How much does glutamine cost per serving in South Africa?
As of October 2026, plain L-glutamine in South Africa costs R2.68–R7.50 per 5 g serving, or about R80–R225 a month. Nutritech 300 g (R160.95–R168) is cheapest and ATP Fitness 200 g (R300) the dearest, though ATP is a pure, unsweetened single ingredient. Bigger tubs cost less per dose: Biogen 500 g is R4.53 against R6.37 for its 200 g.
- Plain L-glutamine costs R2.68–R7.50 per 5 g across eight South African products (October 2026).
- A month at 5 g a day costs about R80 (Nutritech 300 g) to R225 (ATP Fitness 200 g).
- Biogen glutamine falls from about R10.00 per 5 g (100 g tub) to R4.53 (500 g tub).
- A 2019 meta-analysis found no significant effect of glutamine on athletic performance in athletes.
How much does glutamine cost per serving in South Africa?
We priced eight plain L-glutamine powders in October 2026 and divided by the common 5 g serving. Prices come from brand shops, Dis-Chem, Clicks, Wellness Warehouse and Faithful to Nature; some retailers vary by more than 10%, so we show bands.
| Product | Price (retailer) | Doses of 5 g | R per 5 g | 30 days at 5 g |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutritech L-Glutamine 300 g | R160.95–R168 (Wellness Warehouse, Clicks) | 60 | R2.68 | R80 |
| The Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g | R299 (Faithful to Nature) | 90 | R3.32 | R100 |
| USN Pure Glutamine 300 g | R259 (USN shop) | 60 | R4.32 | R130 |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 500 g | R453 (Dis-Chem) | 100 | R4.53 | R136 |
| Clicks L-Glutamine 125 g | R130 (Clicks) | 25 | R5.20 | R156 |
| Myprotein L-Glutamine 500 g | R550 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 100 | R5.50 | R165 |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 200 g | R255 (Dis-Chem) | 40 | R6.37 | R191 |
| ATP Fitness L-Glutamine 200 g | R300 (ATP shop) | 40 | R7.50 | R225 |
Why do the prices vary?
- Tub size. Biogen's 100 g tub (R199.99) works out at about R10.00 per 5 g, its 200 g at R6.37 and its 500 g at R4.53. Check the Rand per gram before you buy the small one.
- Brand positioning. The Harvest Table and Nutritech are value pouches and tubs. ATP Fitness is a pure, unsweetened single ingredient at a premium; its trade-offs are the highest price per dose, a young brand (est. 2024), and no published serving size or sport certification on the listing we read.
- Retailer. The same brand can be listed at different prices on Takealot, Dis-Chem and its own site.
We did not compute a per-dose price for USN's 150 g Glutamine 9000 (R129–R130) because its serving data is not on the shop page.
Is glutamine worth buying at any price?
Probably not for muscle. A 2019 meta-analysis found no significant effect on athletic performance, body composition or immune function in athletes, and whey already contains glutamine. If you still want a tub, the cheapest decent option is the best choice. See what glutamine does for athletes and how much glutamine per day.
How can you compare quickly?
- Divide the price by grams, then multiply by 5.
- Prefer tubs of 300–500 g if you will finish them.
- Compare the brand's own shop with Takealot and Dis-Chem; see where to buy glutamine and beta-alanine.
- Use the ranked page best glutamine in South Africa.
Drug-tested athletes should know that none of the glutamine listings we read shows a verified third-party certificate.
If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nutritech L-Glutamine 300 g | 300 g | R160.95-R168Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | R2.68 | not stated |
| The Harvest Table L-Glutamine 450 g pouch | 450 g | R299Faithful to Nature (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | R3.32 | not stated |
| USN Pure Glutamine 300 g | 300 g | R259USN online shop, Oct 2026 | R4.32 | not stated |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 500 g | 500 g | R453Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | R4.53 | not stated |
| Biogen L-Glutamine 200 g | 200 g | R255Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | R6.37 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness L-Glutamine | 200 g | R300ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | R7.50 | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
- Best Glutamine in South Africa 2026: 8 Products Compared
- Best Beta-Alanine in South Africa 2026: 6 Products Compared
- Best Citrulline Malate in South Africa 2026: 5 Products Compared
Related questions
- What is the best glutamine in South Africa?
- How much glutamine should you take a day?
- What does glutamine actually do?
- Where can you buy glutamine, beta-alanine and citrulline in South Africa?
- How do you compare supplement prices fairly?
Sources
- Ramezani Ahmadi A et al. (2019) Effect of glutamine supplementation on athletic performance, body composition and immune function: systematic review and meta-analysis. Clin Nutr 38:1076
- SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How much does glutamine cost per serving in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-does-glutamine-cost-per-serving-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-much-does-glutamine-cost-per-serving-south-africa.md