# Is sunshine enough for vitamin D in Cape Town?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-vitamin-d-from-sun-enough-cape-town-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> In summer, usually yes if you spend time outdoors with some skin exposed, but in Cape Town's winter many people make little vitamin D. Cape Town lies at about 34 degrees south, so winter sun is low, days are short and people cover up. Indoor workers, older adults and people with darker skin are most likely to fall short and may want a supplement or a test.

Key facts:
- Cape Town lies at roughly 34 degrees south, so mid-winter sun is lower and days are shorter.
- NIH: season, cloud, skin pigmentation and SPF 8 or higher sunscreen all reduce vitamin D synthesis, and window glass blocks UVB.
- A 2024 study found 28.5% of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers below 50 nmol/L.
- The EFSA upper level for adults is 4 000 IU (100 µg) a day; a 1 000 IU tablet costs R2.16 to R3.98 a day as of October 2026.

## Why is winter in Cape Town different?

Vitamin D is made in the skin when UVB light strikes it. The NIH lists what limits that process: season, time of day, day length, cloud cover, smog, skin pigmentation and sunscreen. Cape Town sits at roughly 34 degrees south. In mid-winter the midday sun is lower, days are shorter, and the Western Cape's wet, cloudy weather and cold clothing reduce exposure further. In summer the situation is reversed, with strong UV and long days.

We did not find a Cape Town-specific measurement of winter vitamin D synthesis, so the seasonal effect described here is the general physics of UVB, not a local trial.

## What do South African studies show?

- A CANSA-funded study of healthy young Western Cape adults reported low rates of deficiency, which suggests many young, active people there do well.
- A 2024 study of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers found 28.5% below 50 nmol/L, which shows that people with indoor jobs can be low.

Neither tells you your own level. See [do South Africans need vitamin D in summer?](/answers/do-south-africans-need-vitamin-d-in-summer/) for the summer picture.

## Who is most at risk in Cape Town?

| Group | Why |
|---|---|
| Indoor workers and shift workers | Little midday daylight in any season |
| Older adults | Skin makes less vitamin D with age; RDA is 800 IU after 70 |
| People with darker skin | More melanin means slower synthesis |
| People who cover most skin or use daily sunscreen | SPF 8 or higher appears to block vitamin D-producing UVB |
| Indoor-gym athletes training before dawn or after dark | Almost no UVB |

Window glass blocks UVB, so a sunny office desk does not count.

## How much should you take, if you decide to?

The US recommended daily intake is 600 IU (15 µg), or 800 IU after age 70. The Endocrine Society's 2024 guideline advises healthy adults under 75 to meet that intake and not to take higher doses without a reason, nor to test routinely. A 1 000 IU daily tablet is a common, low-cost choice. As of October 2026 the price is R2.16 to R3.98 a day (R2.67 for Dis-Chem Gold). The EFSA upper limit for adults is 4 000 IU (100 µg) a day.

## Should you test in winter?

Consider a test if you have risk factors, a bone condition, or symptoms your doctor links to low vitamin D. Levels below 30 nmol/L are associated with deficiency and 50 nmol/L or more is generally adequate (NIH). For what testing costs, see [vitamin D testing in South Africa](/answers/vitamin-d-testing-south-africa-cost/).

## What is the practical plan?

1. In summer, short, sensible outdoor time is fine; do not seek burns, because skin cancer risk in South Africa is real.
2. In winter, if you are in a risk group, take 600 to 1 000 IU daily with a meal containing fat.
3. If you have kidney disease, take thiazide diuretics or have a bone disease, speak to your doctor before starting.

Compare brands in [the best vitamin D3 in South Africa](/answers/best-vitamin-d3-in-south-africa/) and dosing in [how much vitamin D to take](/answers/how-much-vitamin-d-should-i-take-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.67 | not stated |
| Now Foods Vitamin D3 and K2 120 vegicaps | 120 capsules | R276.75-R369 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 120 | R2.31 | not stated |
| BEET Goodness Vitamin D3 and K2 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R150 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.50 | not stated |

## Sources

- [NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Vitamin D, health professional fact sheet](https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/VitaminD-HealthProfessional/)
- [Scientific Reports 2024: vitamin D status in Eastern Cape healthcare workers (DOAJ record)](https://doaj.org/article/21eca08c898047e9a603c1318fb54fcc)
- [CANSA: Vitamin D, determinants of serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D levels in adults in the Western Cape (S Afr Fam Pract, 2019)](https://cansa.org.za/vitamin-d-determinants-of-serum-25-hydroxyvitamin-d-levels-in-adults-in-the-western-cape-province-of-south-africa/)
- [Endocrine Society 2024 guideline press release: healthy adults should take the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D](https://endocrine.org/news-and-advocacy/news-room/2024/endocrine-society-recommends-healthy-adults-take-the-recommended-daily-allowance-of-vitamin-d)
- [EFSA 2023, Scientific opinion on the tolerable upper intake level for vitamin D (EFSA Journal)](https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10407748/)