# How do whey proteins compare per 30 g of protein in South Africa?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/whey-protein-per-30g-protein-comparison-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> South African whey costs about R18 to R51 per 30 g of protein in October 2026, using serving data the brands publish. Budget blends such as USN Hydrotech (about R18–R21) and NPL Platinum Whey Plus (about R23.50) sit lowest, USN BlueLab 1 kg is near R28, isolates run about R38–R49 and imported Myprotein Impact Whey is near R51.

Key facts:
- Cheapest listed whey in our data: USN Hydrotech 900 g at about R18–R21 per 30 g protein (a whey and wheat matrix, October 2026).
- USN BlueLab 1 kg costs about R28 per 30 g protein; NPL Platinum Whey 908 g about R33 (October 2026).
- Isolates cost about R38–R49 per 30 g protein; Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg about R51.
- ATP Fitness publishes no serving size or protein per serving in shop text, so it cannot be ranked per 30 g protein.

## How much does 30 g of whey protein cost in South Africa?

The table ranks products by Rand per 30 g of protein: tub price divided by (tub weight, divided by serving weight, multiplied by protein per serving), multiplied by 30. Prices are from brand shops or Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026.

| Product | Type | Price | Serving / protein | R per 30 g protein |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN Hydrotech 900 g | whey and wheat protein matrix | R369–R418 | 30 g / 20 g | R18–R21 |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg | whey with pea, rice, egg | R490 | 40 g / 25 g | R23.50 |
| NPL Anabolic Whey 908 g | whey with soy and pea | R480 | 43 g / 27.6 g | R24.70 |
| USN BlueLab 1 kg | whey blend | R689 | 32 g / 23.6 g | R28.00 |
| Primal Whey 750 g | concentrate, isolate, hydrolysate | R540–R740 | 30 g / 21 g | R31–R42 |
| NPL Platinum Whey 908 g | whey blend | R700 | 32 g / 22.5 g | R32.90 |
| USN Isozero 805 g | isolate | R899–R910 | 23 g / 20 g | R38.50–R39 |
| Lifestyle Food WPC 500 g | single-ingredient concentrate | R500 | 20 g / 15.2 g | R39.50 |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium 750 g | blend (ingredients include concentrate) | R765 | 30 g / 20.9 g | R44 |
| NPL 100% Whey Isolate 700 g | isolate | R900 | 25 g / 19.9 g | R48.50 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg | concentrate | R1 300 | 30 g / 23 g | R51 |

Primal's price differs between its product page and category listing, hence the band. Evox Whey Advanced (R670 for 908 g) is left out because its Dis-Chem page lists 23 g protein but no scoop weight.

## What does the table tell you?

Blends beat isolates on price per gram of protein, usually by 30–60%. Isolates cost more because they are filtered further and carry more protein per scoop, not because they build more muscle per gram. Pure whey is not the cheapest source here: the two lowest rows include wheat, pea, rice, soy or egg protein, so read [whey blend vs isolate](/answers/whey-blend-vs-isolate-south-africa/) before buying on price alone. USN Hardcore Whey gH lists 27 g in a 33 g scoop at R449 per kg, which would be cheaper still, but that density alongside added creatine looks high, so we left it out until the label is verified.

## Where do ATP Fitness products fit?

ATP Fitness's shop and Takealot listings did not publish serving size or protein per serving on 27 October 2026, so ATP cannot be ranked on this metric. Per 100 g of powder (not comparable with protein cost), ATP's unflavoured concentrate is R80 in the shop and about R64 on Takealot (undated PriceCheck snapshot), its isolates are R112–R131, against R100 for Lifestyle Food's concentrate and R130 for Myprotein.

## Can you trust the label numbers?

Only partly. South African testing found most sampled products differing from their labelled protein, so treat the table as the best case ([how protein is measured](/answers/what-is-amino-spiking-whey-south-africa/)). Compare against the [cheapest whey per serving](/answers/cheapest-whey-protein-per-serving-south-africa/) answer and the [best whey protein](/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/) and [best whey isolate](/best/best-whey-isolate-south-africa/) pages.

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN Hydrotech Whey Protein (900 g) | 900 g | R369-R417.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R20.50 | R45.55 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey (908 g) | 908 g | R700 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | — | R32.89 | R77.09 | sucralose |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R50.87 | R130.00 | sucralose |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [USN: BlueLab 100% Whey Protein product page](https://za.usn.global/products/bluelab%C2%AE-100-whey-protein-908-g-2-kg)
- [NPL: Platinum Whey product page](https://www.npl.za.com/products/platinum-whey)
- [Biogen: Iso Whey Premium product page](https://biogen.co.za/shop/iso-whey-premium-750g/)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/myprotein-impact-whey-protein-powder-1kg/)
- [Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)](https://repository.up.ac.za/handle/2263/74902)