# Which supplements help CrossFit athletes in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/supplements-for-crossfit-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> CrossFit athletes get the most from creatine monohydrate (3 to 5 g a day), enough protein (1.4 to 2.0 g per kg a day), caffeine (3 to 6 mg per kg before training) and, for efforts of one to four minutes, beta-alanine (4 to 6 g a day). In South Africa, creatine costs roughly R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g (October 2026).

Key facts:
- Group A supplements for CrossFit are creatine (3 to 5 g/day), caffeine (3 to 6 mg/kg), beta-alanine (4 to 6 g/day) and protein (1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day).
- Creatine monohydrate costs roughly R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g in South Africa; ATP Fitness is R4.17 and Biogen R4.45 (October 2026).
- A daily 4 to 6 g of beta-alanine costs about R3.12 to R4.68 with USN and R5.20 to R7.80 with ATP Fitness (October 2026).
- Published pre-workout caffeine doses range 150 to 300 mg; many South African products do not state the milligrams.

## What has evidence for CrossFit-style training?

CrossFit mixes heavy lifting, gymnastics and 1 to 20 minute conditioning pieces. The Australian Institute of Sport's Group A (strong evidence) covers the supplements that match those demands:

| Supplement | Dose | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Creatine monohydrate | 3 to 5 g/day (ISSN) | strength, repeated sprints, lean mass |
| Protein | 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day | recovery from high training volume |
| Caffeine | 3 to 6 mg/kg, about 60 minutes before | power, endurance, perceived effort |
| Beta-alanine | 4 to 6 g/day, doses of 2 g or less | efforts of about 1 to 4 minutes |
| Sodium bicarbonate | 0.2 to 0.3 g/kg, 60 to 180 minutes before | 30 seconds to 12 minutes; high GI risk |

Citrulline malate (6 to 8 g about an hour before) has emerging, mixed evidence. Magnesium and BCAAs sit in the AIS's "not advocated" Group C.

## What does it cost in South Africa?

October 2026 prices:

- **Creatine monohydrate:** from R2.22 per 5 g (Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 at Knysna Health via PriceCheck) to R6.25 (Foundation Creapure, 400 g, R500). [ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine](/brands/atp-fitness/) 600 g costs R500, or R4.17 per 5 g; Biogen 500 g costs R445, or R4.45 per 5 g. ATP is a single-ingredient, young brand with no published third-party certification; Biogen's page claims Informed Sport (seller claim, unverified). See [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/).
- **Beta-alanine:** USN 205 g R160 (about R3.12 to R4.68 for a 4 to 6 g day), Biogen 250 g R220 (about R3.52 to R5.28), ATP Fitness 200 g R260 (about R5.20 to R7.80). ATP is the dearest per dose of these three; the product is pure with no additives. See [best beta-alanine](/best/best-beta-alanine-south-africa/).
- **Caffeine:** Ultra Caffeine 200 mg capsules, 60 for R199 on Takealot via PriceCheck (about R3.32 each).

## What about pre-workouts?

Most CrossFitters reach for a pre-workout, but the label often hides the dose. Published caffeine figures are 150 mg (Biogen Premium, USN XTS Hyperdrive), 200 mg (Cellucor C4) and 300 mg (USN Qhush Platinum Black, global page); many South African products give no milligrams. SAIDS singles out stimulant pre-workouts and fat burners as higher-risk categories for contamination, and athletes are strictly liable under the WADA code. If you compete in tested events, avoid proprietary blends and use single ingredients from batch-tested sources. See [best pre-workout](/best/best-pre-workout-south-africa/).

## How do you structure it?

1. Take **creatine** daily at any time; no loading is needed ([how much creatine per day](/answers/how-much-creatine-per-day/)).
2. Add **beta-alanine** in split doses ([how much beta-alanine per day](/answers/how-much-beta-alanine-per-day/)); tingling (paraesthesia) is harmless but annoying above about 800 mg in one go.
3. Use **caffeine** before your hardest sessions, not daily; sleep matters more.
4. Hit your protein with food first, then whey. See [creatine and caffeine](/answers/can-you-take-creatine-with-caffeine-coffee/).

## Safety

Creatine: speak to a doctor if you have kidney disease or take regular medication, and tell them you take it, as it raises creatinine. Caffeine: avoid in pregnancy beyond limited intake, with heart-rhythm problems, hypertension or anxiety. Under-18s should follow a food-first approach. Bicarbonate is high in sodium and causes bloating; trial it in training only.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 3.2 g | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | — | — | None (unflavoured) |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | not stated |
| USN Beta-Alanine 205 g | 205 g | R160 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R2.50 | — | Not stated (flavoured variants Cola, Apple) |
| ATP Fitness Beta-Alanine | 200 g | R260 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R4.16 | — | None |
| Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules) | 60 capsules | R199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10) | 60 | — | — | R3.32 | Not published |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Guest et al. 2021, ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance (JISSN)](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [ISSN position stand: beta-alanine (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4501114/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)
- [SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability](https://drugfreesport.org.za/faq/)