# How much vitamin D should I take in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-vitamin-d-should-i-take-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Most healthy adults in South Africa need only the recommended 600 to 800 IU (15 to 20 micrograms) of vitamin D a day from sun, food and supplements combined. A 1 000 IU supplement is a common, safe choice if you get little sun. The upper limit is 4 000 IU a day; higher doses should only follow a doctor's blood test.

Key facts:
- Healthy adults need about 600 to 800 IU (15 to 20 micrograms) of vitamin D a day; the EFSA upper limit is 4 000 IU (100 micrograms) for adults and ages 11 to 17.
- The Endocrine Society (2024) advises healthy adults under 75 to meet the recommended intake and does not recommend routine testing.
- A 2024 Scientific Reports study found 28.5% of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers below 50 nmol/L; a Western Cape young-adult study found low deficiency rates.
- 1 000 IU vitamin D products cost about R2.16 to R8.21 a day in South Africa (October 2026).

## What is the recommended intake?

For healthy adults the commonly used recommendation is **600 to 800 IU (15 to 20 micrograms) a day**. The 2024 Endocrine Society guideline advises healthy adults under 75 to meet that recommended intake rather than take more, and does not recommend routine blood testing in healthy people. The EFSA tolerable upper intake level (2023) is **100 micrograms (4 000 IU) a day** for adults and adolescents aged 11 to 17, and 50 micrograms (2 000 IU) for children aged 1 to 10.

## Who is more likely to be low in South Africa?

South Africa is sunny, but low vitamin D still occurs in people who:

- work indoors and rarely go out between mid-morning and mid-afternoon;
- cover most of their skin, or use sunscreen consistently;
- have darker skin, which makes less vitamin D per minute of sun;
- are older adults, or have conditions affecting absorption;
- train indoors, or in winter when days are short and the sun lower, particularly in the Western Cape.

Local data are mixed. A 2024 Scientific Reports study of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers found 28.5% below 50 nmol/L, while a Stellenbosch study of healthy young Western Cape adults reported low deficiency rates. So the right dose depends on you, not on a national rule.

## What dose should you take?

| Situation | Typical approach |
|---|---|
| Healthy adult with regular sun | food and sun; supplement not needed |
| Little sun, indoor work, winter | 600 to 1 000 IU a day is a common choice |
| Taking a multivitamin | count its vitamin D (Dis-Chem Gold multivitamins list 5 micrograms, or 200 IU, per capsule) |
| Diagnosed deficiency | higher therapeutic doses chosen and monitored by your doctor |

Take it with a meal containing fat, and daily rather than in large occasional doses. Do not exceed 4 000 IU a day without medical supervision. Vitamin D does not improve performance in athletes who are not deficient.

## What does it cost?

Every product below is 1 000 IU, so price differences reflect brand, vitamin K2 and format (October 2026):

| Product | Per day |
|---|---|
| New Leaf D3 and K2, 183 tablets (R395) | R2.16 |
| Now Foods D3 and K2, 120 capsules (R276.75 to R369) | R2.31 to R3.08 |
| BEET Goodness D3 and K2, 60 tablets (R150) | R2.50 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3, 60 tablets (R160) | R2.67 |
| Neogenesis Pure D3 + K2, 60 capsules (R239) | R3.98 |
| Viridian D3 and K2, 90 capsules (R739) | R8.21 |

See [D3 with K2](/answers/vitamin-d3-with-k2-do-you-need-it/), [best vitamin D3](/answers/best-vitamin-d3-in-south-africa/) and [do South Africans need vitamin D in summer](/answers/do-south-africans-need-vitamin-d-in-summer/).

## When to see a doctor

Ask for a blood test (25-hydroxyvitamin D) if you have bone pain, fractures, malabsorption, kidney disease or repeated low-trauma injuries. Speak to your doctor before supplementing if you have kidney disease, sarcoidosis, hyperparathyroidism, or take thiazide diuretics or anticonvulsants. Chronic high doses can raise blood calcium. Pregnant women should follow their obstetrician's advice. Give children and teenagers vitamin D supplements only as advised by a clinic or doctor.

Vitamin D is not a performance booster for most athletes (AIS Group A applies when deficiency is diagnosed). For a wider look, see [best vitamins for athletes](/answers/best-vitamins-for-athletes-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Leaf D3 and K2 1000 IU 183 tablets | 183 tablets | R395 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 183 | R2.16 | not stated |
| Now Foods Vitamin D3 and K2 120 vegicaps | 120 capsules | R276.75-R369 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 120 | R2.31 | not stated |
| BEET Goodness Vitamin D3 and K2 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R150 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.50 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.67 | not stated |
| Neogenesis Pure D3 + K2 (1000 IU + 100 mcg) 60 capsules | 60 capsules | R239 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R3.98 | not stated |

## Sources

- [Endocrine Society 2024 guideline: healthy adults should take the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D](https://endocrine.org/news-and-advocacy/news-room/2024/endocrine-society-recommends-healthy-adults-take-the-recommended-daily-allowance-of-vitamin-d)
- [EFSA 2023, Scientific opinion on the tolerable upper intake level for vitamin D (EFSA Journal)](https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10407748/)
- [Vitamin D determinants of serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D in adults in the Western Cape (CANSA summary)](https://cansa.org.za/vitamin-d-determinants-of-serum-25-hydroxyvitamin-d-levels-in-adults-in-the-western-cape-province-of-south-africa/)
- [Scientific Reports 2024, vitamin D status in Eastern Cape healthcare workers (DOAJ record)](https://doaj.org/article/21eca08c898047e9a603c1318fb54fcc)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)