# Is ATP Fitness micronised creatine any good in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-atp-fitness-creatine-good-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Yes, ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate is a sound choice if you want a plain, single-ingredient creatine: 200-mesh micronised monohydrate at R500 for 600 g, or R4.17 per 5 g (October 2026). It is not the cheapest in South Africa, and ATP publishes no third-party sport certification, which matters if you are drug-tested.

Key facts:
- ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is a single ingredient (200-mesh creatine monohydrate): R500 for 600 g, R270 for 250 g (October 2026).
- That is R4.17 per 5 g at 600 g and R5.40 per 5 g at 250 g.
- At 600 g it undercuts Biogen 500 g (R4.45), USN 300 g (about R4.98) and Myprotein 500 g (R5.55), but not Nutritech or Sport RX.
- ATP publishes no third-party sport certification; Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport (seller claim).

## What is ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine?

It is creatine monohydrate and nothing else: no sweeteners, no flavouring, no fillers, sold unflavoured in HDPE tubs. ATP lists it as 200-mesh micronised. ATP Fitness is a South African supplement brand based in Cape Town, established in April 2024, selling through shop.atpfit.co.za, Takealot, Amazon and gyms or wholesale. Creatine monohydrate is the most studied sports supplement and an AIS Group A performance supplement, with an ISSN maintenance dose of 3-5 g a day.

## How does the price compare?

| Product (October 2026) | Pack and price | R per 5 g |
|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised | 600 g, R500 | R4.17 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised | 250 g, R270 | R5.40 |
| Nutritech | 500 g, R249.95 to R399 | R2.50 to R3.99 |
| Sport RX | 500 g, R389 | R3.89 |
| Biogen Unflavoured | 500 g, R444.99 | R4.45 |
| USN Pure | 300 g, R279 to R299 | about R4.98 |
| NPL | 500 g, R539.99 (Dis-Chem) | R5.40 |
| Myprotein | 500 g, R554.99 (Dis-Chem) | R5.55 |
| Foundation Creapure | 400 g, R499.95 | R6.25 |

At the 600 g size ATP is cheaper per dose than Biogen, USN, NPL, Myprotein and Foundation at their Dis-Chem or brand-shop prices, but dearer than Nutritech, Sport RX and Sally-Ann Creed. A Takealot listing titled "Micronised Creatine Monohydrate 600 G" under brand "ATP" appeared at R379 in an undated PriceCheck snapshot, but we could not confirm it is ATP Fitness, so we have not used it. A 600 g tub is 120 doses of 5 g, about four months.

## What are the strengths?

- **Single ingredient, nothing to avoid.** No sweeteners or flavour system.
- **Micronised (200-mesh)** powder dissolves more easily than coarse monohydrate, though it does not change the muscle effect; see [micronised vs regular creatine](/answers/micronised-vs-regular-creatine-south-africa/).
- **Competitive 600 g price** against the big-name shelf brands.

## What are the trade-offs?

- **No published third-party certification.** If you are tested by SAIDS or a sports federation, strict liability applies to anything you take. Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport (a seller claim to verify on the register), which makes it the better fit for drug-tested athletes; read [what Informed Sport means](/answers/what-is-informed-sport-certification-south-africa/).
- **Young brand** and a smaller retail footprint than USN, Biogen or Evox.
- **Unflavoured only:** it is tasteless, but gritty in cold water until stirred well.
- **The 250 g tub is about 30% dearer per dose** than the 600 g.
- ATP does not publish a serving size in the sources we checked, so weigh your first scoop.

## Who is it for?

Gym-goers, lifters and team-sport players who want plain monohydrate and are not drug-tested. Not ideal for: elite athletes who need a batch-tested product, or shoppers hunting the absolute lowest price per dose.

See the [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) and [how much creatine to take per day](/answers/how-much-creatine-per-day/). Brand page: [ATP Fitness](/brands/atp-fitness/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 250 g | R270 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)
- [Informed Sport (LGC) FAQ](https://sport.wetestyoutrust.com/about/frequently-asked-questions)
- [SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check](https://drugfreesport.org.za/faq/)