Which supplements help powerlifters in South Africa?
For powerlifting, creatine monohydrate (3 to 5 g a day) is the best-supported supplement, followed by enough protein (1.4 to 2.0 g per kg a day) and caffeine (3 to 6 mg per kg) on competition day. Creatine costs roughly R67 to R134 a month in South Africa (October 2026). Check your federation's drug-testing rules before taking any product.
- Creatine monohydrate at 3 to 5 g/day is the best-supported supplement for strength (ISSN); caffeine at 3 to 6 mg/kg adds small maximal-strength gains of about 2 to 7%.
- At 5 g a day, creatine costs roughly R67 a month (Pure Natural Options) to R134 (Biogen); ATP Fitness is about R125 (October 2026).
- Creatine causes about 1 to 2 kg of water gain in the first weeks, which matters for weight classes.
- Athletes are strictly liable for banned substances in any supplement; SAIDS does not certify products.
What has strong evidence for strength sports?
Powerlifting is maximal strength in three lifts, so the list is short. All of these sit in the Australian Institute of Sport's Group A (strong evidence) or protein basics:
| Supplement | Dose | What it does |
|---|---|---|
| Creatine monohydrate | 3 to 5 g/day (ISSN) | supports strength, power and lean mass |
| Protein | 1.4 to 2.0 g/kg/day; about 0.25 g/kg per dose | muscle repair and growth |
| Caffeine | 3 to 6 mg/kg, about 60 minutes before | small gains in maximal strength (about 2 to 7%) |
Beta-alanine matters little for one-rep efforts (it helps 1 to 4 minute efforts), and citrulline evidence is emerging and mixed.
How much does creatine cost per month?
At 5 g a day you use about 150 g a month. Using October 2026 tub prices:
| Tub | Per 5 g | About per month |
|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health) | R2.22 | R67 |
| Nutritech 500 g, R249.95 to R399 | R2.50 to R3.99 | R75 to R120 |
| ATP Fitness Micronised, 600 g, R500 | R4.17 | R125 |
| Biogen 500 g, R445 | R4.45 | R134 |
ATP Fitness is single-ingredient micronised creatine; the trade-offs are a young brand (2024) and no published third-party certification, while Biogen's listing claims Informed Sport (unverified). If you are tested, treat certification as a priority. See best creatine in South Africa and how much creatine per day.
What about weigh-ins and weight classes?
Creatine draws about 1 to 2 kg of water into muscle in the first weeks. If you compete in a tight class, start well before a meet and learn your own response. Do not use diuretics, saunas or severe fluid restriction to cut weight; it can be dangerous and impairs strength.
How do you use caffeine on meet day?
Take 3 to 6 mg/kg about an hour before your first lift; an 80 kg lifter takes 240 to 480 mg. Do not exceed this, since around 9 mg/kg adds side effects without benefit. A small top-up before deadlifts is common. Use a measured source, such as 200 mg capsules (Ultra Caffeine, R199 for 60 on Takealot via PriceCheck, about R3.32 each); never use pure caffeine powder. Test in training. See can you take creatine with caffeine.
What about drug testing?
Many powerlifting federations and meets are drug tested. Under the World Anti-Doping Code, adopted in South Africa through SAIDS, you are strictly liable for what is in your body, and SAIDS flags muscle-building and testosterone-booster products as highest risk. Avoid prohormones, SARMs and proprietary blends, and look for batch-tested products (can creatine cause a failed drug test).
Who should check with a professional?
Kidney disease, medication that affects the kidneys, pregnancy and under-18s should speak to a doctor or registered dietitian first. Creatine can raise blood creatinine, so tell your doctor you take it.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 5 g | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.17 | — | None |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | 100 | R4.45 | — | None (unflavoured) |
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R2.22 | — | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R2.50 | — | not stated |
| Ultra Caffeine 200 mg (60 capsules) | 60 capsules | R199Takealot via PriceCheck, Oct 2026 | 60 | — | R3.32 | Not published |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Related questions
- How much creatine should you take per day?
- What is the best creatine in South Africa in 2026?
- Will creatine cause a failed drug test in South Africa?
- How much weight will you gain on creatine?
- Which supplements help CrossFit athletes in South Africa?
Sources
- Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation (JISSN)
- Guest et al. 2021, ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance (JISSN)
- Jäger et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: protein and exercise (JISSN)
- SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Which supplements help powerlifters in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/supplements-for-powerlifting-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/supplements-for-powerlifting-south-africa.md