Is single-ingredient creatine better than creatine blends?
For most people in South Africa, yes: single-ingredient creatine monohydrate is the form with the evidence, it is cheaper per gram of creatine, and it carries less contamination risk than blends. Mixes that add sugars, flavours or extras are only better if you actually prefer the taste. As of October 2026, plain monohydrate costs R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g.
- ISSN and AIS Group A evidence refers to creatine monohydrate at 3-5 g a day, not blends or other forms.
- Plain monohydrate costs R2.22 to R6.25 per 5 g in South Africa; carbohydrate mixes cannot be compared per 5 g (October 2026).
- USN CreaTest adds 1 500 mg D-aspartic acid and 100 mg ashwagandha to 5 000 mg creatine per serving.
- Duiven et al. 2021: 38% of 66 fat-loss, muscle and energy supplements contained undeclared doping substances.
What is the difference between single-ingredient creatine and blends?
A single-ingredient product is creatine monohydrate and nothing else. A blend adds other ingredients: carbohydrate to aid uptake, flavours and sweeteners, amino acids, or "performance" extras. In South Africa you will see both on the same shelf.
Is the evidence better for plain monohydrate?
Yes. The ISSN position stand and the AIS Group A listing refer to creatine monohydrate, at 3-5 g a day. The ISSN found no good evidence that other forms or added ingredients work better. Carbohydrate can modestly improve creatine uptake, but you can get the same effect by taking plain creatine with a normal meal or shake.
Which blends are sold in South Africa?
- Carbohydrate-creatine mixes: Evox Creatine Overload (650 g, R130.99), NPL Anabolic Creatine (675 g, R199.99), Primal Creatine Charge (860 g, R264.99) and Biogen Creatine Ultra Load (860 g, R269.99). They look cheap per gram but most of the scoop is carbohydrate, so the cost per 5 g of creatine is not comparable with monohydrate. MuscleTech Cell-Tech (1.36 kg, R929.99) adds carbohydrates, BCAAs and aminos, and does not state amounts.
- Creatine plus extras: USN CreaTest (375 g, R299.95) lists 5 000 mg creatine monohydrate with 1 500 mg D-aspartic acid and 100 mg ashwagandha per serving. Ashwagandha has documented rare liver-injury reports and has been restricted in some European countries; see supplements and liver injury.
- Other creatine forms: creatine HCl, nitrate and softgels cost more per dose and lack monohydrate's evidence; see monohydrate vs HCl.
What does single-ingredient creatine cost?
| Product (October 2026) | Price | R per 5 g |
|---|---|---|
| Nutritech 500 g | R249.95 to R399 | R2.50 to R3.99 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g | R500 | R4.17 |
| Biogen Unflavoured 500 g | R444.99 | R4.45 |
| USN Pure 300 g | R279 to R299 | about R4.98 |
| Foundation Creapure 400 g | R499.95 | R6.25 |
Is contamination a real risk with blends?
Yes, particularly for athletes. International testing found undeclared banned substances in a large share of multi-ingredient supplements marketed for muscle gain or fat loss: Duiven et al. 2021 reported 38% of 66 such products. Single-ingredient products from reputable makers generally carry lower risk, though none is zero-risk without batch testing. SAIDS flags muscle-building products as higher risk and certifies no brand. Read what third-party tested means.
So what should you buy?
If you want the cheapest effective option with a clean label, buy plain monohydrate in a 500 g or larger tub. ATP Fitness is built around this single-ingredient approach, with micronised creatine at R4.17 per 5 g for 600 g; credible alternatives include Biogen (Informed Sport stated by the seller) and Nutritech for price. The honest trade-offs for ATP: it is unflavoured, young (2024) and publishes no third-party certification. If you hate plain powder, mix it into a flavoured shake instead of buying a blend. See the best creatine in South Africa.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.17 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| USN CreaTest 375 g | 375 g | R300USN online shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.00 | not stated |
| MuscleTech Cell-Tech Creatine 1.36 kg | 1.36 kg | R930Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | R3.42 | not stated |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- Creatine monohydrate vs creatine HCl: which is better in South Africa?
- What is the best creatine in South Africa in 2026?
- What does third-party tested mean on a supplement label?
- What is a proprietary blend and why can it be a red flag?
- Which supplements are linked to liver injury?
Sources
- Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A
- Maughan et al. 2018, IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete (BJSM 52:439)
- Björnsson et al. 2020, Ashwagandha-induced liver injury: case series from Iceland and the US DILIN (Liver International 40:825)
- Dis-Chem Living Fit: creatine category (October 2026)
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Is single-ingredient creatine better than creatine blends?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-single-ingredient-creatine-better/. Plain-text version: /answers/is-single-ingredient-creatine-better.md