# Do people over 60 need vitamin D and B12 supplements in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/vitamin-d-and-b12-over-60-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Many South Africans over 60 benefit from checking vitamin D and B12 rather than supplementing blindly. B12 absorption from food falls with age, stomach-acid medicines and metformin, while vitamin D depends on sun exposure and mobility. Typical intakes are 600–800 IU of vitamin D and about 2.4 mcg of B12; deficiency should be confirmed by a blood test and treated by a doctor.

Key facts:
- Typical vitamin D intake for adults is 600–800 IU a day; the EFSA upper limit is 4 000 IU (100 mcg) a day.
- Endocrine Society 2024: healthy adults under 75 need no extra vitamin D beyond recommended intake and no routine testing.
- B12 absorption from food falls with age, acid-reducing medicines and metformin; crystalline B12 supplements do not need stomach acid.
- A 2024 study of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers found 28.5% below 50 nmol/L vitamin D.
- Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1 000 IU costs R2.67 a day (R160 for 60, Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026).

## Do people over 60 need vitamin D and B12 supplements?

Some do, many do not, and a blood test settles it. Both nutrients are affected by ageing, but sunny South Africa does not rule out low vitamin D, and a mixed diet does not rule out low B12.

## What about vitamin D?

Skin makes less vitamin D with age, and older adults who spend time indoors, cover up or are housebound are at higher risk. Usual intakes are **600–800 IU a day**. The EFSA upper limit for adults is 4 000 IU (100 mcg) a day. The Endocrine Society's 2024 guideline advises that healthy adults under 75 do not need extra vitamin D beyond the recommended intake and no routine testing, but suggests vitamin D above the standard recommended intake for people aged 75 and over, without setting a specific dose.

South African data are mixed. A 2024 study of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers found 28.5% below 50 nmol/L, while a Stellenbosch study of healthy young Western Cape adults found low deficiency prevalence. Do not assume either result applies to you.

## What about B12?

B12 in food is bound to protein and released by stomach acid. With age, acid production often falls (atrophic gastritis), and long-term acid-reducing medicines or **metformin** can lower B12 further. Vegans need a reliable source. Low B12 can cause anaemia and nerve problems, so ask your doctor about testing if you have fatigue, tingling or memory problems. Treatment of a confirmed deficiency (sometimes injections) is medical. Crystalline B12 in supplements does not need stomach acid, which is why it works for many older adults.

## Which products are available in South Africa?

October 2026 prices:

| Product | Price (retailer) | Per day | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1 000 IU, 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R2.67 | D only |
| Now Foods D3 and K2, 120 capsules | R276.75–R369 (Faithful to Nature) | R2.31 at the special | contains vitamin K |
| BEET Goodness D3 and K2, 60 tablets | R150 (Faithful to Nature) | R2.50 | contains vitamin K |
| Viridian High Five multivitamin, 90 capsules | R675 (Faithful to Nature) | R7.50 | 400 IU D, 50 mcg B12, 1 mg iron |
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin Supreme Active, 60 softgels | R200 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R3.33 | 200 IU D, 10 mcg B12, 10 mg iron |

**Warfarin caution:** D3-plus-K2 products and many multivitamins contain vitamin K, which interacts with warfarin. Ask your doctor or pharmacist; see [supplement-drug interactions](/answers/supplement-drug-interactions-for-older-adults-south-africa/).

## How should you decide?

1. Ask your doctor whether to test 25-hydroxy vitamin D and B12 (cost varies; see [vitamin D testing cost](/answers/vitamin-d-testing-south-africa-cost/)).
2. If you are low or at higher risk, use a single-nutrient product at a dose your clinician recommends.
3. Do not exceed the upper limit; vitamin D toxicity from chronic excess is possible.
4. Compare multivitamins in our [multivitamin comparison](/best/best-multivitamin-south-africa/).

Read [how much vitamin D should I take](/answers/how-much-vitamin-d-should-i-take-south-africa/) for adult dosing. See a doctor before supplementing if you have kidney disease, sarcoidosis, hyperparathyroidism or take thiazide diuretics. This is general information, not personal medical advice.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.67 | not stated |
| Now Foods Vitamin D3 and K2 120 vegicaps | 120 capsules | R276.75-R369 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 120 | R2.31 | not stated |
| BEET Goodness Vitamin D3 and K2 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R150 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.50 | not stated |
| Viridian High Five Multivitamin and Mineral 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R675 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 90 | R7.50 | none |
| Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin Supreme Active 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R200 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R3.33 | glycerol (132 mg sugar source per capsule) |

## Sources

- [Endocrine Society 2024 guideline press release: healthy adults should take the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D](https://endocrine.org/news-and-advocacy/news-room/2024/endocrine-society-recommends-healthy-adults-take-the-recommended-daily-allowance-of-vitamin-d)
- [EFSA 2023, Scientific opinion on the tolerable upper intake level for vitamin D (EFSA Journal)](https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10407748/)
- [Vitamin D status in Eastern Cape healthcare workers (Scientific Reports 2024, DOAJ record)](https://doaj.org/article/21eca08c898047e9a603c1318fb54fcc)
- [CANSA: Vitamin D determinants of serum 25-hydroxyvitamin D in adults in the Western Cape](https://cansa.org.za/vitamin-d-determinants-of-serum-25-hydroxyvitamin-d-levels-in-adults-in-the-western-cape-province-of-south-africa/)