# Where can you buy pre-workout in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/where-to-buy-pre-workout-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> In South Africa you can buy pre-workout at Dis-Chem (Biogen, NPL, Evox, Cellucor C4, MuscleTech, USN, Optimum Nutrition), Clicks (Nutritech, Clicks house brand, USN), Takealot, and brand shops such as USN and Biogen. Prices for the same tub differ between retailers by up to about 10% or more, so compare before you buy (October 2026).

Key facts:
- Dis-Chem has the widest SA pre-workout range (Biogen, NPL, Evox, Cellucor C4, MuscleTech, Optimum Nutrition, USN).
- Cellucor C4 Original costs R699 at Takealot and R699–R752.99 at Dis-Chem (October 2026).
- NPL N.O Charge is R429 at Takealot against R472.99 at Dis-Chem (October 2026).
- USN XTS Hyperdrive costs R214 on USN's shop and R228.99–R232.99 at Dis-Chem.
- R146 requires batch number, date marking and an SA importer address on foodstuff labels.

## Where can you buy pre-workout in South Africa?

The main places, as of October 2026:

- **Dis-Chem** (stores and the Living Fit online shop): the widest range, including Biogen Premium and Rage Rampage, NPL Blackout, Hyper Pump and N.O Charge, Evox Alpha, Cellucor C4, MuscleTech Vapor X5, Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard and USN.
- **Clicks:** Nutritech Nuke, the Clicks house-brand pre-workout and USN products.
- **Takealot:** imports and local brands, often with sale pricing. C4 and NPL N.O Charge both appear here.
- **Brand shops:** USN and Biogen (biogen.co.za) sell direct online.
- **Specialist and gym shops:** independent supplement stores operate in all the metros. We have not verified specific stock or prices, so check before you go.

## How do prices compare?

| Product | Where | Price (October 2026) |
|---|---|---|
| USN XTS Hyperdrive 210 g | USN shop / Dis-Chem | R214 / R228.99–R232.99 |
| Biogen Premium 600 g | Dis-Chem | R399.99–R429.99 |
| Cellucor C4 Original 195 g | Takealot / Dis-Chem | R699 / R699–R752.99 |
| NPL N.O Charge 420 g | Takealot / Dis-Chem | R429 / R472.99 |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 g | USN shop / Dis-Chem | R489.99–R499 |
| Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme 400 g | Dis-Chem Living Fit | R249.95 |
| Clicks Pre-Workout Formula 240 g | Clicks | R155 |
| Nutritech Nuke 240 g | Clicks | R259 |

Prices change often and many listings move with promotions. Check the per-serving cost, not the tub price: see [cheapest pre-workout per serving](/answers/cheapest-pre-workout-per-serving-south-africa/).

## How do you avoid counterfeit or grey-market stock?

- Buy from the brand, Dis-Chem, Clicks or Takealot itself rather than anonymous marketplace sellers. See [are Takealot supplements genuine](/answers/are-takealot-supplements-genuine-south-africa/).
- Check the tub for an intact seal, batch number, best-before date and a South African importer or distributor name and address, as R146 requires.
- Be careful with imported US tubs sold by third parties: the local label, caffeine amount and ingredients can differ from the brand's US page. Cellucor C4's 200 mg figure, for example, comes from its US page.
- Reject any tub with no ingredient panel or with a proprietary blend that hides the doses.

## Are there age restrictions?

We did not find a published age restriction at the retailers we checked, so do not assume a shop will stop a teenager. That does not make it safe: under-18s should not use pre-workout, and you should read the warning panel on each label.

## What should you look for on the page or label?

1. Caffeine in mg per serving. Many local listings do not state it.
2. Every ingredient dose, with no proprietary blend.
3. Serving size and servings per tub.
4. A third-party testing claim you can check, if you are drug-tested. Biogen Premium and USN XTS Hyperdrive state batch testing (seller claims).
5. A SAHPRA disclaimer where relevant: Dis-Chem lists amino-acid singles as unregistered complementary medicines not evaluated by SAHPRA.

## Is there a cheaper route?

A coffee and single ingredients cost less than a branded tub and let you see every dose. ATP Fitness sells pure Citrulline Malate (R280 for 250 g) and Beta-Alanine (R260 for 200 g) at shop.atpfit.co.za, with no sweeteners or flavouring, though My Whey is cheaper on both and ATP publishes no sport certification. See [build your own pre-workout](/answers/diy-pre-workout-stack-with-single-ingredients-south-africa/).

For a ranking, read the [best pre-workout in South Africa](/best/best-pre-workout-south-africa/) and [Dis-Chem versus Clicks versus Takealot](/answers/dis-chem-vs-clicks-vs-takealot-supplements-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | not stated |
| Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g | 195 g | R699-R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R25.10 | Sucralose and acesulfame potassium |
| NPL N.O Charge Pre-Workout 420 g | 420 g | R429-R472.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | Sucralose |
| Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme Super-C Orange 400 g | 400 g | R250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit (Living Fit shop), 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |
| Nutritech Nuke Pre-Workout 240 g | 240 g | R259 (Clicks (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | not stated |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/biogen-premium-pre-workout-600g/)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Cellucor C4 Original 195 g](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/cellucor-c4-original-pre-workout-powder-195g/)
- [USN: XTS Hyperdrive pre-workout](https://www.usn.co.za/products/xts-hyperdrive)
- [ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires](https://ascfoodsafetytraining.com/food-labelling-regulations-south-africa-r146-complete-guide/)
- [Consumer Protection Act 68 of 2008, section 41: false, misleading or deceptive representations](https://www.acts.co.za/consumer-protection/41_false_misleading_or_deceptive_representations)