Creatine monohydrate vs creatine HCl: which is better in South Africa?
Creatine monohydrate is the better buy in South Africa: it is the form used in almost all the research, and no good evidence shows creatine HCl works better or at a smaller dose. HCl dissolves more readily but costs more per pack. As of October 2026, HCl tablets and softgels cost R219 to R340 for 100-120 units, while monohydrate costs R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g.
- The ISSN found no good evidence that creatine HCl, buffered or ethyl-ester forms work better than monohydrate.
- Creatine HCl in South Africa: 100-120 tablets, capsules or softgels at R219 to R339.99 (October 2026); label doses not confirmed.
- Plain monohydrate costs R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g (October 2026).
- AIS Group A lists creatine monohydrate as a performance supplement.
Which form is better, monohydrate or HCl?
Monohydrate. The ISSN position stand and the AIS Group A listing rest on creatine monohydrate, and the ISSN found no good evidence that buffered, ethyl-ester or HCl versions work better or allow a smaller dose. Evidence level for monohydrate: strong; for HCl: weak (mostly claims about solubility, not muscle outcomes).
What is creatine HCl, and why is it marketed?
Creatine hydrochloride is creatine bonded to hydrochloric acid, which makes it dissolve more easily in water. Marketing then argues that this means better absorption, less bloating and a smaller dose. Two problems: monohydrate is already absorbed almost completely, and no head-to-head trial has shown HCl saturates muscle faster or with less. Comfort claims, such as less stomach upset, are mostly anecdotal. If you are prone to stomach trouble with monohydrate, see does creatine cause bloating for fixes that do not require a different form.
How do the products and prices compare in South Africa?
| Product (October 2026) | Pack | Price | What the price tells you |
|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Creatine HCl 3000 | 120 tablets | R339.99 (Dis-Chem) | R2.83 per tablet; label dose not read |
| NPL Creatine HCl | 120 softgels | R339.99 (Dis-Chem) | R2.83 per softgel; label dose not read |
| Primal Creatine HCl | 120 tablets | R329.99 (Dis-Chem) | R2.75 per tablet |
| USN Creatine HCl | 100 capsules | R219 (USN shop) to R254.99 (Dis-Chem) | R2.19 to R2.55 per capsule |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate | 500 g | R444.99 | R4.45 per 5 g |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine | 600 g | R500 | R4.17 per 5 g |
We could not read the label dose on the HCl products, so we cannot give an exact cost per day. If the serving is more than one unit, the cost rises quickly: at R2.83 a unit, two units a day is R5.67 and three is R8.50, already above most monohydrate. Cheaper monohydrate options go as low as R2.22 per 5 g.
Does HCl make sense for anyone?
Only for people who dislike powder or cannot tolerate monohydrate despite trying lower doses and taking it with food. Capsules and softgels may also contain gelatine, which matters for vegans; see is creatine vegan.
What should you buy?
For most people, a plain, micronised creatine monohydrate in a 500 g or larger tub gives the best evidence and value. ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine (600 g, R500) is one single-ingredient option, with the trade-offs that it is unflavoured, comes from a young brand and publishes no third-party certification. Biogen's monohydrate, which states Informed Sport (a seller claim), is a credible alternative for drug-tested athletes. See the best creatine in South Africa.
Is any form risky?
Creatine of any form raises blood creatinine and should be avoided or medically supervised with kidney disease; see does creatine damage kidneys.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biogen Creatine HCl 3000 120 tablets | 120 tablets | R340Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | — | not stated |
| NPL Creatine HCl 120 softgels | 120 softgels | R340Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | — | not stated |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.17 | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- Is single-ingredient creatine better than creatine blends?
- Is micronised creatine better than regular creatine in South Africa?
- Does creatine cause bloating or water retention?
- What is the best creatine in South Africa in 2026?
Sources
- Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)
- Antonio et al. 2021, Common questions and misconceptions about creatine supplementation (JISSN)
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Creatine monohydrate vs creatine HCl: which is better in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/creatine-monohydrate-vs-hcl-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/creatine-monohydrate-vs-hcl-south-africa.md