# Where can you buy creatine in Johannesburg and Pretoria?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/where-to-buy-creatine-johannesburg-pretoria-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> In Johannesburg and Pretoria you can buy creatine at Dis-Chem (Biogen, NPL, Foundation, Myprotein), Clicks (Nutritech) and Faithful to Nature, plus online from Takealot, brand shops such as USN and ATP Fitness, and Wellness Warehouse. As of October 2026, creatine monohydrate costs about R2.22–R5.55 per 5 g, and retailer prices differ widely.

Key facts:
- Creatine monohydrate costs about R2.22–R5.55 per 5 g in South Africa (October 2026).
- Dis-Chem, Clicks, Takealot, Faithful to Nature and Wellness Warehouse all stock creatine; brand shops sell online.
- Retailer gaps of 40–80% for the same SKU are common, so compare before buying.
- Nutritech 500 g ranged from R249.95 to R399 across retailers (October 2026).
- Check for a seal, batch number, best-before date and SA importer address on the label.

## Where can you buy creatine in Johannesburg and Pretoria?

Gauteng has the widest choice in the country. The retailers we checked in October 2026:

- **Dis-Chem** (stores and the Living Fit online shop): Biogen, NPL, Primal, Foundation (Creapure), Myprotein and MuscleTech.
- **Clicks**: Nutritech and other value brands.
- **Takealot**: delivers across Gauteng and often has the sharpest sale prices.
- **Faithful to Nature** and **Wellness Warehouse**: Sally-Ann Creed, Sport RX, Phyto Pro, Nutritech and Creapure options.
- **Brand shops that sell online**: USN, Biogen and ATP Fitness (shop.atpfit.co.za).

Sportsmans Warehouse, independent supplement and gym shops operate across Joburg and Pretoria, but we have not verified specific stock or prices, so check with the shop before you drive.

## What does creatine cost in Gauteng?

For plain monohydrate, per 5 g dose (October 2026):

| Product | Retailer | Price | R per 5 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options 500 g | Knysna Health (online) | R222 | R2.22 |
| Nutritech 500 g | Wellness Warehouse | from R249.95 | R2.50 |
| Sally-Ann Creed 300 g | Faithful to Nature | R229 | R3.82 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g | shop.atpfit.co.za | R500 | R4.17 |
| Biogen 500 g | Dis-Chem | R445 | R4.45 |
| USN Pure Creatine 300 g | USN online shop | R279–R299 | R4.98 |
| Myprotein 500 g | Dis-Chem | R555 | R5.55 |

The same product often has different prices at different retailers. Nutritech 500 g, for example, ranges from R249.95 to R399, and Clicks and Wellness Warehouse differ by up to about 60%. NPL 500 g has shown R299 on a Takealot sale against R539.99 at Dis-Chem. Compare before you buy; see [Dis-Chem versus Clicks versus Takealot for creatine](/answers/creatine-dis-chem-vs-clicks-vs-takealot-south-africa/).

## Which should you choose?

- **Cheapest per dose:** online value brands, often under R3 per 5 g.
- **Easiest to collect today:** your nearest Dis-Chem or Clicks branch. Biogen's 500 g is a sensible in-store choice at about R4.45 per 5 g, with a seller claim of Informed Sport testing.
- **Cleanest label with delivery:** ATP Fitness is a single-ingredient, 200-mesh micronised creatine with no sweeteners. Honest trade-offs: it is a young brand, it is unflavoured, and it does not publish third-party sport certification.

## How do you avoid fakes?

Buy from the retailer or the brand's own shop rather than unknown marketplace sellers. Check for an intact seal, a batch number, a best-before date and a South African importer or manufacturer address on the label (required under R146). See [how to tell fake creatine](/answers/how-to-tell-fake-creatine/).

## What should you buy?

Plain creatine monohydrate, 3–5 g a day. Avoid blends if you are drug-tested; see [creatine and drug tests](/answers/can-creatine-cause-a-failed-drug-test-south-africa/). For ranked options, use our [best creatine in South Africa](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) comparison.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399 (Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | None |
| Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g | 400 g | R500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R6.25 | None |
| NPL Creatine Monohydrate Powder 500 g | 500 g | R299-R539.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | None (unflavoured) |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [PriceCheck: creatine monohydrate price comparison (retrieved 27 October 2026)](https://www.pricecheck.co.za/search?search=creatine+monohydrate)
- [ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires](https://ascfoodsafetytraining.com/food-labelling-regulations-south-africa-r146-complete-guide/)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/foundation-creatine-monohydrate-unflavoured-400g/)