# Whey isolate vs concentrate: which is better in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/whey-isolate-vs-concentrate-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> For most people in South Africa, whey concentrate is the better buy: it builds muscle just as well per gram of protein, while local isolates cost roughly 35% to 50% more per 30 g of protein. Isolate is worth the premium if you are lactose-sensitive or cutting. Isolate is typically 90% protein or more, with under about 1% lactose.

Key facts:
- Isolate is typically 90% protein or more (dry basis) with under about 1% lactose; WPC80 has roughly 3% to 8% lactose.
- Per gram of protein, isolate and concentrate give essentially the same muscle result (ISSN).
- USN Isozero costs about R10 more per 30 g protein than USN BlueLab; NPL's isolate about R15.50 more than its Platinum Whey (October 2026).
- Neither suits a cow's-milk-protein allergy.

## Whey isolate vs concentrate: which is better in South Africa?

Both are whey. Isolate is filtered further to remove more lactose and fat. Per gram of protein, muscle outcomes are essentially equivalent (ISSN position stand), so the real differences are protein density, lactose, taste and price.

## What are the differences?

| | Whey concentrate (WPC80) | Whey isolate (WPI) |
|---|---|---|
| Protein (dry basis, typical) | about 70% to 80% | 90% or more |
| Lactose (typical) | about 3% to 8% | under about 1% |
| Texture | creamier | thinner, lighter |
| Muscle effect per gram of protein | same | same |

These figures are industry typicals, not a South African legal standard; check each product's spec sheet.

## How much more does isolate cost in rand?

Local pairs from the same brand (October 2026):

| Brand | Concentrate or blend | Isolate | Extra per 30 g protein |
|---|---|---|---|
| USN | BlueLab 1 kg, R689, about R28 | Isozero 805 g, R899, about R38.50 | about R10 (roughly 37% more) |
| NPL | Platinum Whey 908 g, R700, about R33 | Whey Isolate 700 g, R900, about R48.50 | about R15.50 (roughly 47% more) |
| ATP Fitness | Unflavoured Concentrate 1 kg, R800 per kg | Unflavoured Isolate 800 g, R900, R1 125 per kg | about 41% more per kg of powder |

ATP does not publish protein per serving, so we compare it per kilogram of powder only.

## Who actually benefits from isolate?

- **Lactose-sensitive people.** Isolate has far less lactose, but not zero. See [whey and lactose intolerance](/answers/whey-protein-lactose-intolerance-south-africa/).
- **People cutting calories.** Isolate gives slightly more protein per scoop with less carbohydrate and fat.
- **Anyone who dislikes a heavy, creamy shake.**

Concentrate suits budget-conscious users who tolerate lactose.

## Does a "hydrolysed" or "isolate" label guarantee quality?

No. Biogen's Iso Whey Premium lists concentrate in its ingredients despite the name, and NPL and Primal isolates still contain sucralose. Read the ingredient list and nutrition table per 100 g: a true isolate sits around 85 to 90 g protein per 100 g, a concentrate around 70 to 80 g.

## What is the practical decision?

1. Tolerate dairy and want value: choose a concentrate (USN BlueLab, or ATP Unflavoured Concentrate if you want no sweeteners).
2. Bloat after dairy: try an isolate such as USN Isozero ([best isolates](/answers/best-whey-isolate-in-south-africa/)).
3. Milk allergy: neither is suitable; see a doctor.

ATP trade-offs apply to both: no published protein per serving or third-party certification, and a young brand (April 2024). See the [best whey protein comparison](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/) and [best whey isolate](/best/best-whey-isolate-south-africa/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey (908 g) | 908 g | R700 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R32.89 | R77.09 | sucralose |
| NPL 100% Whey Protein Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R900 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R48.46 | R128.57 | sucralose |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R80.00 | None |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R112.50 | None |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [ISSN Position Stand: Protein and Exercise (Jäger et al., JISSN 2017)](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28642676/)
- [Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)](https://repository.up.ac.za/handle/2263/74902)
- [Naidoo, Naidoo & Bangalee 2018, Understanding the amino acid profile of whey protein products (Global Journal of Health Science 10(9))](https://ccsenet.org/journal/index.php/gjhs/article/view/75211)
- [USN South Africa online shop](https://za.usn.global/collections/all)
- [NPL South Africa shop: proteins](https://www.npl.za.com/collections/proteins)