# Do women need vitamin D and calcium for bone health?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/vitamin-d-and-calcium-for-bone-health-in-women/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Women need enough of both for bone health, but most should get calcium from food and take supplements only to fill gaps. The usual calcium target is 1 000 mg a day for ages 19 to 50 and 1 200 mg after 50. For vitamin D, 600 to 800 IU (15 to 20 µg) a day is recommended. Routine high-dose vitamin D is not advised for healthy adults.

Key facts:
- Calcium RDA for women: 1 000 mg/day at 19 to 50 and 1 200 mg/day after 50; upper limits 2 500 and 2 000 mg/day (NIH ODS).
- Vitamin D: 600 to 800 IU (15 to 20 µg) a day for healthy adults; EFSA 2023 upper limit 4 000 IU (100 µg).
- Endocrine Society 2024 does not recommend routine vitamin D testing or extra supplementation for healthy adults under 75.
- October 2026: a 1 000 IU vitamin D3 tablet costs about R2.16 to R2.67 a day (Dis-Chem Gold R160 for 60).

## How much calcium?

Calcium is the main mineral in bone. US recommended dietary allowances (NIH Office of Dietary Supplements) are:

| Age | Calcium RDA | Upper limit |
|---|---|---|
| Women 19 to 50 | 1 000 mg/day | 2 500 mg/day |
| Women 51 and older | 1 200 mg/day | 2 000 mg/day |

Food first: dairy, calcium-set tofu, sardines or pilchards with bones, fortified products and some greens. If your food supplies about 600 mg, the gap to 1 000 mg is roughly 400 mg, so a modest supplement (or a few more dairy or fortified servings) is enough; taking more than you need adds risk without proven benefit. Evidence on calcium supplements is mixed: some meta-analyses suggest a small cardiovascular signal, others do not, and kidney stone findings conflict. Intakes at or below the upper limit are considered acceptable.

## How much vitamin D?

Vitamin D helps absorb calcium and supports muscle and bone. Recommended intake for healthy adults is **600 to 800 IU (15 to 20 µg) a day**. The EFSA (2023) upper limit is **4 000 IU (100 µg)** a day for adults. The Endocrine Society (2024) does not recommend routine testing or higher supplementation for healthy adults under 75. Supplements help people who are deficient; they do not boost performance if levels are adequate.

South Africa is sunny, but low vitamin D is still found: a 2024 study of 1 244 Eastern Cape healthcare workers found 28.5% below 50 nmol/L, while a Western Cape study of healthy young adults (2019) reported low deficiency prevalence. Indoor workers, covered clothing, darker skin and older age raise risk. See [do South Africans need vitamin D in summer](/answers/do-south-africans-need-vitamin-d-in-summer/) and [how much vitamin D](/answers/how-much-vitamin-d-should-i-take-south-africa/).

## Do supplements prevent fractures?

Evidence is mixed. The US Preventive Services Task Force concluded with moderate certainty that daily doses below 1 000 mg calcium and 400 IU vitamin D do not prevent fractures in postmenopausal women, and evidence for larger doses is inadequate. Some trials found calcium plus vitamin D reduced fractures in frail or institutionalised older people. The strongest levers for bone after menopause are **resistance and impact training, enough protein, not smoking, limited alcohol, and medical treatment where indicated**.

## What do supplements cost in South Africa?

Vitamin D3 at 1 000 IU, October 2026: New Leaf D3 and K2, 183 tablets, R395 (R2.16 a day, Faithful to Nature); Now Foods D3 and K2, 120 capsules, R276.75 special (R2.31); Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU, 60 tablets, R160 (R2.67, Dis-Chem Living Fit). A 1 000 IU dose is above the 600 to 800 IU intake target but well below the 4 000 IU upper limit. We did not capture calcium prices. See [best vitamin D3 in South Africa](/answers/best-vitamin-d3-in-south-africa/).

## What about collagen, protein and creatine?

Collagen has a single 12-month trial of 5 g a day in postmenopausal women with reduced bone density, partly manufacturer-funded ([details](/answers/collagen-and-menopause-skin-bones/)). Protein supports bone and muscle ([how much protein women need](/answers/how-much-protein-do-women-need-south-africa/)). Creatine has emerging evidence ([creatine in perimenopause](/answers/creatine-for-women-perimenopause/)).

## When to see a doctor

Ask for a bone density (DXA) scan and advice if you are postmenopausal with risk factors, have had a fracture, lost height, use long-term corticosteroids, or have kidney disease, hyperparathyroidism or a thiazide diuretic prescription (these change calcium and vitamin D safety). Do not stop prescribed osteoporosis treatment in favour of supplements. Pregnant or breastfeeding women and under-18s should follow their doctor's or clinic's advice on vitamin D and calcium.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.67 | not stated |
| New Leaf D3 and K2 1000 IU 183 tablets | 183 tablets | R395 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 183 | R2.16 | not stated |
| Now Foods Vitamin D3 and K2 120 vegicaps | 120 capsules | R276.75-R369 (special vs regular) (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 120 | R2.31 | not stated |
| BEET Goodness Vitamin D3 and K2 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R150 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | 60 | R2.50 | not stated |

## Sources

- [NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Calcium fact sheet for health professionals](https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Calcium-HealthProfessional/)
- [Endocrine Society (2024): healthy adults should take the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D](https://endocrine.org/news-and-advocacy/news-room/2024/endocrine-society-recommends-healthy-adults-take-the-recommended-daily-allowance-of-vitamin-d)
- [EFSA (2023) Scientific opinion on the tolerable upper intake level for vitamin D](https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC10407748/)
- [Vitamin D status in Eastern Cape healthcare workers (Scientific Reports, 2024 cross-sectional study, DOAJ record)](https://doaj.org/article/21eca08c898047e9a603c1318fb54fcc)
- [CANSA-funded study: vitamin D determinants in adults in the Western Cape (S Afr Fam Pract, 2019)](https://cansa.org.za/vitamin-d-determinants-of-serum-25-hydroxyvitamin-d-levels-in-adults-in-the-western-cape-province-of-south-africa/)