# Where can you buy creatine in Cape Town?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/where-to-buy-creatine-cape-town-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> You can buy creatine in Cape Town from pharmacies and health shops (Dis-Chem, Clicks, Wellness Warehouse), from Takealot and brand webshops (USN, Biogen, NPL, ATP Fitness), and from Faithful to Nature. Prices for the same tub differ by 40-80% between sellers, so compare R per 5 g before you buy. As of October 2026 plain creatine costs R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g.

Key facts:
- Creatine for sale in Cape Town ranges from R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g across mainstream retailers (October 2026).
- The same tub often differs by 40-80% between retailers, for example NPL 500 g: R539.99 at Dis-Chem versus R299 on Takealot.
- ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is sold at shop.atpfit.co.za (R500 for 600 g), on Takealot and via gyms.
- A 500 g tub lasts 100 days at 5 g a day; a 600 g tub lasts 120 days.

## Where can you buy creatine in Cape Town?

There is no single best shop, and stock varies by branch, so check before travelling. The main channels are:

| Where | What to expect | Example price (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Dis-Chem (stores and online) | Biogen, NPL, USN, Primal, Foundation, Myprotein | Biogen 500 g R444.99; NPL 500 g R539.99; Foundation Creapure 400 g R499.95 |
| Clicks (stores and online) | Nutritech, USN and other mainstream brands | Nutritech 500 g R399 |
| Takealot (delivered) | Widest range, frequent sales | NPL 500 g R299 (was R399); Pro Nutrition 300 g R199 |
| Wellness Warehouse | Health-food retailer; Nutritech | Nutritech 500 g R249.95 |
| Faithful to Nature (online) | Sport RX, Sally-Ann Creed, Phyto Pro, Empyre, New Leaf | Sport RX 500 g R389; Sally-Ann Creed 300 g R229 |
| Brand shops | USN, Biogen, NPL and others online | USN Pure 300 g R279 to R299 |
| ATP Fitness | shop.atpfit.co.za, Takealot and via gyms | Micronised 600 g R500; 250 g R270 |

This list is neutral: we have not found one channel that is cheapest across the board. Dis-Chem prices come from its Living Fit pages, and Takealot and Clicks prices from price-comparison snapshots.

## How do you compare prices properly?

Divide the price by the grams and multiply by 5. For example, Biogen 500 g at R444.99 is R4.45 per 5 g, while ATP Fitness 600 g at R500 is R4.17. Smaller tubs cost more per dose (ATP 250 g is R5.40). Read [cheapest creatine per serving](/answers/cheapest-creatine-per-serving-south-africa/) and [creatine at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot](/answers/creatine-dis-chem-vs-clicks-vs-takealot-south-africa/).

## How do you avoid fake or poor-quality creatine?

- Buy from an authorised retailer or the brand's own shop, not an unnamed marketplace seller.
- Check the tub is sealed and shows an SA importer or manufacturer name and address, a batch number and a best-before date, which South African labelling law (R146) requires.
- The ingredient list should say creatine monohydrate only. See [how to tell fake creatine](/answers/how-to-tell-fake-creatine/).
- If you are drug-tested, prefer a batch-tested product and check the batch on the scheme's own register. Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport, which is a seller claim to verify.

## Which tub size should you buy?

For daily use, 500 g or larger. Smaller tubs of 200-250 g suit a trial month. At 5 g a day, a 500 g tub lasts 100 days and a 600 g tub 120 days.

## Do you need a prescription?

No. Creatine is sold as a supplement or foodstuff in South Africa. Some retail listings carry a statement that the product is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA, which reflects the current unfinished state of health-supplement regulation. It does not mean the product is illegal.

See the [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) for a ranked comparison.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| Sport RX 100% Pure Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R379-R389 (Faithful to Nature, 2026-10) | — | R3.89 | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC5469049/)
- [Informed Sport (LGC) FAQ](https://sport.wetestyoutrust.com/about/frequently-asked-questions)
- [Spotlight (14 Aug 2026): Inside the Box with Dr Andy Gray, are complementary medicines effectively regulated in South Africa?](https://www.spotlightnsp.co.za/2026/08/14/inside-the-box-with-dr-andy-gray-are-complementary-medicines-effectively-regulated-in-south-africa/)