How much does creatine cost in South Africa?
Creatine monohydrate costs roughly R44 to R125 per 100 g in South Africa as of October 2026, which is R67 to R188 a month at 5 g a day. Budget brands run about R2.22 to R4 per 5 g, mainstream shelf prices R4.45 to R5.55, and Creapure about R6.25. Larger tubs and Takealot or online prices are usually cheapest.
- Plain creatine monohydrate costs about R44 to R125 per 100 g in South Africa (October 2026).
- At 5 g a day the monthly cost is roughly R67 to R188 for mainstream and Creapure brands.
- ATP Fitness 600 g is R500 (R83 per 100 g); the 250 g tub is R270 (R108 per 100 g).
- Creapure products cost more: Foundation 400 g is R499.95 and Empyre For Men 300 g is R850 to R949.
What is the typical price of creatine in South Africa?
As of October 2026, plain creatine monohydrate costs between about R44 and R125 per 100 g, depending on brand, tub size and retailer. A 5 g daily dose uses 150 g a month, so the monthly cost is about 1.5 times the per-100 g price.
| Product | Pack and price (October 2026) | R per 100 g | Monthly cost at 5 g/day |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options | 500 g, R221.88 (Knysna Health) | R44 | about R67 |
| Nutritech | 500 g, R249.95 to R399 | R50 to R80 | R75 to R120 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised | 600 g, R500 (ATP shop) | R83 | R125 |
| Biogen | 500 g, R444.99 (Dis-Chem) | R89 | about R134 |
| USN Pure Creatine | 300 g, R279 to R299 | about R100 | about R150 |
| NPL | 500 g, R299 (Takealot) to R539.99 (Dis-Chem) | R60 to R108 | R90 to R162 |
| Myprotein | 500 g, R554.99 (Dis-Chem) | R111 | about R167 |
| Foundation Creapure | 400 g, R499.95 (Dis-Chem) | R125 | about R188 |
Creapure-branded and imported premium products cost more still: Empyre For Men Prime Creapure 300 g is R850 to R949 (about R425 to R475 a month), and Thorne Micronized 450 g was R1 798 on a Takealot special.
Where is creatine sold, and who is cheapest?
Takealot, Dis-Chem, Clicks, Wellness Warehouse, Faithful to Nature, brand shops (USN, Biogen, NPL) and the ATP Fitness shop all sell it. The same product often differs by 40-80% between retailers, and Takealot specials are frequently the lowest; see creatine at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot. Supplements are standard-rated for VAT at 15%, which is included in the prices of VAT-registered sellers.
What makes creatine cheaper or dearer?
- Tub size: the largest effect. ATP's 250 g costs R108 per 100 g versus R83 for 600 g.
- Brand and sourcing: Creapure (German-made) carries a premium of roughly 1.4 times mainstream.
- Extras: carbohydrate-creatine mixes appear cheap per gram but are not comparable; see single-ingredient creatine.
- Sales: Takealot sale prices change often.
Is creatine worth the money?
Creatine monohydrate is the best-studied sports supplement and is an AIS Group A performance supplement. At R67 to R188 a month it is among the cheapest supplements with strong evidence. The ISSN maintenance dose is 3-5 g a day, so a 3 g dose costs about 60% of the figures above.
How do you avoid overpaying?
Divide price by grams, multiply by 5 and compare. Prefer 500 g or bigger tubs, check one ingredient, and see the best creatine in South Africa and cheapest creatine per serving.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.17 | None |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 250 g | R270ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R5.40 | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299USN online shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R2.50 | not stated |
| Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g | 400 g | R500Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | R6.25 | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- What is the cheapest creatine per serving in South Africa?
- Where is creatine cheapest: Dis-Chem, Clicks or Takealot?
- What is the best creatine in South Africa in 2026?
- How much creatine should you take per day?
Sources
- Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How much does creatine cost in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-does-creatine-cost-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-much-does-creatine-cost-south-africa.md