Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

How much caffeine is in pre-workout in South Africa?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 3 min read
Answer first

Pre-workouts sold in South Africa that publish a figure range from 150 mg a scoop (Biogen Premium, USN XTS Hyperdrive) to 200 mg (Cellucor C4, US page) and 300 mg (USN Qhush Platinum Black, global page). Many local tubs do not state caffeine at all. EFSA found up to 400 mg a day, and single doses up to 200 mg, raise no safety concern for healthy adults.

  • Published SA pre-workout caffeine: 150 mg (Biogen Premium, USN XTS Hyperdrive), 200 mg (C4, US page), 300 mg (Qhush Platinum Black, global page).
  • EFSA 2015: up to 400 mg a day, and single doses up to 200 mg, raise no safety concern for healthy adults; 200 mg a day in pregnancy.
  • ISSN: 3–6 mg/kg is ergogenic; about 9 mg/kg adds side effects without more benefit.
  • A cup of brewed coffee has about 95 mg of caffeine, instant about 60 mg, an espresso shot about 65 mg.
  • Ultra Caffeine 200 mg capsules cost R3.32 each (R199 for 60, Takealot, October 2026).

How much caffeine is in pre-workout in South Africa?

Published figures we could verify in October 2026:

Product Caffeine per serving Source of the figure
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 150 mg Biogen product article
USN XTS Hyperdrive 150 mg USN page (serving basis not stated)
Cellucor C4 Original 200 mg Cellucor US page (not the SA label)
USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 mg USN global page (not the SA label; the SA tub size does not match its serving count)

For several popular tubs, the retailer page names caffeine anhydrous or says "high in stimulants" but gives no milligrams: NPL Blackout, Hyper Pump and N.O Charge, Evox Alpha Surge, Biogen Rage Rampage, MuscleTech Vapor X5, Optimum Gold Standard, and the Clicks and Nutritech pre-workouts. If the amount is not on the label, treat the product as unknown and start with half a scoop. For tubs sold in South Africa, always check the local label, because the US and global pages can differ from the SA tub.

How does that compare with coffee?

Per Harvard's Nutrition Source, a cup of brewed coffee has about 95 mg, instant about 60 mg and an espresso shot about 65 mg. So a 150 mg scoop is roughly one and a half strong filter coffees, and a 300 mg scoop is about three.

How much caffeine is safe?

  • EFSA (2015): habitual intake up to 400 mg a day, and single doses up to 200 mg (including within two hours before intense exercise), raise no safety concern for healthy adults. For pregnant and breastfeeding women the figure is 200 mg a day.
  • ISSN: performance benefits at 3–6 mg per kg of body weight, and from about 2 mg/kg. For a 70 kg person, 3 mg/kg is 210 mg and 6 mg/kg is 420 mg.
  • Ceiling: around 9 mg/kg increases side effects without extra benefit.
  • Teens: EFSA proposed 3 mg/kg of body weight a day as a safe level for children and adolescents. See pre-workout for teenagers.

Add up all sources on the day: a 300 mg pre-workout plus two coffees and an energy drink can pass 500 mg.

What does caffeine cost in each option?

Source Cost per 200 mg (approx.)
Ultra Caffeine 200 mg capsule (60 for R199, Takealot via undated PriceCheck snapshot) R3.32
USN XTS Hyperdrive (about R5.40–R5.90 per 150 mg scoop) about R7–R8
Biogen Premium (estimated floor of about R13.40 per 150 mg serving) about R18 or more
Cellucor C4 (R23–R25 per 200 mg serving) R23–R25

Pre-workouts are a poor way to buy caffeine alone; you are paying for the other ingredients. Pure caffeine in capsule form is cheap, but never use bulk caffeine powder: a tiny measuring error can be dangerous.

How should you pick a dose?

  1. Work out 3 mg/kg for your weight. That is a solid starting point.
  2. Choose a product that lets you reach it, and take half a scoop first.
  3. Count all caffeine in the day, and stop 8–10 hours before bed. See pre-workout and sleep.
  4. If you get palpitations, shaking or anxiety, cut the dose. See pre-workout heart palpitations and anxiety.

Who should avoid it?

Under-18s, pregnant or breastfeeding women, and people with heart rhythm problems, hypertension, anxiety disorders or certain antidepressants and stimulant medicines should speak to a doctor first. For our full ranking see the best pre-workout in South Africa.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceServingsR per servingSweeteners
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g600 gR399.99-R429.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026——not stated
USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g210 gR214-R232.99USN online shop, Oct 2026—R5.40not stated
Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g195 gR699-R752.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202630R25.10Sucralose and acesulfame potassium
USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g300 gR489.99-R499USN online shop, Oct 2026——Acesulfame-K and sucralose (global page)
Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules)60 capsulesR199Takealot via PriceCheck, Oct 202660R3.32Not published

Compare the options

Sources

  1. Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN
  2. NutraIngredients (Apr 2015): EFSA adopts caffeine opinion
  3. Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health: Caffeine, The Nutrition Source
  4. Biogen: Premium Pre-Workout product article
  5. USN Global: Qhush Platinum Black pre-workout
  6. EFSA (2015): Scientific opinion on the safety of caffeine, topic page

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How much caffeine is in pre-workout in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-caffeine-in-pre-workout-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-much-caffeine-in-pre-workout-south-africa.md