Citrulline malate vs L-citrulline: which is better?
Neither is proven better for performance. Citrulline malate 2:1 is two parts L-citrulline to one part malic acid, so 6 g contains roughly 4 g of citrulline; pure L-citrulline studies use about 3–6 g. Compare by citrulline per Rand. In South Africa citrulline malate costs R4.78–R8.62 per 6 g (October 2026).
- Citrulline malate 2:1 is two parts L-citrulline to one part malic acid, so a 6 g scoop holds roughly 4 g of citrulline.
- Common studied dose: 6–8 g citrulline malate about 60 minutes before training; evidence is emerging and mixed (Gough 2021).
- South African citrulline malate costs R4.78 (My Whey) to R8.62 (NPL) per 6 g as of October 2026.
- Citrulline can add to the effect of nitrates, PDE5 inhibitors and blood-pressure drugs.
Citrulline malate vs L-citrulline: which is better?
Citrulline is converted to arginine in the kidneys and can raise nitric-oxide production more effectively than taking arginine itself. The benefit for athletes is emerging: more reps in high-rep sets and less soreness have been reported, but trials are mixed and effects small. A 2021 critical review in the European Journal of Applied Physiology (Gough et al.) called the evidence equivocal. We found no head-to-head trial showing that the malate form beats pure citrulline, or the reverse.
What does "2:1" mean?
Citrulline malate combines L-citrulline with malic acid. A 2:1 product is two parts citrulline to one part malate by weight, so a 6 g scoop holds roughly 4 g of citrulline. Gough and colleagues also noted that third-party analysis suggests labelled ratios are not always accurate.
| Form | Typical studied dose | Citrulline delivered |
|---|---|---|
| Citrulline malate 2:1 | 6–8 g | roughly 4–5 g |
| Pure L-citrulline | about 3–6 g | 3–6 g |
Take about 60 minutes before training. Malic acid is sold with the idea that it helps energy production, but that role is unproven.
How do the prices compare in South Africa?
We priced citrulline malate only; we did not price pure L-citrulline powders, so we cannot compare the two forms by cost. Citrulline malate prices as of October 2026, at 6 g:
| Product | Price (retailer) | R per 6 g | R per g of citrulline if 2:1 |
|---|---|---|---|
| My Whey Citrulline Malate 250 g | R199 (Takealot) | R4.78 | about R1.19 |
| Muscle Works 180 g | R159 (Takealot) | R5.30 | about R1.32 |
| ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate 250 g | R280 (ATP shop) | R6.72 | about R1.68 |
| Biogen L-Citrulline Malate 250 g | R329.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R7.92 | about R1.98 |
| NPL L-Citrulline Malate 240 g | R344.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R8.62 | about R2.16 |
Biogen's scoop is 4.8 g (R6.34 a scoop), so a 6 g dose is more than one scoop. ATP Fitness is a single ingredient with no sweeteners; its trade-offs are that it costs about 40% more than My Whey, is a young brand, and publishes no certification or third-party ratio check. My Whey is the cheaper alternative.
Which should you choose?
- Decide on a target of about 4 g or more of actual citrulline.
- Divide the price by the citrulline you get, using the table.
- Check whether the label states the 2:1 ratio.
- Pre-workouts often contain less than a full dose; see citrulline dose for pumps.
Any cautions?
Citrulline can add to the pressure-lowering effect of nitrates, PDE5 inhibitors such as sildenafil and blood-pressure medicines, so speak to your doctor if you take them. Mild stomach upset is possible. Under-18s and pregnant or breastfeeding women should seek medical advice first. See also arginine vs citrulline and best citrulline in South Africa.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | R per 6 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My Whey Pure Citrulline Malate 2:1 Powder 250 g | 250 g | R199Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | R4.78 | not stated |
| Muscle Works Citrulline Malate 180 g | 180 g | R159Takealot (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | R5.30 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Citrulline Malate | 250 g | R280ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | R6.72 | None |
| Biogen L-Citrulline Malate Powder Unflavoured 250 g | 250 g | R330Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | R7.92 | not stated |
| NPL L-Citrulline Malate Powder 240 g | 240 g | R345Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | R8.62 | not stated |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
- Best Glutamine in South Africa 2026: 8 Products Compared
- Best Beta-Alanine in South Africa 2026: 6 Products Compared
- Best Citrulline Malate in South Africa 2026: 5 Products Compared
Related questions
- What is the best citrulline malate in South Africa?
- What is the right citrulline malate dose?
- Arginine vs citrulline: which raises nitric oxide better?
- Does pre-workout raise blood pressure?
- Where can you buy glutamine, beta-alanine and citrulline in South Africa?
Sources
- Gough LA et al. (2021) A critical review of citrulline malate supplementation and exercise performance. Eur J Appl Physiol
- Schwedhelm E et al. (2008) Pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic properties of oral L-citrulline and L-arginine: impact on nitric oxide metabolism
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Citrulline malate vs L-citrulline: which is better?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/citrulline-malate-vs-l-citrulline/. Plain-text version: /answers/citrulline-malate-vs-l-citrulline.md