# How do you choose a protein powder in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-to-choose-a-protein-powder-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Choose by cost per 30 g of protein, not per tub, then by tolerance and ingredients. In South Africa in October 2026, whey blends cost about R23-R33 per 30 g protein, isolates about R38-R49, and imports about R51. Pick whey concentrate or a blend if you tolerate lactose, isolate if you do not, and always check protein per 100 g.

Key facts:
- ISSN: 1.4-2.0 g/kg/day of protein for most exercising people; about 20-40 g per serving.
- As of October 2026, NPL Platinum Whey Plus costs about R23.52 per 30 g protein, USN BlueLab about R28 and Myprotein Impact about R51.
- Morton 2018 (49 trials): protein supplements added about 0.30 kg fat-free mass on average.
- ATP Fitness does not publish protein per serving, so its cost per 30 g protein cannot be calculated.

## What is the quickest way to choose?

Work through four questions: what is my goal, what is my budget per serving, can I tolerate lactose, and what does the label really say. Protein powder is a convenience food. Muscle gain depends on total daily protein (about 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day for people who train, per the ISSN) plus resistance training, and a meta-analysis of 49 trials (Morton 2018) found supplements added only about 0.3 kg of fat-free mass on average.

## Which type suits you?

| Your situation | Best fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Tight budget, tolerate lactose | Whey blend or concentrate | Cheapest per gram of protein |
| Bloating or lactose sensitivity | Whey isolate | Typically under 1% lactose |
| Cutting calories | Isolate or high-protein blend | Lowest carbs and fat per serving |
| Dairy-free or vegan | Pea or pea-rice blend | Needs a larger serving for leucine |
| Want no sweeteners | Unflavoured or minimally flavoured | Most local whey uses sucralose |

Per gram of protein, isolate and concentrate build muscle equally well; the differences are lactose, density and price. See [whey isolate versus concentrate](/answers/whey-isolate-vs-concentrate-south-africa/).

## What does protein cost per 30 g in South Africa?

These figures use listed protein per scoop and October 2026 prices (our calculation):

| Product | Price | Approx. R per 30 g protein |
|---|---|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop) | R23.52 |
| USN BlueLab Whey 1 kg | R689 (USN shop) | about R28 |
| Evox 100% Whey Advanced 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | about R31 |
| NPL Platinum Whey 908 g | R700 (NPL shop) | about R33 |
| USN Isozero Isolate 805 g | R899 (USN shop) | about R38.50 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | about R51 |

ATP Fitness Whey Protein Concentrate (1 kg, R800-R850) and Isolate (800 g, R900-R1 050) cannot be ranked on this measure because ATP does not publish protein per serving. Per 100 g of powder, ATP is R80-R85 for concentrate and R112.50-R131.25 for isolate. The trade-off is clear: you pay more for a minimal, sweetener-free ingredient list, with no published serving data or third-party certification. Alternatives with published scoops are USN BlueLab and NPL Platinum Whey Plus.

## How do you read the label?

- **Protein per 100 g.** Isolate is typically 85-90 g, concentrate 70-80 g. A "whey" tub far below that deserves questions.
- **Ingredient list.** Look for added free amino acids (glycine, taurine), a sign of amino spiking.
- **Sweeteners.** Sucralose is common in NPL, Primal, Biogen Complete Whey and Myprotein; unflavoured tubs avoid it.
- **Honesty of the numbers.** A University of Pretoria study of 70 SA products found protein differed significantly from the label in 68.6%.

Our guide to [reading a supplement label](/answers/how-to-read-a-supplement-label-south-africa/) walks through this step by step, and [amino spiking](/answers/what-is-amino-spiking-whey-south-africa/) explains the tricks.

## How much do you need?

About 20-40 g of protein per serving (0.25-0.4 g/kg per meal). One scoop a day is enough for most people who struggle to hit targets from food. If you are under 18, pregnant or have kidney disease, speak to a doctor or dietitian first.

## Where do you go next?

Compare brands in our [best whey protein](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/), [best whey isolate](/best/best-whey-isolate-south-africa/) and [best clean label protein](/best/best-clean-label-protein-south-africa/) guides, or read [is protein powder necessary](/answers/is-protein-powder-necessary-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R112.50 | None |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Morton et al. (2018) Protein supplementation and resistance-training-induced gains: systematic review, meta-analysis and meta-regression. BJSM](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/6/376)
- [Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)](https://repository.up.ac.za/handle/2263/74902)
- [NPL: Platinum Whey Plus product page (October 2026)](https://www.npl.za.com/products/platinum-whey-plus)