Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

What is Creapure and is it sold in South Africa?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 2 min read
Answer first

Creapure is a trademarked brand of creatine monohydrate made by Alzchem in Germany. It is chemically the same creatine monohydrate used in the research, sold on a purity and sourcing promise. In South Africa it is sold as Foundation (R6.25 per 5 g at 400 g) and Empyre For Men Prime (about R14–R17 per 5 g), as of October 2026.

  • Creapure is Alzchem's trademarked German creatine monohydrate; chemically it is standard monohydrate.
  • No research shows Creapure outperforms other good-quality creatine monohydrate.
  • Foundation Creapure 400 g costs R499.95 (R6.25 per 5 g, Dis-Chem, October 2026).
  • Empyre For Men Prime Creapure costs R850–R949 for 300 g at Faithful to Nature (October 2026).
  • Mainstream monohydrate runs from about R2.22 to R5.55 per 5 g in South Africa.

What is Creapure?

Creapure is a registered trademark of Alzchem Trostberg GmbH, a German manufacturer. It is creatine monohydrate, the same molecule that sits behind decades of research, made at a single site and marketed on purity and consistency. The Dis-Chem listing for Foundation describes it as a product of Germany made with Creapure.

Does Creapure work better than ordinary creatine?

There is no evidence that it does. The ISSN position stand and the studies behind it are on creatine monohydrate in general, not on one brand, and monohydrate of good quality produces the same muscle saturation: 3–5 g a day, with or without a loading phase. What Creapure offers is a defined source and, according to the maker, tight purity control. That is a quality-assurance argument, not a performance one.

Which Creapure products are sold in South Africa?

We verified two brands on SA retailer pages in October 2026. We only name products whose listing states Creapure.

Product Size Price (retailer) R per 5 g
Foundation Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure) 400 g R499.95 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) R6.25
Foundation Creatine Monohydrate (Creapure) 200 g R299.95 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) R7.50
Empyre For Men Prime Creapure 300 g R850–R949 (Faithful to Nature) about R14–R16
Empyre For Men Prime Creapure 100 g R349–R350 (Faithful to Nature) about R17.45

The Faithful to Nature page for Empyre also lists the product as Kosher and Halaal. The Foundation page lists no third-party sport certification.

Is the premium worth it?

Plain creatine monohydrate in South Africa costs from about R2.22 per 5 g (Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 at Knysna Health) to around R5.55 per 5 g (Myprotein 500 g, R555 at Dis-Chem). Creapure products carry a premium of roughly 1.4 to 2.8 times typical shelf prices, depending on the brand. Over a year at 5 g a day the gap is roughly:

  • Foundation 400 g: about R2 280 a year
  • Biogen 500 g (R4.45 per 5 g): about R1 620 a year
  • Empyre 300 g: about R5 200 to R5 800 a year

If purity sourcing matters to you, Foundation is the moderate-premium way to get Creapure. If you simply want effective creatine, a standard monohydrate is the better value.

What should you look for instead of a brand name?

  • A single-ingredient label: creatine monohydrate only, no added ingredients.
  • A batch number and best-before date, plus an SA importer or manufacturer address, as R146 labelling rules require.
  • If you are drug-tested, a third-party batch-testing claim you can verify. Biogen's creatine carries a seller claim of Informed Sport testing (not independently checked).
  • Honest value: ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is R500 for 600 g (R4.17 per 5 g) at its own shop, but it does not state a Creapure source or publish sport certification, so it competes on price and a short label, not on a named supplier.

See micronised versus regular creatine, the best creatine in South Africa and cheapest creatine per serving.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceServingsR per 5 gSweeteners
Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g400 gR500Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026—R6.25None
Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 200 g200 gR300Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026—R7.50not stated
Empyre For Men Prime Creapure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g300 gR850-R949Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026—R15.82not stated
Empyre For Men Prime Creapure Creatine Monohydrate 100 g100 gR349-R350Faithful to Nature (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026—R17.45not stated
Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g500 gR445Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026100R4.45None (unflavoured)

ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.

Compare the options

Sources

  1. Kreider RB et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine. JISSN
  2. Dis-Chem Living Fit: Foundation Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured (Creapure) 400 g
  3. Faithful to Nature: Empyre For Men Prime Creapure creatine monohydrate 300 g
  4. PriceCheck: creatine monohydrate price comparison (retrieved 27 October 2026)
  5. ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “What is Creapure and is it sold in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/what-is-creapure-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/what-is-creapure-south-africa.md