tubs run about R285 to R770 per kg; single-ingredient concentrate R800 to R1 000; isolate R930 to R1 860 per kg (October 2026).
- Imported Optimum Nutrition (R1 150 per 900 g) and Myprotein (R1 300 per kg) cost roughly 1.9 times USN BlueLab (R689) per kg.
- A scoop of local whey typically costs R12 to R30; USN BlueLab is about R28 per 30 g protein.
- Women24 (2023): Dis-Chem estimated whey prices rose at least 50% after 2020 before easing.

## How much does whey protein cost in South Africa?

Prices below are per kilogram of powder, from listings checked in October 2026 (brand shops, Dis-Chem Living Fit, Clicks and Takealot via PriceCheck). They include 15% VAT.

| Type | Examples | Typical price per kg |
|---|---|---|
| Entry-level blends | Black Bull Whey Supreme 908 g (R259 to R319), Nutritech Heavy Duty 908 g (R329) | R285 to R365 |
| Mainstream local whey | USN Hardcore gH 1 kg (R449), NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490), USN BlueLab 1 kg (R689), Evox Advanced 908 g (R670) | R450 to R740 |
| Premium local whey | NPL Platinum 908 g (R700), Biogen Rage Impact 750 g (R525) | R700 to R770 |
| Isolate | Primal 750 g (R700), USN Isozero 805 g (R899), NPL 700 g (R900), ATP 800 g (R900 to R1 050), Biogen 700 g (R1 300) | R930 to R1 860 |
| Imports | Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 900 g (R1 150), Myprotein Impact 1 kg (R1 300), MuscleTech Nitro-Tech 2.27 kg (R1 950 to R2 150) | R860 to R1 300 |
| Single-ingredient concentrate | ATP Unflavoured Concentrate 1 kg (R800), Lifestyle Food 500 g (R500) | R800 to R1 000 |

## What does one serving cost?

Per scoop, local blends run about R12 (USN Hydrotech) to R30 (Biogen Rage Impact) and imports about R38 to R39. In protein terms: USN BlueLab costs about R28 per 30 g protein, an imported Optimum Nutrition tub about R47 (using the 29.4 g scoop on ON's UK site). See [whey per 30 g of protein compared](/answers/whey-protein-per-30g-protein-comparison-south-africa/).

## Why is whey expensive in South Africa?

Whey is a dairy ingredient traded globally, so the rand exchange rate, freight and import costs move shelf prices. Women24 reported in August 2023 that Dis-Chem estimated whey prices had risen by at least 50% after 2020, and USN estimated they had roughly doubled, before prices began easing. We cannot tell which product the 2023 figures referred to, and October 2026 shelf prices vary by brand, so check current listings.

## Where is whey cheapest?

The biggest gaps are between retailers. ATP's Unflavoured Concentrate is R800 in its own shop but R639 on Takealot; USN's plant protein is R399 on Takealot but R474.99 at Dis-Chem (PriceCheck snapshots, undated). Brand shops and Dis-Chem usually match each other to within a few rand. See [the cheapest whey per serving](/answers/cheapest-whey-protein-per-serving-south-africa/) and [Dis-Chem vs Takealot](/answers/whey-protein-dis-chem-vs-takealot-south-africa/).

## How do you avoid overpaying?

- Compare rand per 30 g of protein, not per tub.
- Choose concentrate unless you are lactose-sensitive: isolate typically costs 35% to 50% more for the same muscle result ([isolate vs concentrate](/answers/whey-isolate-vs-concentrate-south-africa/)).
- Do not pay a premium for an imported label unless you want that specific product.

## Do you need to see a doctor first?

If you have kidney disease, a milk allergy or are under 18, ask a doctor or dietitian whether whey suits you.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| USN Hardcore Whey gH (1 kg) | 1 kg | R449 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R16.46 | R44.90 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g) | 900 g | R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R127.78 | not stated |
| Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R50.87 | R130.00 | sucralose |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Women24 (Aug 2023): Relief for gym-goers as sky-high whey protein powder prices trend down](https://www.w24.co.za/news24/tech-and-trends/news/relief-for-gym-goers-as-sky-high-whey-protein-powder-prices-now-on-a-downward-trend-20230816)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Whey protein category](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/product-category/protein/whey-protein/)
- [USN South Africa online shop](https://za.usn.global/collections/all)
- [PriceCheck: ATP Fitness whey listings (Takealot prices)](https://www.pricecheck.co.za/search?search=atp+fitness+whey)
- [ISSN Position Stand: Protein and Exercise (Jäger et al., JISSN 2017)](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)