Is collagen halaal in South Africa?
It depends on the product. Collagen is halaal only if the animal source and processing are certified, and a brand's claim should be checked against the certifier's register. In South Africa, Biogen's collagen page states halaal and a Harvest Table multi-collagen listing cites MJC, but we could not verify certifiers. ATP Fitness's halaal status is not published.
- Collagen can be halaal only if the animal source, slaughter chain and processing are certified; gelatine may be porcine.
- Biogen's collagen page states halaal and a Harvest Table multi-collagen listing cites MJC; neither was checked against the certifier's register.
- ATP Fitness's halaal status for its collagen is not published; Collagen Cafe lists no certification and no collagen source.
- Verify by finding the certificate number and checking it with the certifier.
What makes collagen halaal or not?
Collagen is an animal product, so three things decide it:
- The animal. Bovine collagen can be halaal if the cattle were slaughtered according to halaal requirements; porcine collagen or gelatine is not permissible. Some marine collagen comes from fish skin, which avoids the slaughter question, but certification still depends on processing aids and cross-contact in the factory.
- The slaughter and sourcing chain. For bovine collagen, hides and bones must come from halaal-slaughtered animals. This is documented by the manufacturer and the certifier, not visible on the powder.
- The processing. Enzymes, acids and any additives must be permissible.
Gelatine is a particular risk because it is commonly made from pork as well as beef (collagen peptides vs gelatine).
What did we find in South Africa?
We list only what appears on retailer or brand pages, and we could not check these against the certifiers' registers:
| Product | Halaal information found (October 2026) |
|---|---|
| Biogen Platinum Collagen | Halaal stated on the Biogen product page; certifier not captured |
| The Harvest Table Multi Collagen | Halaal cited on the Faithful to Nature listing (MJC) |
| Mojome Pure Collagen (Bovine) | A PriceCheck listing claims Halaal (NIHT) and other certifications; none verified |
| Collagen Cafe liquid | No certification listed; collagen source not stated |
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | Halaal status not published |
| Other powders we priced (Sport Rx, MetaBody, Sally-Ann Creed, Amandean) | Not stated in our research |
If halaal is essential to you, treat a bare claim as a lead, not a proof.
How to verify
- Find the certificate number and body on the tub or the brand's website (for example MJC, NIHT or another recognised South African halaal authority).
- Check the certifier's public list of certified companies and products, or phone them.
- Ask the brand which animal and which country the collagen comes from, and for a copy of the halaal certificate covering that exact product and batch.
- Check gelatine capsules: a collagen capsule shell can itself be gelatine, whereas a "vegetarian capsule" is not.
What about price and choice?
Halaal certification should not be assumed from price. As of October 2026 collagen powders range from R10.44 per 10 g (ATP Fitness 910 g, R950, ATP shop) to R17.68 (Mojome 500 g, R884). If you want a certified product and a brand has not published certificates, the honest approach is to email them. ATP Fitness lists its collagen as 100% hydrolysed bovine peptides but does not publish a halaal or kosher certificate; a trade-off to weigh against its low cost per dose. Biogen's Peptan powders, at R12.81 to R14.64 per 10 g, state halaal on the product page.
Related reading: are supplements halaal and kosher in South Africa, the cheapest collagen per 10 g and our best collagen in South Africa page. For personal religious guidance, consult your local imam or certifying body.
If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 10 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | 91 | R10.44 | None |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, Unflavoured 280 g | 280 g | R410Biogen shop, Oct 2026 | 28 | R14.64 | none (unflavoured) |
| The Harvest Table Multi Collagen 450 g | 450 g | R625Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 28 | R13.89 | none |
| Mojome Pure Collagen Powder (Bovine) 500 g | 500 g | R884Knysna Health (via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R17.68 | none stated |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- How do you know if a supplement is halaal or kosher in South Africa?
- Collagen peptides vs gelatine: what is the difference?
- Marine vs bovine collagen: which is better in South Africa?
- What is hydrolysed collagen and why is it used?
- Is whey protein halaal in South Africa?
Sources
- Biogen: Collagen with Peptan (320 g)
- Faithful to Nature: collagen category (prices, October 2026)
- Dis-Chem Living Fit (14 Nov 2025): Collagen Cafe now stocked in select Dis-Chem stores
- ASC Food Safety Training: food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Is collagen halaal in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-collagen-halaal-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/is-collagen-halaal-south-africa.md