# Is MyProtein available in South Africa and is it worth importing?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-myprotein-available-in-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Yes, Myprotein products are sold in South Africa through Dis-Chem, which lists Impact Whey 1 kg at R1 300, Creatine Monohydrate 500 g at R555 and Layered Protein Bars at R63.99 (October 2026). We could not verify whether myprotein.co.za ships direct. Importing rarely pays: Impact Whey costs about R51 per 30 g of protein against R23–R33 for local blends.

Key facts:
- Myprotein is sold in South Africa via Dis-Chem: Impact Whey 1 kg R1 299.99, Creatine 500 g R555, Layered Bar R63.99 (October 2026).
- Myprotein Impact Whey works out at about R51 per 30 g protein, against R23.50–R33 for NPL and USN blends.
- To match USN BlueLab per 30 g protein, a 1 kg Impact Whey would need to land at about R716 all-in (our calculation).
- Whether myprotein.co.za ships direct to South Africa was not verified.

## Is Myprotein available in South Africa?

Yes. Myprotein, a UK brand, is stocked by Dis-Chem (through its Dis-Chem Living Fit online store) and appears on Takealot. In October 2026 Dis-Chem listed Impact Whey 1 kg at R1 299.99, Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g at R555 and the Layered Protein Bar 60 g at R63.99. Whether myprotein.co.za itself ships to South Africa, and at what delivery cost and time, we could not verify: the site blocks automated checks, so that information is not published here.

## How does Myprotein compare with local brands?

| Product | Myprotein (Dis-Chem) | Local comparison | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whey, per 30 g protein | Impact Whey 1 kg R1 300: 23 g protein per 30 g, about R51 | NPL Platinum Whey Plus about R23.50; USN BlueLab about R28; NPL Platinum Whey about R33 | local is 35–55% cheaper |
| Creatine, per 5 g | 500 g R555: R5.55 | Pure Natural Options 500 g R222: R2.22; ATP Fitness 600 g R500: R4.17; Nutritech 300 g R250: R4.17 | local is cheaper |
| Protein bar, per 20 g protein | Layered Bar R63.99 for 20 g | NPL 21 bar R41.99 for 21 g (about R40 per 20 g) | local is cheaper |

Impact Whey is a concentrate (the ingredients list whey protein concentrate at 96%), sweetened with sucralose, with two flavours on Dis-Chem's page. The page states Informed Choice certification; we did not check the certifier's register. The Layered Bar is not suitable for vegetarians because it contains beef gelatine.

## Is it worth importing from the UK?

Probably not for whey. The Dis-Chem price already includes the importer's freight, 15% VAT and duty. Buying direct would add international shipping, VAT and customs duty. We could not verify a duty rate for whey because it depends on tariff classification. SARS also put VAT on the former sub-R500 parcel concession from September 2024 and caps private imports at R150 000 a year (Evetech summary). Dairy goods can also need permits when imported commercially ([can you import supplements](/answers/can-i-import-supplements-into-south-africa/)).

Here is a break-even: for a 1 kg Impact Whey to match USN BlueLab per 30 g of protein, it would need to land at about R716 all-in, roughly 45% below the Dis-Chem price. A UK sale plus shipping, VAT and duty will rarely achieve that. Marketplace sites such as Desertcart say their listed prices include shipping, duties and clearance, with 3–9 business days delivery, but we found no verified Rand price for a Myprotein whey there.

## When does Myprotein make sense?

When you want a flavour or product that local brands do not offer, or you find a promotion at a local retailer. Check the batch and best-before date, and be careful with parcels left in summer heat. For heavy training, local value picks are in the [best whey protein](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/) and [best creatine](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) rankings. See also [imported vs local whey](/answers/imported-vs-local-whey-south-africa/), [local vs imported supplements](/answers/local-vs-imported-supplements-south-africa/), and the [Myprotein brand page](/brands/myprotein/). Consult a doctor or dietitian first if you have a milk allergy or kidney disease.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R50.87 | R130.00 | — | sucralose |
| Myprotein Creatine Monohydrate Powder Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R555 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | — | R5.55 | not stated |
| Myprotein Layered Protein Bar (60 g) | 60 g | R63.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 1 | R95.98 | R106.65 | — | maltitol (main), chicory fibre, oligofructose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | — | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | — | sucralose |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | — | R2.22 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/myprotein-impact-whey-protein-powder-1kg/)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Myprotein Layered Protein Bar 60 g](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/myprotein-layered-protein-bar-60g/)
- [ASC Food Safety: Importing into South Africa](https://ascfoodsafety.com/importing-into-south-africa/)
- [Evetech (2026): Low-value parcel rules 2026 — what changed for SA shoppers](https://evezone.evetech.co.za/quick-bytes/low-value-parcel-rules-2026-changed-sa-shoppers)
- [Mondaq (2026): 2026 Budget analysis and commentary — VAT](https://www.mondaq.com/southafrica/sales-taxes-vat-gst/1752652/2026-budget-analysis-and-commentary)