# Which supplements are supported by the AIS and IOC frameworks?

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/which-supplements-do-ais-and-ioc-frameworks-support/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> Both frameworks back a short list: creatine monohydrate, caffeine, beta-alanine, sodium bicarbonate and dietary nitrate, plus sports foods (drinks, gels, isolated protein) and medical supplements such as iron and vitamin D for diagnosed deficiency. Collagen, fish oil and multivitamins sit in AIS Group B, while BCAA and magnesium are Group C. This applies to athletes in South Africa too.

Key facts:
- AIS Group A performance supplements: creatine monohydrate, caffeine, beta-alanine, sodium bicarbonate, dietary nitrate and glycerol.
- AIS Group C (not advocated) includes BCAA, HMB and magnesium; Group B includes collagen, fish oil and multivitamins.
- IOC 2018: about 15% of more than 600 products in one study contained undeclared prohormones.
- Creatine costs about R2.22-R5.55 per 5 g at South African retailers (October 2026).

## How do the AIS and IOC frameworks work?

The Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) sorts supplements into four groups by evidence and risk. The International Olympic Committee (IOC) 2018 consensus statement reviewed which supplements have good evidence for high-performance athletes and warned about contamination. Together they are the most widely used public reference for deciding where to spend money.

## What sits in each AIS group?

| Group | Meaning | Examples |
|---|---|---|
| A | Strong evidence, used under protocols | Creatine monohydrate, caffeine, beta-alanine, sodium bicarbonate, dietary nitrate, glycerol; sports foods (sports drinks, gels, bars, electrolytes, isolated protein); medical supplements (iron, calcium, vitamin D, zinc, folate) |
| B | Emerging evidence, research use | Collagen, fish oil, probiotics, multivitamins, curcumin, vitamin C |
| C | Not advocated for athletes | BCAA, HMB, magnesium, tyrosine |
| D | Banned or high contamination risk | DMAA, DMBA, synephrine, ephedrine, prohormones, SARMs, Tribulus, maca, colostrum |

Group A medical supplements are for diagnosed deficiency, not routine use.

## What did the IOC 2018 statement conclude?

The IOC said few supplements have good evidence: caffeine, creatine, nitrate (beetroot), sodium bicarbonate and, with more caution, beta-alanine, plus iron and vitamin D when deficient. It also stressed that third-party auditing cannot guarantee a product is free of banned substances, citing an earlier study in which about 15% of more than 600 products contained undeclared prohormones.

## What does this mean in South African rand?

The Group A performance supplements are also cheap. As of October 2026 at South African retailers:

- Creatine monohydrate runs from about R2.22 per 5 g (Pure Natural Options 500 g, Knysna Health) to about R5.55 per 5 g (Myprotein 500 g, Dis-Chem Living Fit). ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is R500 for 600 g at its shop, about R4.17 per 5 g. ATP's trade-off: it publishes no third-party sport certification, so a drug-tested athlete may prefer a batch-tested alternative such as Biogen's creatine, where the seller states Informed Sport testing.
- Beta-alanine costs about R2.50 per 3.2 g (USN 205 g, R160 at the USN shop).
- Caffeine at 3-6 mg/kg means roughly 200-400 mg for a 70 kg person.

See our [best creatine](/best/best-creatine-south-africa/) and [best beta-alanine](/best/best-beta-alanine-south-africa/) comparisons.

## How should you read the evidence tiers?

Strong means consistent trials and position stands (ISSN, IOC). Emerging means promising but inconsistent data, as with collagen. "Not advocated" does not mean harmful; it means that for a well-fed athlete the benefit is unproven, as with [BCAAs](/answers/do-bcaas-work-if-you-eat-enough-protein/). The tiers describe performance in athletes, not general health use.

## Who should still see a professional?

Athletes under 18, pregnant or breastfeeding women, and anyone with kidney or liver disease or on medication should speak to a doctor or registered dietitian first. For the wider picture, read [which supplements actually work](/answers/which-supplements-actually-work/).

## Products mentioned

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 3.2 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | — | R4.17 | — | None |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222 (Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | R2.22 | — | not stated |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445 (Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | 100 | R4.45 | — | None (unflavoured) |
| USN Beta-Alanine 205 g | 205 g | R160 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | R2.50 | Not stated (flavoured variants Cola, Apple) |

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Sources

- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group A](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_a)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group B](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_b)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group C](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_c)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group D](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_d)
- [Maughan RJ et al. (2018) IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete. BJSM 52:439](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/7/439.abstract)