# Which supplements help during a cutting phase in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/what-supplements-for-a-cutting-phase-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> During a cut, the supplements with strong evidence are protein powder (to reach 1.6–2.4 g/kg), creatine monohydrate at 3–5 g a day and caffeine at 3–6 mg/kg before training. Fat burners, BCAAs and testosterone boosters are weak or risky. In South Africa creatine costs about R2–R5 per 5 g (October 2026).

Key facts:
- ISSN: 2.3–3.1 g/kg/day protein may help preserve lean mass in trained people in a calorie deficit.
- Creatine monohydrate at 3–5 g a day is an AIS Group A supplement; expect 1–2 kg of water-weight gain early on.
- Creatine costs R2.22 per 5 g (Pure Natural Options 500 g) to R4.17 per 5 g (ATP Fitness 600 g) in October 2026.
- AIS Group C (not advocated) includes BCAA, HMB and magnesium; Group D includes stimulant fat burners and herbal testosterone boosters.

## What helps most when you are cutting?

A cutting phase is a calorie deficit while trying to keep muscle. Supplements cannot create that deficit, but a few make it easier to protect muscle and keep training quality. Using the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) framework and our evidence library:

| Tier | Supplement | Role in a cut | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Group A (strong) | Whey or other protein powder | Hit 1.6–2.4 g/kg without extra calories | Strong |
| Group A | Creatine monohydrate, 3–5 g/day | Keeps strength and training quality | Strong |
| Group A | Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg | Better training when tired | Strong |
| Group A (if deficient) | Vitamin D, iron | Only to correct a documented shortfall | Moderate to strong |
| Group B (emerging) | Fish oil, multivitamin, collagen | Optional | Emerging |
| Group C (not advocated) | BCAA, HMB, magnesium | Not worth it if protein is adequate | Weak |
| Group D (banned or risky) | Stimulant fat burners, herbal testosterone boosters | Avoid | Weak, with safety concerns |

## Which protein powder and how much?

ISSN guidance is 1.4–2.0 g/kg a day for most exercisers, with 2.3–3.1 g/kg suggested for trained people preserving lean mass in a deficit. See [how much protein to lose fat](/answers/how-much-protein-to-lose-fat/). Whey isolate gives the least carbohydrate and fat per scoop: Primal Whey Isolate 750 g is R700 at Dis-Chem Living Fit (R93 per 100 g), and USN Isozero 805 g is R899–R909.99 on the USN shop (October 2026). Our [best whey isolate comparison](/best/best-whey-isolate-south-africa/) covers the field.

## How much does creatine cost, and will it hide fat loss?

Creatine monohydrate costs, per 5 g in October 2026: Pure Natural Options 500 g R2.22 (Knysna Health), Nutritech 500 g R2.50 (Wellness Warehouse, which lists a range from R249.95), and [ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine](/brands/atp-fitness/) 600 g R4.17 (R500, shop.atpfit.co.za). Expect 1–2 kg of extra body water in the first weeks, because creatine pulls water into muscle. This is not fat, but it can confuse the scale, so judge progress by waist measurement and photos. ATP's creatine is a single ingredient and micronised; its trade-off is that third-party sport certification is not published, so drug-tested athletes may prefer a batch-tested option. See our [best creatine comparison](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/).

## Is caffeine worth using?

Yes, as a training aid. Ultra Caffeine 200 mg costs about R3.32 a capsule on Takealot. Keep to 3–6 mg/kg and avoid evening doses. See [caffeine and fat loss](/answers/caffeine-and-fat-loss-thermogenics/).

## What should you skip?

- **Fat burners and "testosterone boosters":** weak benefit, more risk, and a real contamination issue for athletes ([are fat burners safe](/answers/are-fat-burners-safe-south-africa/)).
- **BCAAs:** pointless if your daily protein is adequate.
- **Rapid weight-loss plans:** losing faster than about 1% of body weight a week costs muscle ([how fast is safe](/answers/how-fast-can-you-lose-weight-safely-south-africa/)).

## Who should get advice first?

People with kidney disease, those on medication, pregnant women and under-18s should consult a doctor or registered dietitian before adding supplements. Hormonal and eating-disorder concerns are a medical, not a supplement, issue.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 100 g powder | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | — | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | — | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | — | None |
| Primal Whey Isolate (750 g) | 750 g | R700 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | R93.33 | — | sucralose |
| Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules) | 60 capsules | R199 (Takealot via PriceCheck, 2026-10) | 60 | — | — | R3.32 | Not published |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)
- [Australian Institute of Sport: Supplements overview (ABCD classification)](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements)
- [Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [Kreider RB et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. JISSN](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)