# What does proprietary blend mean on a pre-workout label?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/what-is-a-proprietary-blend-pre-workout/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> A proprietary blend lists several ingredients under one brand name with a single combined weight, so the dose of each ingredient is hidden. You cannot tell whether caffeine, citrulline or beta-alanine are present at studied amounts. In South Africa, favour pre-workouts that print every dose, such as Biogen Premium Pre-Workout, and be wary of labels that say "high in stimulants" without a caffeine figure.

Key facts:
- Studied caffeine dose: 3–6 mg/kg (ISSN); a 70 kg person gets 210–420 mg.
- Citrulline malate is studied at 6–8 g and beta-alanine at 4–6 g a day, so a short blend weight cannot contain both.
- Biogen Premium Pre-Workout publishes caffeine 150 mg per serving; NPL Blackout shows no caffeine figure on its Dis-Chem page (October 2026).
- R146 requires an ingredient list; we found no South African rule that forces per-ingredient doses.

## What does "proprietary blend" mean on a pre-workout?

A proprietary blend groups ingredients under a trade name ("pump matrix", "energy complex") and shows only the combined weight of the group. Ingredients are normally listed from largest to smallest, but the label does not say whether the largest is 5 g or 50 mg. R146, the labelling regulation in force in South Africa as of October 2026, requires an ingredient list. We could not confirm a rule that forces per-ingredient doses on a sports-supplement label.

## Why does a hidden dose matter?

- **Underdosing is invisible.** Studied doses are caffeine 3–6 mg/kg (ISSN), citrulline malate 6–8 g, beta-alanine 4–6 g a day and creatine 3–5 g a day. A "pump matrix" that weighs 6 g in total cannot hold 6–8 g of citrulline malate plus anything else.
- **Caffeine stacking.** Benefit can appear from about 2 mg/kg, and around 9 mg/kg adds side effects without extra benefit (ISSN). If the mg is hidden, you cannot add it to your coffee.
- **Anti-doping risk.** SAIDS rates pre-workouts among the higher-risk product types, and a blend makes it harder to see what you are taking.

## What do South African pre-workout labels show?

As published on retailer and brand pages we read in October 2026 (the physical tub may show more):

| Product | Doses published online |
|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g (R399.99–R429.99, Dis-Chem Living Fit) | Per Biogen's article: caffeine 150 mg, beta-alanine 3.5 g, citrulline malate 4 g, creatine 3 g, BCAAs 7 g, glutamine 2.5 g |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 g (R489.99–R499, USN shop) | Full doses on USN's global page (caffeine 300 mg, citrulline malate 6 g, beta-alanine 4 g); not confirmed for the South African 300 g tub |
| Biogen Rage Rampage 400 g (R539.99) | Most doses per roughly 20 g serving; caffeine present, mg not stated |
| NPL Blackout 400 g (R599.99) | "High in Stimulants"; no caffeine figure or doses on the Dis-Chem page |
| Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme 400 g (R249.95) | Blends named, no amounts on the retailer page |

Biogen's Informed Sport statement is a seller claim; we did not check the certificate.

## How do you compare pre-workouts without the doses?

1. Look for caffeine in mg per serving. If it is missing, assume a strong stimulant dose.
2. Check the serving size, then compare doses with the studied ranges above.
3. Count the total of stimulants from all sources, including coffee and fat burners.
4. If a label only gives blends, contact the brand for the full panel before buying.
5. Consider building your own from single ingredients, which makes every dose visible: see [DIY pre-workout stacks](/answers/diy-pre-workout-stack-with-single-ingredients-south-africa/).

## Who should avoid pre-workouts altogether?

Under-18s, people who are pregnant, and anyone with high blood pressure, a heart-rhythm problem or kidney disease, or who takes regular medication, should speak to a doctor first (see [pre-workout and blood pressure](/answers/pre-workout-and-blood-pressure/)). Drug-tested athletes should read [pre-workout banned substances](/answers/pre-workout-banned-substances-sports-south-africa/) before buying any multi-ingredient product. For ranked options, see [best pre-workout in South Africa](/best/best-pre-workout-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g | 300 g | R489.99-R499 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | Acesulfame-K and sucralose (global page) |
| Biogen Rage Rampage Pre-Workout 400 g | 400 g | R540 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R27.00 | Sucralose |
| NPL Blackout Pre-Workout 400 g | 400 g | R600 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R30.00 | Sucralose |
| Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme Super-C Orange 400 g | 400 g | R250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit (Living Fit shop), 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |

## Sources

- [Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [Maughan RJ et al. (2018) IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete. BJSM 52:439](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/7/439.abstract)
- [SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check](https://drugfreesport.org.za/faq/)
- [ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires](https://ascfoodsafetytraining.com/food-labelling-regulations-south-africa-r146-complete-guide/)