# How much protein do you need to build muscle?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-protein-to-build-muscle/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> To build muscle, aim for about 1.6 g of protein per kg of body weight a day: meta-analysis of 49 trials found gains plateau around 1.62 g/kg (confidence range 1.03 to 2.20). For an 80 kg person that is about 128 g a day, with about 176 g (2.2 g/kg) a sensible ceiling. Two scoops of whey a day cost roughly R44 to R51 in South Africa (October 2026).

Key facts:
- Morton 2018 meta-analysis (49 RCTs, 1 863 people): muscle gains plateau around 1.62 g/kg/day (95% interval 1.03 to 2.20).
- Schoenfeld and Aragon 2018: about 0.4 g/kg per meal across at least four meals to reach 1.6 g/kg/day.
- Trommelen 2023: 100 g of milk protein gave a longer anabolic response than 25 g, so there is no hard per-meal cap.
- Two servings of USN BlueLab cost about R44 (R689 per kg, October 2026), delivering roughly 47 g protein.

## How much protein do you need to build muscle?

Total daily protein plus resistance training is what builds muscle. The evidence level is strong.

## What does the research say?

- **Daily target.** Morton and colleagues (BJSM, 2018) pooled 49 trials with 1 863 participants. Protein supplementation added about 0.30 kg of fat-free mass and 2.49 kg of one-rep-max strength on average, and benefits plateaued around 1.62 g/kg/day (95% interval 1.03 to 2.20).
- **ISSN range.** The ISSN position stand recommends 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day for most exercising people.
- **Per meal.** Schoenfeld and Aragon (2018) suggest about 0.4 g/kg per meal across at least four meals to reach 1.6 g/kg a day, and up to 0.55 g/kg per meal at 2.2 g/kg a day.
- **No hard per-meal cap.** A 2023 study (Trommelen) found 100 g of milk protein produced a longer anabolic response over 12 hours than 25 g, so a large meal is not wasted.

## What does it look like in numbers?

| Body weight | 1.6 g/kg | 2.2 g/kg | Four meals at 0.4 g/kg |
|---|---|---|---|
| 60 kg | 96 g | 132 g | 24 g each |
| 75 kg | 120 g | 165 g | 30 g each |
| 90 kg | 144 g | 198 g | 36 g each |

Leucine matters too: aim for roughly 2 to 3 g per meal. About 25 g of whey provides around 2.5 to 3 g leucine, since whey is typically 10% to 11% leucine.

## What does it cost in rand per day?

Using October 2026 prices and published servings:

| Powder | Per serving | Two servings |
|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey (23.6 g protein per 32 g scoop) | about R22 | about R44 for roughly 47 g protein |
| USN Isozero (20 g protein per 23 g scoop) | about R25.70 | about R51 for 40 g protein |

Two scoops of BlueLab covers just over a third of an 80 kg lifter's 128 g target; the rest comes from food such as eggs, chicken, maas, biltong, fish and legumes.

## Do you need isolate?

Not for muscle. Per gram, isolate and concentrate perform equally ([isolate vs concentrate](/answers/whey-isolate-vs-concentrate-south-africa/)). ATP Fitness's Unflavoured Concentrate (R800 per kg) is a sweetener-free choice but publishes no protein per serving or third-party certification, so USN BlueLab is the better-documented value option.

## What if you eat more than 2.2 g/kg?

Evidence shows little extra muscle benefit and extra cost. During a calorie deficit, higher intakes (2.3 to 3.1 g/kg) may help preserve lean mass in trained people, per the ISSN.

## When should you see a professional?

If you have kidney or liver disease, are pregnant, are on medication or are under 18, speak to a doctor or dietitian before raising protein intake.

## Where next?

See [how much protein per day](/answers/how-much-protein-per-day-south-africa/), [when to take whey](/answers/when-to-take-whey-protein/) and [creatine dosing](/answers/how-much-creatine-per-day/). Training programme and sleep matter as much as the powder.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Morton et al. 2018, Protein supplementation and resistance-training-induced gains: systematic review, meta-analysis and meta-regression (BJSM)](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/6/376)
- [ISSN Position Stand: Protein and Exercise (Jäger et al., JISSN 2017)](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Schoenfeld & Aragon 2018, How much protein can the body use in a single meal for muscle-building? (JISSN)](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29497353/)
- [Trommelen et al. 2023, The anabolic response to protein ingestion during recovery from exercise has no upper limit (Cell Reports Medicine)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC10772463/)