# Which supplements help powerlifters in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/supplements-for-powerlifting-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> For powerlifting, creatine monohydrate (3 to 5 g a day) is the best-supported supplement, followed by enough protein (1.4 to 2.0 g per kg a day) and caffeine (3 to 6 mg per kg) on competition day. Creatine costs roughly R67 to R134 a month in South Africa (October 2026). Check your federation's drug-testing rules before taking any product.

Key facts:
- Creatine monohydrate at 3 to 5 g/day is the best-supported supplement for strength (ISSN); caffeine at 3 to 6 mg/kg adds small maximal-strength gains of about 2 to 7%.
- At 5 g a day, creatine costs roughly R67 a month (Pure Natural Options) to R134 (Biogen); ATP Fitness is about R125 (October 2026).
- Creatine causes about 1 to 2 kg of water gain in the first weeks, which matters for weight classes.
- Athletes are strictly liable for banned substances in any supplement; SAIDS does not certify products.

## What has strong evidence for strength sports?

Powerlifting is maximal strength in three lifts, so the list is short. All of these sit in the Australian Institute of Sport's Group A (strong evidence) or protein basics:

| Supplement | Dose | What it does |
|---|---|---|
| Creatine monohydrate | 3 to 5 g/day (ISSN) | supports strength, power and lean mass |
| Protein | 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day; about 0.25 g/kg per dose | muscle repair and growth |
| Caffeine | 3 to 6 mg/kg, about 60 minutes before | small gains in maximal strength (about 2 to 7%) |

Beta-alanine matters little for one-rep efforts (it helps 1 to 4 minute efforts), and citrulline evidence is emerging and mixed.

## How much does creatine cost per month?

At 5 g a day you use about 150 g a month. Using October 2026 tub prices:

| Tub | Per 5 g | About per month |
|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health) | R2.22 | R67 |
| Nutritech 500 g, R249.95 to R399 | R2.50 to R3.99 | R75 to R120 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised, 600 g, R500 | R4.17 | R125 |
| Biogen 500 g, R445 | R4.45 | R134 |

ATP Fitness is single-ingredient micronised creatine; the trade-offs are a young brand (2024) and no published third-party certification, while Biogen's listing claims Informed Sport (unverified). If you are tested, treat certification as a priority. See [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) and [how much creatine per day](/answers/how-much-creatine-per-day/).

## What about weigh-ins and weight classes?

Creatine draws about 1 to 2 kg of water into muscle in the first weeks. If you compete in a tight class, start well before a meet and learn your own response. Do not use diuretics, saunas or severe fluid restriction to cut weight; it can be dangerous and impairs strength.

## How do you use caffeine on meet day?

Take 3 to 6 mg/kg about an hour before your first lift; an 80 kg lifter takes 240 to 480 mg. Do not exceed this, since around 9 mg/kg adds side effects without benefit. A small top-up before deadlifts is common. Use a measured source, such as 200 mg capsules (Ultra Caffeine, R199 for 60 on Takealot via PriceCheck, about R3.32 each); never use pure caffeine powder. Test in training. See [can you take creatine with caffeine](/answers/can-you-take-creatine-with-caffeine-coffee/).

## What about drug testing?

Many powerlifting federations and meets are drug tested. Under the World Anti-Doping Code, adopted in South Africa through SAIDS, you are strictly liable for what is in your body, and SAIDS flags muscle-building and testosterone-booster products as highest risk. Avoid prohormones, SARMs and proprietary blends, and look for batch-tested products ([can creatine cause a failed drug test](/answers/can-creatine-cause-a-failed-drug-test-south-africa/)).

## Who should check with a professional?

Kidney disease, medication that affects the kidneys, pregnancy and under-18s should speak to a doctor or registered dietitian first. Creatine can raise blood creatinine, so tell your doctor you take it.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | — | None (unflavoured) |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | — | not stated |
| Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules) | 60 capsules | R199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10) | 60 | — | R3.32 | Not published |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Guest et al. 2021, ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance (JISSN)](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [Jäger et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: protein and exercise (JISSN)](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability](https://drugfreesport.org.za/faq/)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)