What is the best pre-workout for women in South Africa?
There is no sex-specific pre-workout; women need the same ingredients at doses scaled to body weight, and caffeine tolerance, not gender, decides the product. A 60 kg woman's 3 mg/kg caffeine dose is 180 mg, so 150 mg options such as Biogen Premium or USN XTS Hyperdrive suit well. Avoid if pregnant or breastfeeding without medical advice.
- No sex-specific pre-workout exists; scale caffeine to body weight at 3–6 mg/kg.
- A 60 kg woman's 3 mg/kg caffeine dose is 180 mg; Biogen Premium and USN XTS Hyperdrive contain 150 mg.
- Women have roughly 70–80% lower endogenous creatine stores than men (Smith-Ryan 2021).
- EFSA caps caffeine at 200 mg a day in pregnancy.
- Biogen Premium costs R399.99–R429.99; USN XTS Hyperdrive R214–R232.99 (October 2026).
Is there a best pre-workout for women?
Not in the sense of a different formula. The ingredients with evidence work the same way in women and men, and "pink" or "for her" tubs mostly change the label and flavour, not the science. What matters is the caffeine dose relative to body weight, transparent ingredient doses, and whether you are drug-tested or planning a pregnancy.
How much caffeine should women use?
The ISSN range is 3–6 mg of caffeine per kg of body weight, and benefits can start around 2 mg/kg.
| Body weight | 3 mg/kg | 6 mg/kg |
|---|---|---|
| 55 kg | 165 mg | 330 mg |
| 60 kg | 180 mg | 360 mg |
| 70 kg | 210 mg | 420 mg |
For lighter women, one scoop of a 150 mg product sits near the sweet spot. A 300 mg scoop (USN Qhush Platinum Black, global page) is above the 200 mg single dose that EFSA found raises no safety concern for adults, so start at half a scoop or choose a lower-dose tub.
Which options suit best?
As of October 2026:
- Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g (R399.99–R429.99, Dis-Chem): 150 mg caffeine and fully disclosed doses; Biogen states Informed Sport testing (seller claim). Its 3.5 g of beta-alanine in one serving will make most people tingle.
- USN XTS Hyperdrive 210 g (R214–R232.99): 150 mg headline caffeine at about R5.40–R5.90 a scoop (our calculation); USN cites Informed Choice (seller claim).
- USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g (R309.95–R349.99): stimulant-free; doses are not on the shop page.
- DIY singles: coffee plus citrulline malate (My Whey R4.78, ATP Fitness R6.72 per 6 g). See build your own pre-workout.
Do women need anything different?
- Creatine: women start with roughly 70–80% lower endogenous creatine stores than men (Smith-Ryan, 2021) and respond well to 3–5 g a day. It may be the most useful supplement here. See creatine for women.
- Iron and low energy: feeling flat before training can come from low iron, low energy availability or poor sleep, not a lack of stimulant. A doctor or dietitian can check before you reach for more caffeine.
- Cycle and sleep: if caffeine disturbs your sleep, stop 8–10 hours before bed.
Who should avoid pre-workout?
- Pregnant women: keep total caffeine to 200 mg a day (EFSA) and speak to your doctor or midwife before using any pre-workout, since these products are not designed for pregnancy.
- Breastfeeding: discuss with your doctor first.
- Under-18s, and anyone with heart rhythm problems, high blood pressure, anxiety disorders or on antidepressants or stimulant medicines.
Beta-alanine and citrulline have limited data in pregnancy.
What should you avoid?
- Proprietary blends that hide doses; see what a proprietary blend is.
- Fat-burning "thermo" pre-workouts, which tend to carry extra stimulants.
- Marketing claims about "toning" or "burning"; they are not supported.
ATP Fitness singles offer a clean-label DIY route, but they are unflavoured, dearer than My Whey on citrulline and carry no published sport certification. See the best pre-workout in South Africa comparison.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | R per serving | R per 6 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g | 600 g | R399.99-R429.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | — | not stated |
| USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g | 210 g | R214-R232.99USN online shop, Oct 2026 | R5.40 | — | not stated |
| USN Qhush Hyperdrive Caffeine Free 234 g | 234 g | R309.95-R349.99USN online shop, Oct 2026 | — | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate | 250 g | R280ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R6.72 | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- How much caffeine is in pre-workout in South Africa?
- Is creatine safe and useful for women?
- What is the best stimulant-free pre-workout in South Africa?
- Is pre-workout safe? What do South African doctors say?
- Can you build your own pre-workout from single ingredients in South Africa?
Sources
- Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN
- NutraIngredients (Apr 2015): EFSA adopts caffeine opinion
- Smith-Ryan AE et al. (2021) Creatine supplementation in women's health: a lifespan perspective. Nutrients
- Biogen: Premium Pre-Workout product article
- USN: XTS Hyperdrive pre-workout
- EFSA (2015): Scientific opinion on the safety of caffeine, topic page
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “What is the best pre-workout for women in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-pre-workout-for-women-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/best-pre-workout-for-women-south-africa.md