# Does pre-workout raise blood pressure?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/pre-workout-and-blood-pressure/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Yes, temporarily. The caffeine in most pre-workouts (about 150–300 mg per serving) raises blood pressure for several hours; in a meta-analysis of trials using 200–300 mg, systolic pressure rose by about 8 mmHg within an hour in hypertensive people. If you have high blood pressure, a heart-rhythm problem or take blood-pressure medication in South Africa, speak to your doctor before using one.

Key facts:
- 200–300 mg of caffeine raised systolic pressure about 8 mmHg and diastolic about 6 mmHg in hypertensive people (Mesas 2011 meta-analysis), lasting 3 hours or more.
- ISSN: 3–6 mg/kg caffeine is the studied range; around 9 mg/kg adds side effects without extra benefit.
- Published South African pre-workout caffeine figures range from 150 mg (Biogen Premium, USN XTS Hyperdrive) to 300 mg (USN Qhush Platinum Black, global page only; SA tub unconfirmed).
- Citrulline can add to the effects of nitrates, PDE5 inhibitors and blood-pressure medicines.

## Does pre-workout raise blood pressure?

Yes, briefly. Caffeine blocks adenosine receptors and stimulates the sympathetic nervous system, which lifts heart rate and blood pressure. A 2011 meta-analysis (Mesas et al.) of trials in **hypertensive** people found, pooling five trials, that 200–300 mg of caffeine raised systolic pressure by about 8 mmHg and diastolic by about 6 mmHg. The rise appeared within an hour and lasted at least three hours. Healthy people may see a smaller bump, and exercise itself raises pressure too.

## How much caffeine is in South African pre-workouts?

Many sellers do not publish it. As of October 2026 the figures we could find were:

| Product | Published caffeine |
|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout | 150 mg per serving (Biogen article) |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive | 150 mg headline figure; serving basis not stated |
| Cellucor C4 Original | 200 mg per scoop (US brand page) |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black | 300 mg per serving on USN's global page; not confirmed for the South African tub |
| NPL Blackout, Evox Alpha Surge, Biogen Rampage | Caffeine listed, mg not published |

A 2026 *South African Medical Journal* letter from UCT clinical pharmacologists raises concern about caffeine-containing pre-workouts, which is one more reason to know your number.

## What else in a pre-workout affects blood pressure?

- **Citrulline malate** can add to the pressure-lowering effect of nitrates, PDE5 inhibitors such as sildenafil, and antihypertensives. This is relevant if you take those medicines. Details in [citrulline malate dose for pumps](/answers/citrulline-malate-dose-for-pumps/).
- **Other stimulants** such as synephrine (bitter orange) and DMAA are classed by the AIS as high-risk, Group D ingredients. See [is DMAA banned in South Africa](/answers/is-dmaa-banned-in-south-africa/).
- **Stacking**: coffee, energy drinks and fat burners add to the same load.

## How can you lower the risk?

1. Pick a product that prints caffeine in mg, and keep the total near 3 mg/kg (210 mg for 70 kg) rather than 6.
2. Start with half a scoop. The Dis-Chem page for Biogen Rage Rampage suggests this for stimulant-sensitive users.
3. Avoid taking it within about six hours of bed; see [pre-workout and sleep](/answers/pre-workout-and-sleep/).
4. Use a stimulant-free product if you are sensitive, such as USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free.

## When should you see a doctor?

Do not use a stimulant pre-workout without medical advice if you have hypertension, a heart-rhythm problem, kidney disease or an anxiety disorder, take regular medication, or are pregnant. Under-18s should avoid high-dose stimulant products. Stop and seek help for chest pain, a racing or irregular heartbeat, severe headache or fainting. Pre-workout is a performance product, not a treatment, and it does not replace blood-pressure care.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | not stated |
| USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g | 234 g | R309.95-R349.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g | 195 g | R699-R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R25.10 | Sucralose and acesulfame potassium |

## Sources

- [Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [Mesas AE et al. (2011) The effect of coffee on blood pressure and cardiovascular disease in hypertensive individuals: systematic review and meta-analysis. Am J Clin Nutr](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/21880846/)
- [Gough LA et al. (2021) A critical review of citrulline malate supplementation and exercise performance. Eur J Appl Physiol](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8571142/)
- [SAMJ (2026) correspondence from UCT clinical pharmacology on caffeine-containing pre-workout supplements](https://samajournals.co.za/index.php/samj/article/view/5186)