# Best Pre-Workout in South Africa 2026: 10 Products Compared

Source: https://www.healthnews24.co.za/best/best-pre-workout-south-africa/
Publisher: Healthnews24 (South Africa's supplement answer desk)
Updated: 2026-10-27

> The best pre-workout in South Africa is one that prints its doses: about 3–6 mg caffeine per kg body weight (roughly 210–420 mg for a 70 kg adult), 6–8 g citrulline malate and 3.2 g or more of beta-alanine. On that criterion Biogen Premium Pre-Workout ranks first as of October 2026 (150 mg caffeine, 4 g citrulline malate, 3.5 g beta-alanine, Informed Sport stated by Biogen; R400–R430 for 600 g). USN Qhush Platinum Black has the strongest formula on USN's global product page (300 mg caffeine), which may differ from the South African tub. USN XTS Hyperdrive is the cheapest at about R5.40 per scoop. Most other tubs do not publish caffeine in mg.


## 2026 at a glance: ranked on published, evidence-matched doses, then cost per serving

1. **Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g** (Best all-round, fully disclosed): Biogen publishes every dose: 150 mg caffeine, 3.5 g beta-alanine, 4 g citrulline malate, 3 g creatine, with Informed Sport stated; the listed actives add up to about 20 g, so roughly R13–R14 or more per serving.
2. **USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g** (Strongest published formula): USN's global label gives 300 mg caffeine, 6 g citrulline malate, 4 g beta-alanine and 3 g creatine per 17.5 g scoop; R490–R499 for 300 g, about R29 per serving if the SA scoop matches.
3. **USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g** (Cheapest per serving): 150 mg caffeine headline figure and a 5.3 g scoop; R214 for 210 g is about R5.40 per scoop (R10.80 for the two-scoop serving), with Informed Choice stated by USN.
4. **Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g** (Best-known import): 200 mg caffeine and 2 g beta-alanine per scoop on Cellucor's US page; R699–R752.99 for 30 servings is R23.30–R25.10 each, with sucralose and acesulfame K.
5. **Biogen Rage Rampage Pre-Workout 400 g** (Disclosed beta-alanine, hidden caffeine): 3.2 g beta-alanine and 2 g arginine per ~20 g serving are listed, but caffeine mg is not; R539.99 for about 20 servings is roughly R27 each.
6. **Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout 330 g** (Premium, partial disclosure): 30 servings for R899.99 (R30 each) with CarnoSyn beta-alanine and creatine named; caffeine mg is not on the South African retailer page.
7. **USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g** (Stimulant-free option): Caffeine-free pump formula at R309.95–R349.99 for 234 g, but USN's shop page does not publish ingredient doses.
8. **NPL Hyper Pump Pre-Workout 500 g** (Ingredients listed, no doses): Citrulline malate, beta-alanine, creatine, arginine, caffeine, alpha-GPC and theanine are named without amounts; R544.99 for 500 g.
9. **Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme Super-C Orange 400 g** (Cheapest big tub, blends only): R249.95 for 400 g at Dis-Chem Living Fit, but its energy, pump and creatine blends carry no amounts, so dose per serving is unknown.
10. **Clicks (house brand) Clicks Pre-Workout Formula 240 g** (Cheapest tub): R155 for 240 g at Clicks is the lowest tub price we found; caffeine and doses were not published on the listing we could read.

Disclosure: ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs.

## Comparison table

| Product | Size | Price (source, date) | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated | Best all-round, fully disclosed |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g | 300 g | R489.99-R499 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | Acesulfame-K and sucralose (global page) | Strongest published formula |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | R5.40 | not stated | Cheapest per serving |
| Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g | 195 g | R699-R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R25.10 | Sucralose and acesulfame potassium | Best-known import |
| Biogen Rage Rampage Pre-Workout 400 g | 400 g | R540 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | R27.00 | Sucralose | Disclosed beta-alanine, hidden caffeine |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout 330 g | 330 g | R900 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | 30 | R30.00 | not stated | Premium, partial disclosure |
| USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g | 234 g | R309.95-R349.99 (USN online shop, 2026-10) | — | — | not stated | Stimulant-free option |
| NPL Hyper Pump Pre-Workout 500 g | 500 g | R545 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | — | — | Sucralose | Ingredients listed, no doses |
| Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme Super-C Orange 400 g | 400 g | R250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit (Living Fit shop), 2026-10) | — | — | not stated | Cheapest big tub, blends only |
| Clicks (house brand) Clicks Pre-Workout Formula 240 g | 240 g | R155 (Clicks (listing via PriceCheck), 2026-10) | — | — | not stated | Cheapest tub |

## Which pre-workout ingredients work, and at what dose?

Only a few pre-workout ingredients have strong evidence. Judge a label against these doses:

| Ingredient | Evidence | Dose used in research | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | Strong (AIS Group A) | 3–6 mg/kg about 60 min before; 210–420 mg at 70 kg | ISSN 2021 |
| Beta-alanine | Strong, for 1–4 minute efforts | 3.2–6.4 g a day for 2–4+ weeks, in doses of 2 g or less | ISSN 2015 |
| Creatine monohydrate | Strong | 3–5 g a day, every day | ISSN 2017 |
| Citrulline malate | Emerging, mixed | 6–8 g about 60 min before | Gough et al. 2021 |
| BCAAs, glutamine, arginine | Weak for this use | No reliable performance dose | AIS Group C (BCAA) |

Two points matter when you read a tub. First, **beta-alanine and creatine work by daily build-up**, not by a single pre-gym dose; if you only use the pre-workout on training days, you get less than the label suggests. Second, a 2018 review of multi-ingredient pre-workouts (Harty et al.) found that citrulline is generally included at far lower doses than those that showed effects in studies, and that proprietary blends can hide other underdosed ingredients.

## How much caffeine is in South African pre-workouts?

Caffeine disclosure is patchy. In October 2026 we found published per-serving figures for only four of the 15 pre-workouts we priced:

| Product | Caffeine per serving | mg/kg for a 70 kg adult |
|---|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout | 150 mg | 2.1 |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive | 150 mg (headline figure; serving basis not stated) | 2.1 |
| Cellucor C4 Original (US page) | 200 mg | 2.9 |
| USN Qhush Platinum Black (global page) | 300 mg | 4.3 |

NPL Blackout, Hyper Pump and N.O Charge, Evox Alpha Surge and Pre-Surge Extreme, Biogen Rage Rampage, MuscleTech Vapor X5 and Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout list caffeine (or "high in stimulants") without a milligram figure on the retailer pages we read. If you cannot see the mg, you cannot add up your day's caffeine from coffee, energy drinks and gels. Pregnant women are generally advised to stay under 200 mg a day from all sources; check with your doctor.

## Why proprietary blends and missing doses are a red flag

A "proprietary blend" or a list of ingredients without amounts tells you what is in the tub but not how much. That hides underdosing (a few hundred milligrams of citrulline sounds good on a label but does little) and stops you checking caffeine. It also makes it harder to judge contamination risk. Of the ten products here, only Biogen Premium and USN Qhush Platinum Black (global page) publish full doses for all their main actives. Cellucor publishes caffeine and beta-alanine on its US page; Biogen Rampage publishes everything except caffeine. The rest do not publish doses on the South African pages we could read.

## Brand by brand

### 1. Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g (Best all-round)

Biogen, a Dis-Chem-stocked South African brand, publishes the full formula for Premium Pre-Workout in its own product article: **150 mg caffeine, 3.5 g beta-alanine, 4 g citrulline malate, 3 g creatine monohydrate**, plus 7 g BCAAs and 2.5 g glutamine. The caffeine is moderate, about 2 mg/kg for a 70 kg adult, so it suits people who are sensitive to stimulants or who train in the evening. Beta-alanine and creatine are in useful ranges if you take it daily; citrulline malate is below the 6–8 g used in studies, and the BCAAs and glutamine add bulk without adding much benefit. Biogen states the product is Informed Sport certified and batch-tested by LGC, which matters for tested athletes. Check the batch on the register. Servings are not published; the listed actives alone come to about 20 g, so a 600 g tub holds about 30 servings at most, which works out to at least R13–R14 per serving at R399.99–R429.99.

Strengths: Every active dose published by the brand; Informed Sport certification stated by Biogen (check the batch); Moderate 150 mg caffeine; Beta-alanine (3.5 g) and creatine (3 g) at research-supported daily amounts

Trade-offs: Citrulline malate (4 g) is below the 6–8 g studied; 7 g BCAAs and 2.5 g glutamine add cost but little benefit; Servings per tub not published, so cost per serving is an estimate

### 2. USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g (Strongest formula)

USN's global page for Qhush Platinum Black lists **300 mg caffeine, 6 g citrulline malate, 4 g beta-alanine and 3 g creatine** per 17.5 g scoop, plus tyrosine, bacopa and theobromine. That is the most complete evidence-matched formula we found: citrulline malate at the bottom of the studied range, beta-alanine inside the ISSN 4–6 g band and caffeine at about 4.3 mg/kg for a 70 kg adult. There is a catch. The global page describes 30 servings, but the South African tub is 300 g, which cannot hold 30 x 17.5 g, so the local label may differ. If the scoop is the same, the tub holds about 17 servings, roughly R29 each at R489.99–R499. It is sweetened with acesulfame K and sucralose. At 300 mg caffeine, start with half a scoop and skip it after mid-afternoon.

Strengths: Full doses published (global page); Citrulline malate 6 g and beta-alanine 4 g match research doses; Sold at USN's shop, Dis-Chem and Takealot

Trade-offs: SA tub size does not match the global serving count, so check the local label; 300 mg caffeine is too much for many people, and for anyone under 18; About R29 per serving if the global scoop applies

### 3. USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g (Cheapest per serving)

XTS Hyperdrive is a simple energy pre-workout rather than a full formula. USN headlines 150 mg caffeine plus 32.5 mg Dynamine (methylliberine), with a 5.3 g standard scoop and a two-scoop "extreme" serving. The page does not say whether the 150 mg is per scoop or per extreme serving, which matters: check the tub. At R214 for 210 g on USN's shop (R228.99–R232.99 at Dis-Chem) it holds about 40 scoops, so **about R5.40 per scoop** or R10.80 per two-scoop serving, the cheapest per serving we found. USN lists Informed Choice and batch testing (seller-stated), and USN states one flavour is Halaal-certified. There is no citrulline or beta-alanine to speak of, so treat it as a measured caffeine dose with flavour.

Strengths: About R5.40 per scoop, the lowest cost per serving we found; Caffeine figure published; Informed Choice and batch testing stated by USN

Trade-offs: Serving basis for the 150 mg is unclear; No published citrulline or beta-alanine dose; Dynamine has far less research behind it than caffeine

### 4. Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g (Best-known import)

C4 is one of the world's best-selling pre-workouts. Cellucor's US page lists **200 mg caffeine and 2 g CarnoSyn beta-alanine** per scoop, 30 servings. At R699 (Takealot) to R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) that is **R23.30–R25.10 per serving**. Caffeine is a sensible 2.9 mg/kg for a 70 kg adult. Beta-alanine at 2 g is below the 3.2 g minimum in most trials, and the main pump ingredient is not dosed to research levels on the US page. It is sweetened with sucralose and acesulfame K. Since the doses come from the US page, check the South African tub before relying on them. No third-party certification is stated on cellucor.com.

Strengths: Caffeine (200 mg) and beta-alanine published; Moderate caffeine for most adults; Widely available at Dis-Chem and Takealot

Trade-offs: Beta-alanine (2 g) below the research range; R23–R25 per serving is high for what you get; Doses come from the US page; no certification stated

### 5. Biogen Rage Rampage Pre-Workout 400 g (Partial disclosure)

Biogen's Rage Rampage lists, per roughly 20 g serving, **3.2 g beta-alanine**, 2 g arginine, 1.5 g GlycerSize (glycerol), 300 mg alpha-GPC and 200 mg N-acetyl cysteine. Beta-alanine sits at the lowest dose used in trials, which is fine if you take it daily. Arginine has weak evidence as a pump ingredient compared with citrulline. Caffeine anhydrous is in the formula, but the Dis-Chem Living Fit page gives no milligram figure, and it advises a half scoop for stimulant-sensitive users, which suggests a strong dose. At R539.99 for about 20 servings it costs roughly **R27 per serving**. It is sweetened with sucralose, and no third-party testing is listed for this product.

Strengths: Beta-alanine dose published (3.2 g); Most non-stimulant doses disclosed; Dis-Chem availability

Trade-offs: Caffeine mg not published; About R27 per serving; No third-party testing listed for this product

### 6. Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout 330 g (Premium import)

Optimum Nutrition is one of the most trusted global brands, and Gold Standard Pre-Workout comes with 30 servings at R899.99 from Dis-Chem Living Fit, so **R30 per serving**, the most expensive per serving here. South African retailer pages name CarnoSyn beta-alanine and creatine monohydrate and give 375 mg acetyl-L-carnitine and 250 mg N-acetyl-L-tyrosine, but we could not find the caffeine milligrams or the beta-alanine dose on the pages we read. Check the tub label. You are paying for the brand rather than a better formula.

Strengths: Established global brand; 30 servings stated; Beta-alanine and creatine included

Trade-offs: R30 per serving, the dearest here; Caffeine and beta-alanine doses not on the SA retailer pages we read

### 7. USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g (Stimulant-free)

If caffeine keeps you awake, gives you palpitations, or you train late, a stimulant-free pump formula is the obvious choice. USN's caffeine-free Qhush (Dis-Chem lists it as Qhush Super Pump Stim Free) costs R309.95 on USN's shop and R349.99 at Dis-Chem for 234 g. USN's product link refers to 30 servings, which would be about R10–R12 each, but the shop page does not publish ingredient doses, so we cannot check whether the citrulline is at the 6–8 g studied. A cheaper, fully transparent alternative is plain citrulline malate (see the single-ingredient stack below).

Strengths: No caffeine; About R10–R12 per serving if the 30-serving figure holds; Widely sold

Trade-offs: Ingredient doses not published on the shop page; Plain citrulline malate costs about R4.78–R8.62 per 6 g and shows the dose

### 8. NPL Hyper Pump Pre-Workout 500 g (No doses)

NPL is a well-stocked South African brand, and Hyper Pump's ingredient list reads well: L-citrulline malate, beta-alanine, creatine monohydrate, arginine, caffeine anhydrous, alpha-GPC and theanine. But the Dis-Chem Living Fit page gives no amounts for any of them, the serving is "two rounded scoops" with no scoop weight, and it is sweetened with sucralose. At R544.99 for 500 g we cannot calculate cost per serving or check any dose against the evidence. NPL's Blackout and N.O Charge have the same problem. No third-party testing is listed.

Strengths: Includes the main evidence-based ingredients by name; Large 500 g tub at Dis-Chem

Trade-offs: No doses published, including caffeine; Cost per serving cannot be calculated; No third-party testing listed

### 9. Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme Super-C Orange 400 g (Blends only)

Evox Alpha Pre-Surge Extreme is cheap for its size at R249.95 for 400 g on Dis-Chem Living Fit (down from R299.99). The label groups its ingredients into an energy stack, pump complex and creatine load without stating amounts, which is the proprietary-blend problem in practice: you cannot see the caffeine or whether citrulline and creatine reach useful doses. If you only want an inexpensive flavoured stimulant drink and do not compete in tested sport, it may suit you. Otherwise, a disclosed formula or a single-ingredient stack is the better buy.

Strengths: Low tub price for 400 g; Sold at Dis-Chem

Trade-offs: Blends with no amounts, so caffeine and doses are unknown; No third-party testing listed

### 10. Clicks (house brand) Clicks Pre-Workout Formula 240 g (Cheapest tub)

Clicks' house-brand pre-workout is the cheapest tub we found at R155 for 240 g (Clicks, via PriceCheck). We could not read its caffeine, servings or ingredient doses from the listing, so it ranks last on our transparency criterion, not because it is known to be poor. Read the tub in store: if it shows caffeine mg, citrulline and beta-alanine per serving, you can judge it against the table above. Nutritech Nuke (R259 for 240 g at Clicks) is in the same position.

Strengths: Lowest tub price we found (R155); Easy to buy in Clicks stores

Trade-offs: Caffeine and doses not available on the listing we read; Cost per serving unknown

## Is a single-ingredient pre-workout stack cheaper?

Building your own pre-workout from single ingredients lets you see and set every dose. Using October 2026 prices:

| Ingredient | Product | Dose | Cost per dose |
|---|---|---|---|
| Caffeine | Ultra Caffeine 200 mg, 60 capsules (Takealot, R199) | 200 mg | R3.32 |
| Citrulline malate | ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate 250 g (R280) | 6 g | R6.72 |
| Beta-alanine | ATP Fitness Beta-Alanine 200 g (R260) | 3.2 g a day | R4.16 |
| **Total** | | | **R14.20** |

A cheapest-possible version (My Whey citrulline malate at R4.78 per 6 g and My Whey or USN beta-alanine at R2.50 per 3.2 g) comes to **about R10.60**. Either way you get evidence-matched citrulline and beta-alanine and a known caffeine dose for less than C4 (R23–R25) or Optimum Nutrition (R30). Add 3–5 g creatine monohydrate (R2.22–R4.17) if you want it.

How to use it: take caffeine and citrulline about 60 minutes before training. Take beta-alanine every day, including rest days, split into doses of about 1–1.5 g with meals to limit tingling. Never use loose caffeine powder: a single teaspoon can hold a dangerous, potentially fatal dose, and kitchen scales cannot measure it safely. Capsules or coffee are safer. The caffeine capsule brand is a listing-title detail we could not verify, and the trade-off of DIY is taste: unflavoured citrulline is sour.

## Are pre-workouts safe, and what about DMAA and DMHA?

For healthy adults, a pre-workout with a known, moderate caffeine dose is low risk. The problems come from high or hidden stimulant doses and from contamination. A 2026 letter in the *South African Medical Journal* from UCT clinical pharmacologists raised concerns about toxicity from caffeine-containing pre-workouts. See a doctor before using any stimulant pre-workout if you have high blood pressure, a heart rhythm problem, anxiety, are pregnant, or take medicines such as antidepressants or stimulants. Under-18s should not use them.

**DMAA** (methylhexaneamine, 1,3-dimethylamylamine) and **DMHA** (octodrine, 1,5-dimethylhexylamine) are stimulants on WADA's prohibited list (class S6, banned in competition), and the Australian Institute of Sport puts DMAA in Group D. Dis-Chem pulled the DMAA-era pre-workout Jack3d from its shelves in 2015. A 2021 Dutch study found undeclared doping substances, including DMAA, in 38% of 66 supplements bought online for muscle gain, fat loss or energy. Imported "hardcore" pre-workouts bought from social media sellers or offshore sites carry the highest risk.

For tested athletes, SAIDS applies **strict liability**: whatever is in your sample is your responsibility, whatever the label says. SAIDS flags muscle-building, weight-loss and 'booster' products as the highest-risk categories, which many hardcore pre-workouts overlap with, does not approve any brand, and advises a food-first approach and a sports dietitian. If you compete, use a batch-tested product (Biogen states Informed Sport for Premium Pre-Workout; USN states Informed Choice for XTS Hyperdrive) and check the batch number, or use a single-ingredient stack you can verify.

## How we compared

1. We priced 15 pre-workouts sold in South Africa (Dis-Chem Living Fit, USN's shop, Clicks and Takealot via PriceCheck) on 27 October 2026, and recorded every published dose from the brand or retailer page.
2. Ranking criterion, stated openly: first, whether caffeine (mg) and the main actives are published; second, how close those doses are to the research doses (caffeine 3–6 mg/kg, citrulline malate 6–8 g, beta-alanine 3.2 g or more, creatine 3–5 g); third, cost per serving.
3. We calculated cost per serving only where servings or scoop weight were published, and show the arithmetic. Where we estimated (for example from the sum of listed actives), we say so.
4. Doses quoted from a brand's global or US page are labelled as such, because the South African tub can differ.
5. Testing claims (Informed Sport, Informed Choice) are recorded as stated by the brand or seller; we did not verify certificates.
6. ATP Fitness, a featured partner of Healthnews24, sells no pre-workout and is not ranked. Its single-ingredient citrulline and beta-alanine appear only in the DIY stack, priced with the same maths as the alternatives. Rankings follow our published method.

## Which should you choose?

- **Best all-round, transparent label**: Biogen Premium Pre-Workout. Every dose published, moderate caffeine, Informed Sport stated by Biogen.
- **Strongest formula, experienced user**: USN Qhush Platinum Black. 300 mg caffeine, 6 g citrulline malate, 4 g beta-alanine on the global label; check the local tub.
- **Lowest cost per serving**: USN XTS Hyperdrive. About R5.40 per scoop with a published caffeine figure.
- **Full control and evidence-matched doses**: Single-ingredient stack. Caffeine capsule plus citrulline malate and beta-alanine for about R10.60–R14.20 per serving.
- **No stimulants**: USN Qhush caffeine-free or plain citrulline malate. No caffeine; plain citrulline shows the dose and costs less.
- **Drug-tested athlete**: Biogen Premium Pre-Workout. Batch-tested claim stated by Biogen; verify the batch, or skip pre-workouts entirely.

## FAQ

### What is the best pre-workout in South Africa?

On published, evidence-matched doses, Biogen Premium Pre-Workout ranks first as of October 2026: 150 mg caffeine, 3.5 g beta-alanine, 4 g citrulline malate and 3 g creatine, with Informed Sport stated by Biogen, for R400–R430 per 600 g. USN Qhush Platinum Black has the strongest formula on USN's global page, including 300 mg caffeine, though the South African tub may differ.

### How much caffeine should a pre-workout have?

The ISSN position stand puts the effective range at 3–6 mg per kg of body weight, so about 210–420 mg for a 70 kg adult, and benefits may start near 2 mg/kg. Start low. Count coffee, energy drinks and caffeinated gels in your daily total, and avoid caffeine within about six hours of bedtime.

### What is the cheapest pre-workout per serving?

USN XTS Hyperdrive is about R5.40 per 5.3 g scoop (R214 for 210 g), the lowest we found with a published caffeine figure. Clicks Pre-Workout Formula is the cheapest tub (R155 for 240 g), but its servings and doses were not published on the listing we read.

### Is DMAA or DMHA legal in South African supplements?

In sport, both are on WADA's prohibited list as in-competition stimulants, so any tested athlete who takes them risks a ban under SAIDS strict liability. We could not confirm their legal status for retail sale in South Africa. Dis-Chem removed the DMAA-era pre-workout Jack3d in 2015. Be most cautious with imported 'hardcore' pre-workouts bought from social media or offshore websites.

### Can teenagers take pre-workout?

No. Stimulant pre-workouts are not suitable for under-18s, and SAIDS advises young athletes against performance supplements without a sports dietitian or doctor involved. School athletes are also subject to strict liability if they are tested.

### Is a DIY pre-workout better than a ready-made one?

It is more transparent and often cheaper. A caffeine capsule, 6 g citrulline malate and 3.2 g beta-alanine cost about R10.60–R14.20 per serving at October 2026 prices, against R23–R30 for C4 or Optimum Nutrition. The trade-offs are taste and convenience.


## Sources

- [Guest et al. 2021, ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance (JISSN)](https://jissn.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12970-020-00383-4)
- [Trexler et al. 2015, ISSN position stand: beta-alanine (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC4501114/)
- [Gough et al. 2021, A critical review of citrulline malate supplementation and exercise performance (Eur J Appl Physiol)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8571142/)
- [Harty et al. 2018, Multi-ingredient pre-workout supplements, safety implications, and performance outcomes: a brief review (JISSN)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC6083567)
- [Maughan et al. 2018, IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete (BJSM 52:439)](https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/52/7/439)
- [Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group D](https://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/supplements/group_d)
- [Sport Integrity Australia: octodrine (DMHA) substance profile](https://sportintegrity.gov.au/substances/octodrine-2-amino-6-methylheptane)
- [WADA Prohibited List, S6 stimulants (reproduced by Drugs.com)](https://www.drugs.com/wada/s6-stimulants.html)
- [Duiven et al. 2021, Undeclared doping substances are highly prevalent in commercial sports nutrition supplements (J Sports Sci Med)](https://jssm.org/jssm-20-328.xml-abst)
- [News24 (27 Nov 2015): Dis-Chem pulls fitness supplement Jack3d from shelves](https://www.news24.com/life/archive/dis-chem-pulls-fitness-supplement-jack3d-from-shelves-20151127)
- [South African Medical Journal (2026): correspondence on caffeine-containing pre-workout supplements](https://samajournals.co.za/index.php/samj/article/view/5186)
- [SAIDS: supplements and their risks](https://drugfreesport.org.za/supplements-and-their-risks/)
- [Biogen: Premium Pre-Workout product article](https://biogen.co.za/?p=35301)
- [USN Global: Qhush Black Platinum](https://usn.global/products/qhush-black-platinum)
- [USN: XTS Hyperdrive](https://www.usn.co.za/products/xts-hyperdrive)
- [Cellucor: C4 Original](https://www.cellucor.com/products/c4-original)
- [Dis-Chem Living Fit: Biogen Rage Rampage Pre-Workout 400 g](https://dischemlivingfit.co.za/shop/biogen-rage-rampage-pre-workout-400g/)