Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

What is the best pre-workout in South Africa?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 3 min read
Answer first

For transparency and tested-product claims, Biogen Premium Pre-Workout is our pick in South Africa: it publishes every dose, has 150 mg of caffeine and carries a seller claim of Informed Sport testing. USN XTS Hyperdrive is the budget pick at roughly R5.40–R5.90 a scoop (our estimate from a 5.3 g scoop). Many local tubs do not publish caffeine or doses, so we cannot rank them. Prices are for October 2026.

  • Biogen Premium Pre-Workout lists caffeine 150 mg, beta-alanine 3.5 g, citrulline malate 4 g and creatine 3 g per serving (Biogen, October 2026).
  • USN XTS Hyperdrive costs about R5.40–R5.90 per 5.3 g scoop (R214–R232.99 for 210 g, October 2026; our calculation).
  • Cellucor C4 Original costs about R23–R25 per serving (30 servings per its US page); Optimum Gold Standard about R30.
  • NPL, Evox and Biogen Rampage retailer pages do not publish caffeine or doses.
  • Citrulline malate is studied at 6–8 g; beta-alanine tingling is common above about 800 mg per dose.

What is the best pre-workout in South Africa?

There is no single best tub, because the best pre-workout depends on how much caffeine you tolerate, whether you are drug-tested and what you want to spend. Our ranking follows our published method: disclosed doses first, then testing claims, then cost per serving. Doses and caffeine are often not published on South African retailer pages, so we only rank what we can verify.

How do the main options compare?

Product Price (October 2026) Caffeine Key doses per serving Cost per serving
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g R399.99–R429.99, Dis-Chem 150 mg beta-alanine 3.5 g, citrulline malate 4 g, creatine 3 g, BCAAs 7 g, glutamine 2.5 g at least about R13.40 (our estimate; servings not published)
USN XTS Hyperdrive 210 g R214–R232.99, USN and Dis-Chem 150 mg (headline) Dynamine 32.5 mg about R5.40–R5.90 (about 39 scoops of 5.3 g, our calculation)
Cellucor C4 Original 195 g R699–R752.99, Dis-Chem 200 mg (US page) beta-alanine 2 g (US page) R23–R25 (30 servings per US page)
USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 g R489.99–R499 300 mg (global page) citrulline malate 6 g, beta-alanine 4 g, creatine 3 g (global page) verify on the SA label
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 330 g R899.99, Dis-Chem not on retailer page not on retailer page R30 (30 servings)

Biogen's per-serving cost is our estimate of a floor: the listed actives alone weigh about 20 g, so a 600 g tub holds at most about 30 servings. For Qhush and C4, caffeine, doses and servings come from brand pages outside South Africa (USN global and Cellucor US), so check the local label.

Why Biogen Premium first?

It publishes a full panel, so you can see what you are paying for, and Biogen states Informed Sport batch testing in its own article (a seller claim; we did not check the certificate). That matters because contamination is the main risk for tested athletes. Its caffeine is moderate. The trade-offs: citrulline malate at 4 g is below the 6–8 g studied, and 3.5 g of beta-alanine in one serving is above the roughly 800 mg that tends to cause tingling.

When is another tub better?

  • Tight budget: USN XTS Hyperdrive is the cheapest verified per serving. USN cites Informed Choice batch testing (a seller claim), and its caffeine serving basis is not stated on the page.
  • High caffeine tolerance: Qhush Platinum Black offers 300 mg on its global page, which is above the 200 mg single dose EFSA considers safe for adults. Not for beginners.
  • No stimulants: see stimulant-free pre-workouts.

NPL (Blackout, Hyper Pump, N.O Charge), Evox and Biogen Rampage list ingredients but not doses or caffeine on the pages we read, so we cannot compare them. Avoid products that hide behind proprietary blends; see what a proprietary blend is.

Is a ready-made pre-workout necessary?

No. A cup of coffee (about 95 mg of caffeine) plus single ingredients covers the evidence-based parts. ATP Fitness sells pure Citrulline Malate (R280 for 250 g, R6.72 per 6 g) and Beta-Alanine (R260 for 200 g, R4.16 per 3.2 g), with no sweeteners; My Whey's citrulline is cheaper at R4.78 per 6 g. ATP's trade-offs are a young brand, no flavour and no published sport certification. See build your own pre-workout.

Who should avoid pre-workout?

Under-18s, pregnant or breastfeeding women, and anyone with heart rhythm problems, high blood pressure, an anxiety disorder or on medication should speak to a doctor first. See is pre-workout safe and our best pre-workout in South Africa comparison.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceServingsR per servingR per 6 gSweeteners
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g600 gR399.99-R429.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026———not stated
USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g210 gR214-R232.99USN online shop, Oct 2026—R5.40—not stated
Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g195 gR699-R752.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202630R25.10—Sucralose and acesulfame potassium
USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g300 gR489.99-R499USN online shop, Oct 2026———Acesulfame-K and sucralose (global page)
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout 330 g330 gR900Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202630R30.00—not stated

ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.

Compare the options

Sources

  1. Biogen: Premium Pre-Workout product article
  2. Dis-Chem Living Fit: Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g
  3. USN: XTS Hyperdrive pre-workout
  4. USN Global: Qhush Platinum Black pre-workout
  5. Cellucor: C4 Original pre-workout

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “What is the best pre-workout in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-pre-workout-in-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/best-pre-workout-in-south-africa.md