# Pre-workout vs coffee: which is better in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/pre-workout-vs-coffee-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> For the caffeine, coffee wins on cost and simplicity: a brewed cup has about 95 mg, against about 150–300 mg in a pre-workout scoop where brands publish it. Pre-workouts add citrulline, beta-alanine and creatine, but often at doses below what studies use. If you want those extras, buy them as single ingredients and take your caffeine as coffee or a capsule.

Key facts:
- Brewed coffee has about 95 mg of caffeine a cup; a pre-workout scoop has 150–300 mg where published.
- ISSN: 3–6 mg/kg of caffeine about 60 minutes before exercise improves performance, from any source.
- Ultra Caffeine 200 mg capsules cost R3.32 each; pre-workout servings cost about R5.40–R30 (October 2026).
- Biogen Premium contains 4 g of citrulline malate, below the 6–8 g used in studies.
- Beta-alanine needs daily dosing of 4–6 g over weeks; a single pre-workout dose does not work acutely.

## Is pre-workout better than coffee?

Not for the thing that works fastest. The ergogenic effect in most pre-workouts is caffeine, and caffeine from coffee does the same job. The ISSN position stand supports 3–6 mg of caffeine per kg of body weight about 60 minutes before exercise, whatever the source. For a 70 kg person that is 210–420 mg: two to four cups of brewed coffee (about 95 mg each, per Harvard's Nutrition Source) or one to two scoops of a pre-workout.

## How do the caffeine amounts compare?

| Source | Caffeine | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Brewed coffee, one cup | about 95 mg | Strength varies widely |
| Instant coffee, one cup | about 60 mg | |
| Espresso shot (about 45 ml) | about 65 mg | |
| Biogen Premium, one scoop | 150 mg | Published by Biogen |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive, one scoop | 150 mg | Serving basis not stated |
| Cellucor C4, one scoop | 200 mg | US page, not the SA label |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black | 300 mg | Global page, not the SA label |
| Ultra Caffeine capsule | 200 mg | R3.32 each |

## What do the "extras" in pre-workout actually do?

- **Citrulline malate:** studied at 6–8 g. Biogen Premium has 4 g, below that range. Evidence is emerging and effects are small.
- **Beta-alanine:** works through daily loading of 4–6 g, not a one-off pre-workout hit. Doses of 2 to 3.5 g in a tub help only if you take it every day, and the tingle is not a sign it is working.
- **Creatine:** 3 g in a pre-workout counts towards your daily 3–5 g, but you can buy it for about R4 a dose.
- **BCAAs, glutamine, taurine, nootropic botanicals:** little or no benefit for people who eat enough protein; the AIS does not advocate BCAAs.
- **Sweeteners and flavours:** most tubs use sucralose or acesulfame-K.

## What does each cost?

A pre-workout serving costs from about R5.40 to R30, depending on brand (USN XTS Hyperdrive to Optimum Gold Standard, October 2026). A caffeine capsule is R3.32 for 200 mg. A home coffee costs a fraction of a pre-workout scoop, though a barista-made one may cost more; use your own till slip. For the addition of other ingredients:

- Citrulline malate: from R4.78 per 6 g (My Whey) to R6.72 (ATP Fitness)
- Creatine: from R2.22 to R5.55 per 5 g

## Which should you choose?

1. **Mostly want energy:** coffee or a caffeine capsule. Cheap, flexible, easy to dose.
2. **Want a pump and high-rep support:** coffee plus citrulline and, daily, beta-alanine and creatine as singles. ATP Fitness sells all three pure with no sweeteners, though My Whey is cheaper on citrulline and beta-alanine, and ATP does not publish sport certification.
3. **Value convenience:** a transparent pre-workout such as Biogen Premium, which discloses every dose.
4. **Sensitive to caffeine or training late:** a stimulant-free option. See [stimulant-free pre-workouts](/answers/best-stimulant-free-pre-workout-south-africa/).

## Do not stack everything

A scoop plus two coffees can push you past 400 mg, the daily level EFSA treats as safe for healthy adults. Count all sources and stop 8–10 hours before bed; see [how much caffeine is in pre-workout](/answers/how-much-caffeine-in-pre-workout-south-africa/) and [pre-workout and sleep](/answers/pre-workout-and-sleep/).

## Who should skip both?

Under-18s, pregnant women (200 mg a day cap), and people with heart rhythm problems, hypertension or anxiety disorders should speak to a doctor first. Compare options in our [best pre-workout in South Africa](/best/best-pre-workout-south-africa/) guide.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | R per 6 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules) | 60 capsules | R199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10) | 60 | R3.32 | — | Not published |
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | — | not stated |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate | 250 g | R280 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R6.72 | None |
| My Whey Pure Citrulline Malate 2:1 Powder 250 g | 250 g | R199 (Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | R4.78 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health: Caffeine, The Nutrition Source](https://nutritionsource.hsph.harvard.edu/caffeine/)
- [NutraIngredients (Apr 2015): EFSA adopts caffeine opinion](https://www.nutraingredients.com/Article/2015/04/28/efsa-adopts-caffeine-opinion)
- [Gough LA et al. (2021) A critical review of citrulline malate supplementation and exercise performance. Eur J Appl Physiol](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8571142/)
- [Trexler ET et al. (2015) ISSN position stand: beta-alanine. JISSN](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4501114/)
- [EFSA (2015): Scientific opinion on the safety of caffeine, topic page](https://www.efsa.europa.eu/en/topics/topic/caffeine)